Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
eaglepoacher, SacalaitSlayer89, DogFish9, Inglikestofish, garzas23
108903 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89627
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76960
John175® 68915
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61294
FattyMcButterpants 60906
Tritonman 58274
LoneStarSon® 54734
Mark Perry 53670
facebook
Forum Stats
108901 Members
60 Forums
783160 Topics
10106340 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12798087 - 06/19/18 03:56 PM Swivel with crankbait
stapler101 Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/27/12
Posts: 266
Loc: NE Texas
Hey crankbait throwers, do you ever use a swivel to allow for quicker bait changes? If so, what kind do you use?
_________________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough! ------Mario Andretti

Top
#12798094 - 06/19/18 04:00 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
Huckleberry Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/10/07
Posts: 18120
Loc: Lake Gaston, VA
popcorn

Top
#12798209 - 06/19/18 05:26 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
TwoLakes Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/04/09
Posts: 956
Loc: Texarkana, AR
No swivel for me ever. It's another thing to fail as far as I'm concerned. It takes me about 10-15 seconds to tie a new knot.

Top
#12798214 - 06/19/18 05:31 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
Skeeter443 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/29/12
Posts: 722
Loc: Broaddus Texas
I never use a swivel. My thoughts are the manufacturer builds the lure to run a certain way and the swivel would alter that. It doesn’t take long to tie the knot. I have probably tied a million fishing knots in my life!
_________________________
Realtor-Lone Star Real Estate Advisory-Lake Sam Rayburn lake properties
281-475-6385 Willifordrealestate@yahoo.com
www.thelastresortrayburn.com
www.blastandcast.org

Top
#12798235 - 06/19/18 05:40 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
TOMCAT21 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/10/09
Posts: 733
Loc: Keller, TX
Use Evergreen wide snap.


Edited by TOMCAT21 (06/19/18 05:41 PM)

Top
#12798245 - 06/19/18 05:44 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
Jaret Latta Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/06/07
Posts: 8194
Loc: Austin, Tx/Nacogdoches, Tx
If you need a swivel you need more rods and reels. Can't have too many

Top
#12798250 - 06/19/18 05:47 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
Lil joe Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/30/13
Posts: 3087
are you talking about something like the Norman speed clip that allows you to change lures without retrying?
I just tie straight to the split ring on the crankbait but I have seen that some pros, one or 2 anyway, say they use them because they say it allows for more action and lets the bait dive a little deeper that tying directly to the split ring

Top
#12798301 - 06/19/18 06:41 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
mossyback75 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/10/17
Posts: 46
I removed all o-rings long ago to make use use of quick snap swivels. Gave up on those long ago as well. Too much trouble. I now tie a loop knot in 10 seconds and move on.

Top
#12798311 - 06/19/18 06:50 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
EastTexasBassin Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 07/15/09
Posts: 985
Loc: Lake Ray Hubbard
If you mean like a snap or speed clip, yes. Always. A swivel, like a barrel swivel- absolutly not.

Top
#12798316 - 06/19/18 06:56 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
bigbass94 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/27/12
Posts: 4453
Loc: San Antonio, Texas
No clip or swivel for me. I can tie my knot fast enough to change.
_________________________
"If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles." - Doug Larson

Top
#12798497 - 06/19/18 08:33 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: bigbass94]
Ken A. Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/02/06
Posts: 10166
Loc: Trophy Club, TX
Originally Posted By: bigbass94
No clip or swivel for me. I can tie my knot fast enough to change.


+1

Top
#12798578 - 06/19/18 09:24 PM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
Mark Perry Offline


Registered: 01/09/04
Posts: 53670
Loc: Highway 1
No swivels or speed clips for me.

Top
#12798784 - 06/20/18 05:52 AM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: bigbass94]
sll Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/16/18
Posts: 109
Loc: TN
Originally Posted By: bigbass94
No clip or swivel for me. I can tie my knot fast enough to change.
This....and no split rings on the line tie either. I use a loop knot on cranks.

Top
#12798898 - 06/20/18 07:44 AM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: stapler101]
lipjerk Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/04/09
Posts: 2370
Loc: Lantana,Tx
I tried the speed clips, that lasted one trip.

Top
#12798904 - 06/20/18 07:50 AM Re: Swivel with crankbait [Re: Jaret Latta]
361V Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/21/08
Posts: 5140
Loc: somervell county
Originally Posted By: Jaret Latta
If you need a swivel you need more rods and reels. Can't have too many
Bwahahaha.......oh wait. I follow this logic already! laugh
_________________________

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide