Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
gigemguy, Bhill, Diesel Bill, kc_kemp, El Gee
108632 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89315
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76732
John175® 68479
JDavis7873® 67391
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Derek 🐝 60838
Tritonman 58176
LoneStarSon® 54670
SkeeterRonnie 53528
facebook
Forum Stats
108632 Members
61 Forums
829811 Topics
12058711 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12778685 - 06/03/18 01:07 PM In hull transducer
DancesWithSquirrels Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 138
Loc: Carrollton, Texas
Howdy. I finally got a Garmin Striker Plus 4cv for my kayak, and I’m thinking about doing an in hull transducer. However, I am worried about getting air bubbles and what not, inaccurate readings, etc. Anybody have any ideas? I have an Ascend 12t kayak.

Top
#12778718 - 06/03/18 01:50 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
Jimbo Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 01/18/03
Posts: 16080
Loc: South Texas
Go down to the hardware store and ask if they have "Duct Seal" it's usually found in the electrical area.
It's greay with a consistency of modeling clay.
Roll it into the size of a tennis ball, place in in the hull and press your transducer down on top of it to flatten it where there is about a half inch or less between the hull and transducer. The stuff that squeezes out around it just push it and shape it around your transducer.
It doesn't have to cover the transducer just make sure there are no air bubbles and shape it around the transducer to hold it in place.
What I like about this method is it's portable.
After you are done you can leave it or remove it, and use it over and over, but put the clay into a zip lock bag to keep it from drying out too much.
_________________________
Just one more cast!


Top
#12778727 - 06/03/18 02:10 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
DNA Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/19/11
Posts: 121
You will lose downscan function and get inaccurate temperature reading when you use in-Hull installation.

Top
#12778820 - 06/03/18 04:17 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 1610
Loc: Texas
Use Marine Goop to install it in-hull; build a small dam around the transducer (use clay, putty, or something similar) and fill it with Goop. Push the transducer in and duct tape it down to hold it in position. Give it 24 undisturbed hours to cure. Your temperature readings will be accurate as soon as the hull assumes the water temperature -- generally within 10 - 20 minutes at most. I have done several transducers that way. I generally get at least five years out of an installation before I need to redo it.

Top
#12778964 - 06/03/18 07:27 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
JCG57 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/08/02
Posts: 1430
Loc: DFW
For my first sonar I used the approach that Jim Ford describes above. For my second unit I did something a little different in case I wanted to use the system on another craft at some point in the future:

1) Cut a flip flop sole in the shape of the transducer, but a little larger (say one-half inch larger around than the transducer).
2) Outline the transducer on top of the flip flop piece then cut it out, leaving a (half-inch wide) border that follows the shape of the transducer with a hollow middle.
3) Use Marine Goop to attach the piece to the hull of your kayak, making sure you have a water-tight seal so that water will not leak out of the hollow area.
4) When you want to use the unit, put a little bit of water in the hollow spot, then insert the transducer until water starts to squirt up the side. The flip flop piece will hold the transducer firmly in place until you are finished and the water you added will give you the air-free connection you need.

Top
#12782770 - 06/06/18 01:42 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
DancesWithSquirrels Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 138
Loc: Carrollton, Texas
Thank you all for your input and advice. Is it really worth doing an in hull transducer or should I just go ahead and do the whole transducer arm on the outside?

Top
#12782783 - 06/06/18 01:49 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 1610
Loc: Texas
Up to you. I don't like anything outside the boat that could be inside, especially wires and cables. But you may fish differently than I do.

Top
#12783815 - 06/07/18 11:12 AM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
DancesWithSquirrels Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 138
Loc: Carrollton, Texas
The transducer won't get too hot being out of the water?

Top
#12783953 - 06/07/18 01:17 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
DNA Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/19/11
Posts: 121
No, you don't use it when it's out. I use an arm attached to track for the transducer and quite happy with the setting. Initially, I used duck gel to fix the transducer, it worked well for sonar, but not downscan. Downscan gives me the true images under water. Just my 2 cents. Otherwise, no reason to buy a fish fisher with downnscan or sidescan functions.

Top
#12785158 - 06/08/18 02:06 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DNA]
MadFluker Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/30/16
Posts: 140
Originally Posted By: DancesWi[quote=DNA
No, you don't use it when it's out. I use an arm attached to track for the transducer and quite happy with the setting. Initially, I used duck gel to fix the transducer, it worked well for sonar, but not downscan. Downscan gives me the true images under water. Just my 2 cents. Otherwise, no reason to buy a fish fisher with downnscan or sidescan functions.


Is Downscan totally interrupted with thru hull installation, or just is it just slightly affected?

Top
#12785388 - 06/08/18 05:34 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: MadFluker]
DNA Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/19/11
Posts: 121
Almost complete disfunctioned. If you need a number, I will say about loss of 70-80% signal. I called the manufacturer and confirmed it when I failed using in-hull.

Top
#12805369 - 06/25/18 07:20 PM Re: In hull transducer [Re: DancesWithSquirrels]
Kanepole Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 04/17/18
Posts: 3
Loc: Alvord, Texas
I have a lowrance elite 5 mounted in my bass boat and a hook 4 mounted in my kayak. Both are mounted in the hull and both have dsi. Both dsi's read just as well as my hook 7 thats mounted on my trolling motor except for the temps. The temps are about 4 to 5 deg off usually even after they acclimate for awhile. The one in my boat is fiberglassed in. In the kayak I glued a piece of closed cell foam sandwiched between the hull and floor pan with a slot cut in the bottom of it to press the transducer into. I filled the slot with 100% silicone and pushed the transducer in it. It holds it in place really well and reads great. Plus if I want to remove it later the closed cell foam is easy to cut away




Edited by Kanepole (06/25/18 07:46 PM)
_________________________

"But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide