9562364 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1781513 - 12/04/07 08:51 AM tax on tournament winnings and deductions
Tim Cook Offline
Extreme Angler

Loc: San Marcos,Texas, USA
I know this is a question for my CPA, but am interested in your input. I will receive a 1099 from BassChamps this year and expect to pay about $1000 in taxes on that money. What have your CPA's suggested you deduct to offset that tax burden. I have plenty of gas receipts or I can come up with a milage log and use that. Hotel receipts might work as well. As a small business owner, I use deductions to the fullest extent allowable, but I do not want to raise a red flag and get audited over a few tournament $$$$.

Edited by Tim Cook (12/04/07 08:52 AM)
http://www.texasbassonline.com/
tim@cookssharpening.com
https://www.facebook.com/tim.cook.395

http://angleradvocate.blogspot.com/
http://twitter.com/MrBass78

#1781519 - 12/04/07 08:54 AM Re: tax on tournament winnings and deductions [Re: Tim Cook]
Anglers Lodge Offline
TFF Team Angler

When ya get here, I will show you the fuel deduction sheet I have. Being in the business, you can write this stuff off.

#1781524 - 12/04/07 08:56 AM Re: tax on tournament winnings and deductions [Re: mrouse]
SkeeterRonnie Online   content
Pot stirrer

Loc: Rowlett, TX
they will audit you.. i did that route in 2005 with writing off as a business type venture... I went thru and audit last year and was quesitoned very extensively on "fishing".... I passed thier rules, but had lots of reciepts and all my tournament entries, on the road expenses... more headache than good!

#1781551 - 12/04/07 09:05 AM Re: tax on tournament winnings and deductions [Re: SkeeterRonnie]
Anglers Lodge Offline
TFF Team Angler

Hehe, that is what a good CPA is for.

#1781580 - 12/04/07 09:16 AM Re: tax on tournament winnings and deductions [Re: Anglers Lodge]
DYOLLP Offline
Extreme Angler

Loc: Phoenix