Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Fishin_UP_Jake, Mcneese59, Traka, CarterHB, Yamaha.21
108409 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89101
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76590
John175® 68097
JDavis7873® 67391
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Derek 🐝 60651
Tritonman 58109
LoneStarSon® 54588
SkeeterRonnie 53476
facebook
Forum Stats
108409 Members
61 Forums
827182 Topics
12024398 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12811307 - 06/30/18 08:06 AM Graph mount problem fixed!
BassStalker Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/05/11
Posts: 78
Loc: The Colony, Texas
Mounted my first dash mount prototype on my 2000 ZX185. Have a few adjustments to make but works great. And wasn't $300. Still have to figure out to paint or hydro-dip.


Top
#12811348 - 06/30/18 08:49 AM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
maydelle monkey Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 04/27/12
Posts: 15
Loc: Maydelle, TX
Just a suggestion!

2 screws effectively create a “hinge”. When beating full speed on rough water, the vibration might work your connections loose. If you could get a 3rd screw somewhere not in line with the other 2, you’d Have a stronger connection.

Otherwise it looks good to me.

Top
#12811442 - 06/30/18 10:23 AM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
BassStalker Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/05/11
Posts: 78
Loc: The Colony, Texas
Have been thinking about that! Its pretty solid, flexes very little. I just used to two factory holes in the dash to start with. Building the courage to drill more hole.The mount is 6061 Alum. 3/16. All cut on a water jet and the back plate is bent with the radius of the dash. Super light! I'll post some more pics once I get it finalized.
Also, probably going to trim 1" off the top deck and drop a 1".


Edited by BassStalker (06/30/18 10:24 AM)

Top
#12811522 - 06/30/18 12:08 PM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
WCGunns Offline
Angler

Registered: 02/06/11
Posts: 458
Loc: Northern DFW, Texas
Plati-Dip would be easy and cheap.

Top
#12811824 - 06/30/18 05:39 PM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
206champion Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/12/04
Posts: 2376
Loc: Decatur
It look good , but not criticizing just asking did you use screws or are theses bolts if screws I would use bolts with nuts on them
I would definitely add a 3rd screw or bolt .
_________________________
Cross Timbers Bass Club

Top
#12811995 - 06/30/18 08:50 PM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: 206champion]
H2ODawg67 Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/07/17
Posts: 316
Loc: Kansas
Looks like you might be able to drill a hole at the top center of your bracket and put an aluminum strap (wider than the cutout your cable are coming through) behind the cutout and bolt it. No more hole in dash. Thank me later with some decent fish pics.
_________________________
Formerly H2ODawg

Top
#12812413 - 07/01/18 10:36 AM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
KingChamp202 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/20/07
Posts: 1183
Loc: Splendora, Tx
I highly suggest that 3rd hole. If it was me id make a blanking plate that would be inside the hole with either a blind riveted nut or you could use a regular lock nut. that would secure the to graph mount and fill in the hole without drilling any new holes lol. just a thought!

Top
#12812442 - 07/01/18 11:39 AM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
Evan O'Brien Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 03/14/08
Posts: 9392
Loc: Lake Fork, TX
Coat with a bed liner maybe?

Top
#12812471 - 07/01/18 12:35 PM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
GIG'EM AGGIES Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 3381
Loc: texas
I take it you didn't like the idea of a ram mount next to the console.
_________________________
I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I don’t have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I don’t have a curfew I have a driver’s license and a car. Women I hang around with are not scared of getting pregnant. And I have a bass boat.

illegitimi non carborundum

Top
#12813098 - 07/01/18 10:34 PM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
BassStalker Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/05/11
Posts: 78
Loc: The Colony, Texas
206champion, H20dawg67 that is looking like the plan. I still have to get a blank for the old flasher hole in the center. Will be perfect for 3rd mounting connection.
Yes, I did use stainless bolts, fender washer/lock nuts on back.
Had the ram mount and was tired of taking it on and off, Not being secure etc.

Top
#12813257 - 07/02/18 07:54 AM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: H2ODawg67]
Stroker XS Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/05/18
Posts: 39
Loc: Luling, Tx
Originally Posted By: H2ODawg67
Looks like you might be able to drill a hole at the top center of your bracket and put an aluminum strap (wider than the cutout your cable are coming through) behind the cutout and bolt it. No more hole in dash. Thank me later with some decent fish pics.


That’s how I built mine without any holes drilled in my boat. I would post a pics but I’m not sure how
_________________________
Stroker 250xs

Top
#12813357 - 07/02/18 09:23 AM Re: Graph mount problem fixed! [Re: BassStalker]
Bass Buster1 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/26/04
Posts: 1731
Loc: Denton
You could have that piece anodized black if you want it to look good. Gleco Plating in Rowlett can do it for you.
_________________________
See you on the lake and have a great day!

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide