Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
flippinskeeter, ScaleChaser, watertank, JackPier, Kean
108649 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89327
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76748
John175® 68522
JDavis7873® 67391
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Derek 🐝 60877
Tritonman 58179
LoneStarSon® 54673
SkeeterRonnie 53528
facebook
Forum Stats
108649 Members
61 Forums
830013 Topics
12061393 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#12842492 - 07/26/18 08:32 AM Question on dead fish rule
Wishunter09 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/20/17
Posts: 39
Loc: Abilene, ,TX
Let’s say you’re fishing a 3-fish tournament and unfortunately during the course of the day one of your limit dies. If possession limit is 5 just legally speaking, what’s the thoughts on “culling” the dead fish? Before anyone gets excited, no not culling in the sense of throwing it back, obviously you still keep the fish that has died,, but would you consider it ok to catch that 4th fish so you weigh in 3 live ones? What if the “4th” fish was larger and would have culled the dead one had it still been alive?

Not at all trying to start a s**t storm, or launch any tirades about how fish shouldn’t die, fact if the matter is unfortunately it can happen. Just legitimately wondering what the opinions on this are as I’ve personally never really heard it addressed. My take is if I killed the fish then I’d take the hit and count that as part of the bag. But I could also see both sides of the argument. Thoughts from those more experienced or who have maybe seen this addressed before?

Top
#12842494 - 07/26/18 08:35 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Barrett Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/27/09
Posts: 7239
Loc: Denton Texas
That would be called cheating...

Top
#12842499 - 07/26/18 08:38 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Barrett]
Brent S Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/04/13
Posts: 3334
Loc: Eagle Mountain Lake
Originally Posted By: Barrett
That would be called cheating...


This
_________________________
Brent Shimanek

Top
#12842506 - 07/26/18 08:44 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
jbcarroll3000 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/12/12
Posts: 1002
Loc: Denton, TX
For the sake of the tournament you'd still be culling a dead fish whether you're throwing it back to your livewell or back to the lake, so I don't think this would be on the up in most tournaments.

Top
#12842511 - 07/26/18 08:56 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
One fish Bill Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/12/05
Posts: 1900
Loc: Granbury
Depends on the tournament possession rules. I have fished a 2 man team tournament where the rule was 5 fish weigh in but possession rule was Sate Law i.e. up to 10 fish. Dead fish were not weighed.
_________________________

Top
#12842529 - 07/26/18 09:07 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
BMCD Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/01/02
Posts: 4217
Loc: Katy, Texas US
Well Honestly if rules do not mention a possession limit of 3. technically there is nothing to stop you. ethically it would be wrong.

I would think the rules in most cases would handle this.


Edited by BMCD (07/26/18 09:44 AM)

Top
#12842576 - 07/26/18 09:40 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Ken A. Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/02/06
Posts: 10079
Loc: Trophy Club, TX
Wouldn't do it bro. Same thing happened to me on Fork once and we took the hit. We had a good chance of winning the event but a fish I hooked in the tongue died in the box. So we took the half pound penalty.


Edited by Ken A. (07/26/18 09:41 AM)

Top
#12842577 - 07/26/18 09:40 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Outdoordude Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/20/09
Posts: 2205
It would depend on the language in the rules of the tournament. What you have described would be perfectly legal as far as the state is concerned in most cases, but it would almost certainly be frowned upon if not considered cheating by the tournament officials even if it's not explicitly described in the rules.

In the tournaments I host, that would be considered possessing more than the allowed bag limit and would result in a 1.0 pound penalty and culling the largest fish of the bag out, based on the language in my rules.

Interesting line of discussion though.

Top
#12842639 - 07/26/18 10:31 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Neches Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/06/10
Posts: 1164
In Fishers of Men team
Tournaments you can have a dead fish that is not part of your limit.

Top
#12842648 - 07/26/18 10:38 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Barrett Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/27/09
Posts: 7239
Loc: Denton Texas
Who cares what the possession limit is. It doesn't matter in this case. The fact that you are culling a dead fish one be cheating. I have never heard of a tournament trail allowing you to cull a dead fish. I just don't see how possession limits have anything to do with this scenario.

Top
#12842651 - 07/26/18 10:44 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
coachallentca Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/19/08
Posts: 4425
Loc: crowley
I thought it was State Law that you can't cull a dead fish... I get the limit thing but once you put it in your livewell that is possession..


Edited by coachallentca (07/26/18 10:45 AM)
_________________________


Top
#12842655 - 07/26/18 10:46 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Bossbowman Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 03/14/05
Posts: 3313
Loc: Hill county
Depends on the tourney rules. Theres a jackpot once and and one team would always bring in huge limits, well they were using live bait, there was no written rule against it.


Edited by Bossbowman (07/26/18 10:48 AM)

Top
#12842734 - 07/26/18 11:35 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Jaret Latta Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/06/07
Posts: 8099
Loc: Austin, Tx/Nacogdoches, Tx
I think the deal here is you are intentionally gaining an unfair advantage by culling the dead one with the live one. End of story

Top
#12842744 - 07/26/18 11:49 AM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
Peepaw on Fork Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/22/11
Posts: 1608
Loc: Yantis,Texas
If it's a 3 fish tournament you shouldn't have more than 3 in the boat
_________________________
H. Burns

Top
#12842770 - 07/26/18 12:17 PM Re: Question on dead fish rule [Re: Wishunter09]
BMCD Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/01/02
Posts: 4217
Loc: Katy, Texas US
He is not really culling a dead fish, he is keeping it, so he is legal in the state of Texas. Cannot poses more then 5 for 1 person. But the only question is what does the tournament rules allow. Obviously most of us would think 3 fish limit means u can only have 3 in the boat at anytime.

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide