Print Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Oklahoma Needs Your Help #18541 03/02/06 08:13 PM
F
Floyd Taylor Offline
Green Horn
Green Horn
F
This is my first post on this Board. I'm a regular on the Basszone message board. I'm a lawyer in Oklahoma City, and I'm general counsel to Oklahoma Anglers Unlimited (OAU). I have been General Counsel to the Oklahoma Department of Transportation, First Assistant Attorney General and a Judge. I have been in private practice in Oklahoma City now for more than 20 years. Yeah, I'm a geezer, but I know where with all I speak on this dock fishing issue. It is my "hot button." I've crusaded over this for years in Oklahoma. I'm delighted to see that awareness of this issue is moving south of the Red River. We really do have a common interest, and I'm not talking about football.

The problem in Oklahoma is every bit as bad as some of the posts have described, and maybe worse. Last summer at Grand Lake, a dock owner fired a flare gun at a bass fisherman fishing near his dock. I personally know people who have had rocks and boards thrown at them. I know one guy who was hosed down by a dock owner.

There is no law in Oklahoma allowing dock owners to restrict access to public water. The Corps of Engineers on Corps Lakes did adopt a "policy" a few years ago allowing their concessionaires to restrict fishing access within fifty feet of their facilities. By the way, the Tulsa District of the Corps of Engineers is an adjunct member of the Oklahoma Marina Owners Association -- surprise, surprise.