Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
crobalo, Ecwfishing, Keithorr, wclopton, lazypineapple
109061 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89807
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 77210
John175® 69341
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61483
FattyMcButterpants 60906
Tritonman 58325
LoneStarSon® 54755
Mark Perry 54063
facebook
Forum Stats
109061 Members
60 Forums
831385 Topics
12105500 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12766284 - 05/23/18 08:51 AM Networking graphs question
LakeGilmerGuide Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/28/17
Posts: 150
I purchased two HB Helix Mega SI 10's, I'm going to use Dek It dash and bow mounts. My question is about the networking, I don't really understand what it means exactly. Am I going to need to run a wire from one to the other and will I have to have a Navionics card for each one?

Top
#12766320 - 05/23/18 09:11 AM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 988
Loc: Waco, TX
Networking will let you share transducers, waypoints, etc. You will need two ethernet dongles and a humminbird ethernet cable in the length of your choice. The Helix graphs wont share mapping cards so you will need one for each graph.

Top
#12766324 - 05/23/18 09:11 AM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 988
Loc: Waco, TX
Total cost for networking cables should be around $100

Top
#12766596 - 05/23/18 12:22 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
KenTx1962 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/24/06
Posts: 967
Loc: Richardson/Zavalla
Javelin, if you are only networking two units do you need an ethernet hub as well? I've always linked 3 or more plus a 360 imaging transducer, so I've needed an ethernet cable for each unit (buy the right length as the longer the higher the costs), then a dongle for each unit.
_________________________
www.KenSmithfishing.com
Subscribe to Video Updates here https://www.youtube.com/user/KenSmithFishing
Inside Line Staff Writer www.insideline.net
Gary Yamamoto Custom Baits www.baits.com
Mercury Marine Pro Staff https://www.mercurymarine.com/en/us/
Team Lew's www.Lews.com
Humminbird www.humminbird.com
Seaguar Pro Staff www.Seaguar.com


Top
#12766597 - 05/23/18 12:24 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
KenTx1962 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/24/06
Posts: 967
Loc: Richardson/Zavalla
BAllen, you don't have to link them, they will still work normally if you don't. They just won't share waypoints or transducers, which you almost never will anyway. The real loss is waypoint sharing.
_________________________
www.KenSmithfishing.com
Subscribe to Video Updates here https://www.youtube.com/user/KenSmithFishing
Inside Line Staff Writer www.insideline.net
Gary Yamamoto Custom Baits www.baits.com
Mercury Marine Pro Staff https://www.mercurymarine.com/en/us/
Team Lew's www.Lews.com
Humminbird www.humminbird.com
Seaguar Pro Staff www.Seaguar.com


Top
#12766598 - 05/23/18 12:27 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
721Phoenix Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/13/07
Posts: 2176
Loc: Downtown Tomball, Texas
What javelin150 said.
_________________________
Wishin I was fishin!! ..............>(((//*>
2013 Phoenix 721 ProXP - 250 Pro XS - Ultrex
Humminbird Helix 10SI(2)
PB Largemouth - 9.51 - Toledo Bend - March 2014

Top
#12766758 - 05/23/18 02:27 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 988
Loc: Waco, TX
No ethernet hub is needed to just network two Helix. You will need the ethernet hub if you decide to add a 360 transducer, ipilot link trolling motor or a third sonar

Top
#12766917 - 05/23/18 05:01 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
LakeGilmerGuide Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/28/17
Posts: 150
Okay cool. I don't want them to share transducers anyways. Another question: I have HB Lakemaster chip now and its ehh okay, seems to be off too often. Thinking about getting Navionics, has anyone had experience with both?

Top
#12766925 - 05/23/18 05:09 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
361V Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/21/08
Posts: 5172
Loc: somervell county
Originally Posted By: BAllen91
Okay cool. I don't want them to share transducers anyways. Another question: I have HB Lakemaster chip now and its ehh okay, seems to be off too often. Thinking about getting Navionics, has anyone had experience with both?
My experiences are the “best” chip is different on different lakes. I have a Lakemaster AND a Navionics. Good news is even if you have different brand chips in each graph the waypoints still share because they are saved in the graph not on the individual chip.
_________________________

Top
#12767175 - 05/23/18 08:13 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 988
Loc: Waco, TX
Most people dont want to share the transducers between graphs. I still recommend networking them together. Think of it as cheap insurance. If you break a transducer on the water, you can then piggy back off the other.

Top
#12767177 - 05/23/18 08:14 PM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 988
Loc: Waco, TX
This will give you a look at what Navionics maps will look like

https://webapp.navionics.com/#boating@6&key=%7Bu%7D~DbrepQ

Top
#12767797 - 05/24/18 09:03 AM Re: Networking graphs question [Re: LakeGilmerGuide]
Bill Durham Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/10/12
Posts: 501
Loc: Crowley
When I bought my Helix I bought the cable and adapters to network my bow unit to it. I haven't done it yet because my boat is a center console and I have to drill a hole up in the front of the boat to get the cable into the inner hull.. then its going to be a bit of a struggle to get it up to the console.. but the more I hear about what networking does and doesn't do.. just not sure I need to do it. I have the Lakemaster chip that I keep moving between the bow unit and the console.. the default map in the Helix is pretty good as far as the creek channels but not so much on contours.. I may just buy another map chip and go with that.. sharing waypoints is about the only thing I would really like to have.
BD

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide