Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
shooter60, Chrishow09, Larry Milford, KK2, marsh
108884 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89609
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76944
John175® 68883
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61282
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58263
LoneStarSon® 54732
SkeeterRonnie 53599
facebook
Forum Stats
108884 Members
60 Forums
832909 Topics
12102606 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12816401 - 07/04/18 04:09 PM Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/22/06
Posts: 751
Loc: hubbard
Have Lowrance grafts on the boat at the bow and helm.They are networked together. They run through a lss1. Both are saying no source. Where is a good place to start looking for the issue.
Thanks for any and all help
_________________________
te

Top
#12816411 - 07/04/18 04:20 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
trlrman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/24/08
Posts: 2160
Loc: wford / t-wok
Is the structuŕe scan light on ? Might make sure the yellow wake up wire has a good connection ?
_________________________
www.twokblues.com

Top
#12817181 - 07/05/18 11:35 AM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 647
Loc: Arlington, TX
I assume these units have worked in the past. It couple be as simple as selecting the SOURCE. I need to know a little more info, so I sent you a PM to call me.
_________________________
Rob Jasper

Top
#12817394 - 07/05/18 03:43 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2251
Loc: Plano, TX
Assuming you have made no changes, as reported on the forum over the years, replacing the ethernet cable will fix the issue 9 out of 10 times. Sometimes, jiggling it will cause it to respond for a while (days, hours, sporadically - which was what was happening to me). I finally bit the bullet and replaced the ethernet cable - no issues from that point on - about a year ago. Unfortunately, they don't give away ethernet cables; they are expensive for what little there are to them.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12817494 - 07/05/18 05:17 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/22/06
Posts: 751
Loc: hubbard
I think I have an extra one in a box somewhere
_________________________
te

Top
#12819416 - 07/07/18 10:58 AM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3265
Loc: Tulsa, OK
I would check the pwr to your LSS-1.. make sure you got blinking green lights... also try checking your in line fused to your LSS-1 box. If got all that i would go buy one ethernet cord and replace one of them and see if it works...if works then I would replace other ether cord that connected to your box.
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
#12820004 - 07/07/18 10:19 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/22/06
Posts: 751
Loc: hubbard
I got the volt meter out today. I turned the power on and all the accessories. Turned the graph on just to make sure they would power up and the no source was still showing on them. I disconnected the power plug from the Lss-1. With the volt meter I checked all the positions in the plug. The plug has 4 holes so I moved the ground (black) of the volt meter around the plug and then tried the hot in each hole. I did not get power from any position. I then checked the volt meter to make sure it was working by placing it on the battery.
I have vertigo so I can just crawl around in the boat for so long before I get dizzy and haft to stop. I guess the power cord for the Lss-1 is powered under the dash somewhere as I do not see a matching wire at the battery. There is no green lights on on the Lss-1. Maybe the young eyes will be here tomorrow and we can trace the wire down. I hope it is just a blown fuse. You never know till you find it working on a boat.
Thanks for the input. Still looking but I'm sure we will find it.
_________________________
te

Top
#12820317 - 07/08/18 11:30 AM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
forkduc Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 03/28/07
Posts: 12131
Loc: Plano,Texas
Graphs!

Top
#12820556 - 07/08/18 03:38 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2251
Loc: Plano, TX
Originally Posted By: dobbin
I got the volt meter out today. I turned the power on and all the accessories. Turned the graph on just to make sure they would power up and the no source was still showing on them. I disconnected the power plug from the Lss-1. With the volt meter I checked all the positions in the plug. The plug has 4 holes so I moved the ground (black) of the volt meter around the plug and then tried the hot in each hole. I did not get power from any position. I then checked the volt meter to make sure it was working by placing it on the battery.
I have vertigo so I can just crawl around in the boat for so long before I get dizzy and haft to stop. I guess the power cord for the Lss-1 is powered under the dash somewhere as I do not see a matching wire at the battery. There is no green lights on on the Lss-1. Maybe the young eyes will be here tomorrow and we can trace the wire down. I hope it is just a blown fuse. You never know till you find it working on a boat.
Thanks for the input. Still looking but I'm sure we will find it.


Those little green lights are almost impossible to see. If you don't see them, check again. I still think it's the ethernet cable.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12820670 - 07/08/18 05:38 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/22/06
Posts: 751
Loc: hubbard
If the volt meter shows no power going to the end of the cord disconnected from the lss1 the lights on the unit would not be green correct. It is on a 520 ranger and everything is hard to trace. The under side of the console is fiberglass and all wires running through a hole. Not sure if the wire runs to the battery or under the console. I have looked at buying a new power cable just to check without digging through the wires. Not sure if the ones I found will work they look a little different.
_________________________
te

Top
#12824603 - 07/11/18 04:01 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/22/06
Posts: 751
Loc: hubbard
Anyone have or know where a fellow might pick up a power cable for a Lss-1. Called lowrance and they were no help at all. They just take care of the new stuff..
_________________________
te

Top
#12826920 - 07/13/18 09:33 AM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3265
Loc: Tulsa, OK
What you looking for pwr cable, ether net cable or lss-1 transducer
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
#12826976 - 07/13/18 10:08 AM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: Jason Gilstrap]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 7071
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: Jason Gilstrap
What you looking for pwr cable, ether net cable or lss-1 transducer



Sounds like the lss module power cable.

Top
#12827143 - 07/13/18 12:00 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
dobbin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/22/06
Posts: 751
Loc: hubbard
Looking for the power cable that runs from the lss-1 to the battery
_________________________
te

Top
#12829303 - 07/15/18 04:06 PM Re: Lowrance reading no source. where 2 starte [Re: dobbin]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3265
Loc: Tulsa, OK
Call Lowrance CS and you should be able to buy one from them. The power cable is the same as Lss-2 box, just incase you need to the cs tech.


Edited by Jason Gilstrap (07/15/18 04:07 PM)
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide