Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Gulfie, Frannieb, SamRayburnRentals, W.BROWNING, wytex
108206 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88865
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76455
John175ģ 67815
JDavis7873ģ 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60880
Derek 🐝 60451
Tritonman 58048
LoneStarSonģ 54512
SkeeterRonnie 53407
facebook
Forum Stats
108206 Members
60 Forums
813643 Topics
10303301 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12761265 - 05/18/18 11:25 PM Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints
sticknstring Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/24/18
Posts: 38
Loc: The hill country
I went out for the first time today since hooking up a Lawrence hds 9 gen3, I was very impressed with the sonar and imaging capabilities...except for one major issue. There seems to be quite a bit of lag in the boat cursor while navigating to a waypoint. My old elite wasn't like this! Anyone have any advice how I can get the lag out while navigating to waypoints?

Top
#12761656 - 05/19/18 12:54 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2193
Loc: Plano, TX
I presume the unit is new and not networked based on your post.

If you have a mapping card, I would change the unit to use the 'Lowrance' internal map to see if that works ok. If it does, then there is an issue between the unit keeping up with the mapping card. I know when I use a mapping card, the unit doesn't zoom in/out as fast but I haven't noticed any degradation in the cursor keeping up like you are experiencing. I would confirm Heading Up is the selected orientation - see #4 below.

I would first try a SOFT reset to see if this clears the issue. A soft reset will retain wpts/routes/trails. Anytime I do a soft or hard reset, I save my settings. For instance, I do not like to hear the beeps. After resetting the unit, I then load the saved settings. All my settings are then restored to what they were prior to the reset, hard or soft. Refer to the manual or Lowrance website for reset steps.

1. Confirm you have the latest software. Pages/Settings/About. Latest is Release Date: 16 May 2018; Version: 18.1 / 59.1.86
If not current, go to Lowrance Update and follow instructions. This can also be accomplished using wifi on your unit.
2. Pages/Settings/Network/Data Sources/GPS Make sure the proper device is checked. If the 'All Data' is Global, I suggest changing to Local by touching the far right arrow and selecting Local.
3. Pages/Settings/Satellites - out on the water you should receive 10 or more satellite connections on a nice day. I get 10 active satellites just sitting in the upstairs office with the unit hooked to a portable battery.
4. Pages/Chart icon/Chart Options/Orientation - make it Heading Up. If you do not understand differences between Heading Up/North Up/or Course Up refer to documentation.
a. If you have a used unit without documentation, go to the Lowrance site to download to the computer. This PDF file and also be loaded to your unit so when on the water, easy access to the manual will be available to you. Extra tip: Pictures can be also be stored in the unit. As I recall, only .png and .jpeg files are valid. Use your imagination as to how this can be helpful.
5. Call Lowrance Customer Service. They get bashed on TFF a lot but I've have always had good experiences with them. If the queue is long, they will tell you your number in line, leave your phone number. They do call back. If you don't answer because you don't recognize the number, you'll have to start the call again.

Maybe someone else has some suggestions to try. Hope this helps.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12761790 - 05/19/18 03:53 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
sticknstring Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/24/18
Posts: 38
Loc: The hill country
Thanks UJC, a lot of good info here! It's a new unit, I can't imagine anything is wrong with it. I figured I either missed something in settings/ software or I needed to add an antenna(spot 1). I'd rather not have to buy the antenna.

Top
#12762707 - 05/20/18 03:02 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2193
Loc: Plano, TX
I have the antenna (Point-1), mainly for the heading and to make the Gen 2 at the console equal to the updating on the Gen 3 at the bow. But you really don't need it, unless you want the heading, which I think is great. But I really got it back when I had Gen 1s to allow the units to be updated (mapping) faster. Heading didn't work for G1s, just G2s and newer units.

FYI, #1 of my post update: The wifi update did not work for my unit. I would think this is true for all units but it may have been just mine. I had to update via the micro card as instructed.


Edited by UJC (05/20/18 03:05 PM)
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12763413 - 05/21/18 08:01 AM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6941
Loc: Boerne, Texas
You have to set the gps update time to ďauto every 1 secondĒ, I think it comes set to update every 5 seconds from the factory.

Top
#12764185 - 05/21/18 06:24 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: grout-scout]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2193
Loc: Plano, TX
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
You have to set the gps update time to ďauto every 1 secondĒ, I think it comes set to update every 5 seconds from the factory.

I thought that was for trail updating preferences. I don't recall a specific menu item for gps map updating speed. GS can you verify? I thought the internal gps timing was fixed for each of the gens. G1 at 1 per sec, G2 at 5 per sec and G3 at 10 per sec. With a Point-1, G1 goes to 5, G2 to 10 and G3 remains at 10 without having to make any menu changes to any of the units.

If there is menu selection, I'd sure like to check mine to make sure it is operating optimally.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12764503 - 05/21/18 10:14 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6941
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Iíll have to try to remember to look tomorrow, I keep mine set to update every sec and have no lag time whatsoever. Iím sure thinking itís a chart update option though.

Top
#12765694 - 05/22/18 06:13 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2193
Loc: Plano, TX
I have mine set the same.

Here's what I think we (I was) are referring to.

Pages/Settings/Navigation: on the menu to the right 'Logging type' is set to TIME. 'Time period' is set to 1 SEC.

The documentation follows:
Logging type
You can select to record trail points based on time, distance, or by
letting the unit position a point automatically when a course
change is registered.
Specify one of the following logging types in the Navigating
Settings dialog:
ē Auto - the unit positions a point automatically when a course
change is registered.
ē Distance - select the Distance field and enter the distance you
want to record.
ē Time - select the Time field and enter the time you want to
record.

I do not know if this in fact is just for trails or perhaps it is also setting the GPS for updating. The OP can check the unit and if Logging type is set to TIME and Time period is set to 1 SEC, then he has another issue if this is the only menu option with timing choices.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12765772 - 05/22/18 07:16 PM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6941
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Yes sir, thatís what I was referring too. Now I will say that I have a trail being recorded at all times, when I get too many trails on the map, Iíll delete them. I canít say that Iíve ever run my graphs without having a new trail being displayed.

Top
#12766190 - 05/23/18 07:47 AM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: sticknstring]
sticknstring Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/24/18
Posts: 38
Loc: The hill country
I went through most of the things listed in the thread and nothing has changed.
I'm going to have to check the auto update time...I got a good feeling this maybe the culprit for me.

Top
#12766359 - 05/23/18 09:26 AM Re: Chartplotter cursor lag going to waypoints [Re: grout-scout]
Dayne Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 3057
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Yes sir, thatís what I was referring too. Now I will say that I have a trail being recorded at all times, when I get too many trails on the map, Iíll delete them. I canít say that Iíve ever run my graphs without having a new trail being displayed.


X2 Especially when fishing unfamiliar water. When I decide to double an area, I like to zoom into the trail and keep he boat as near as possible to the way I ran it the first time for consistency.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide