Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
903 Angler, Bobby Meager, sheepdog, south_texas_viking, William F
108664 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89358
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76785
John175ģ 68542
JDavis7873ģ 67391
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Derek 🐝 60895
Tritonman 58183
LoneStarSonģ 54678
SkeeterRonnie 53537
facebook
Forum Stats
108664 Members
61 Forums
780288 Topics
10065153 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12854168 - 08/05/18 09:22 AM New guy with question on linking two sonars
Dwight Hardy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/04/18
Posts: 20
Like I mentioned Iím new here and glad I found the site.
Lots of good info.

I have been running a Lowrance HD5 Gen2 for several years and up until I retired it has done well for me.
Got more this to fish now and am upgrading to a Carbon 9 on the console and a Carbon 7 on at the front.

Question is what do I need to link the two together so I can see the same information on both?
Lowrance has a NMEA 2000 starter kit. Will that work or is there something else that I need.

While Iím asking I am also wondering if I put a sonar only transducer on the TMotor to the C7 can I isolate the sonar/chirp reading from the C9 and still be able to see the side and DownScan info.

Any help and info is muchly appreciated.

Thanks
Dwight

Top
#12854262 - 08/05/18 11:06 AM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 476
Loc: Ft Wth
Link them with an Ethernet cable and you can share map cards, 2D sonar and StructureScan and have full waypoint syncing. No need for NMEA unless you want to utilize some type of external NMEA device such as a Point-1 GPS antenna/Heading sensor.

For your second question, if I am understanding you correctly, then the answer is yes.

Top
#12854269 - 08/05/18 11:13 AM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
Dwight Hardy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/04/18
Posts: 20
Thanks MAK747
I was hopping I could link them simply.
Dwight

Top
#12854411 - 08/05/18 02:13 PM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
bush hog Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/12/13
Posts: 2631
Loc: Beckville, TX
I have mine rigged like what you are describing. You just have to remember that when you're watching s/scan or d/scan on the front unit that the transducer is 20ft. behind you. Can make a lot of difference crappie fishing.

Top
#12854506 - 08/05/18 04:21 PM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: bush hog]
Dwight Hardy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/04/18
Posts: 20
Originally Posted By: bush hog
I have mine rigged like what you are describing. You just have to remember that when you're watching s/scan or d/scan on the front unit that the transducer is 20ft. behind you. Can make a lot of difference crappie fishing.



Yes sir. I had thought of that.
Thanks

Top
#12855354 - 08/06/18 01:54 PM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 476
Loc: Ft Wth
You may want to consider getting an HDI transducer for the trolling motor. That way you can have 2D and Downscan readings taken from the front of the boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-000-1097...ds=lowrance+hdi

Search around and you may be able to find it at a better price than in the link.

Top
#12857291 - 08/08/18 07:37 AM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
Skunked Again Fishing Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/23/09
Posts: 425
Loc: Austin
I believe the nmea allows sharing of sonar imagery, but with gen2 and carbon, you may only be able to see the 2d and not all the other screens. I hook both networks on my gen3, which is dumb. They should have one network to do it all.
Tim
_________________________
One 10-pounder is better than ten 1-pounders
YouTube Channel: www.youtube.com/SkunkedAgain

Top
#12857473 - 08/08/18 09:37 AM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: MAK747]
Dwight Hardy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/04/18
Posts: 20
Originally Posted By: MAK747
You may want to consider getting an HDI transducer for the trolling motor. That way you can have 2D and Downscan readings taken from the front of the boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-000-1097...ds=lowrance+hdi

Search around and you may be able to find it at a better price than in the link.



I have the Structure Scan for the trolling motor but not sure itís the best thing to use or should I be looking at something different

Thanks guys

Top
#12857883 - 08/08/18 02:27 PM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Skunked Again Fishing]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 476
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Skunked Again Fishing
I believe the nmea allows sharing of sonar imagery, but with gen2 and carbon, you may only be able to see the 2d and not all the other screens. I hook both networks on my gen3, which is dumb. They should have one network to do it all.
Tim


Transducer/sonar sharing is done through the Ethernet cable, NMEA will not allow this. Sharing map cards, 2D sonar and StructureScan as well as full waypoint syncing are all done through the Ethernet network.

Top
#12857885 - 08/08/18 02:29 PM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 476
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Dwight Hardy
Originally Posted By: MAK747
You may want to consider getting an HDI transducer for the trolling motor. That way you can have 2D and Downscan readings taken from the front of the boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-000-1097...ds=lowrance+hdi

Search around and you may be able to find it at a better price than in the link.



I have the Structure Scan for the trolling motor but not sure itís the best thing to use or should I be looking at something different

Thanks guys


What transducer? If it will fit then use it, as in addition to the 2D and Downscan the HDI transducer would give you you will also have Sidescan.


Edited by MAK747 (08/08/18 02:30 PM)

Top
#12858372 - 08/08/18 09:50 PM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: MAK747]
Dwight Hardy Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/04/18
Posts: 20
Well I scored that up.
Itís not the Structure scan but the Totalscan.

Top
#12859985 - 08/10/18 09:48 AM Re: New guy with question on linking two sonars [Re: Dwight Hardy]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 476
Loc: Ft Wth
Totalscan transducer will give you 2D, Side and Downscan. If it will fit on your trolling motor, then that is a great option for up front. The size of the transducer can be a problem on some motors.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide