Print Thread
Fishing Crankbaits, is Silent Better Than Rattles? #12829302 07/15/18 09:05 PM
T
Thad Rains Offline OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Offline
TFF Team Angler
T
Fishing Crank Baits, is Silent Better than Rattles?
Fishing Crank Baits, is Silent Better than Rattles?

There are many lure choices in todays market place. Even baits that look identical often have subtle differences hidden deep within their hollow bodies. This article is to shed a little light on the silent vs. rattling plastic crankbaits. Hopefully, we can learn something in the process.

I have been fishing a lot of crankbaits over the years and for the past 12 years, I have fished a lot of silent running crankbaits, i.e, those that are hand made balsa baits, those that are plastic but without rattles and just silent running cbs. Most, and until recently that would have included more than 99% of all plastic crankbaits, had rattles in their hollow bodies. Only a very FEW kinds of plastic crankbaits did not have rattles. The rattles made the bait easier to cast (more weight) and also made noise on the retrieve. Not until Strike King came out with the KVD 1.5, 2.5 and 1.0 series (and many copies from other companies) with 2 kinds of sound systems, rattling and nonrattling crankbaits, has a brand of bait offered so many the silent, nonrattling bait. Of course, there was always the Rapala Shad Rap and the Lucky Craft LC and BDS that ran silently in the plastic crankbait world. Also, Bomber has come out with a deep diving Fat Free Shad called the Switchback(rattle or not) AND Silent series. Seems like a LOT of plastic lure manufacturers are coming out with silent versions these days, including Bandit, Norman, Lucky Craft, Bomber, Xcalibur, etc..