Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
bassjerker112, EHC, lateraline164, RSpeedJr, ashfost212
108875 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89581
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76921
John175ģ 68844
JDavis7873ģ 67392
Derek 🐝 61234
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58254
LoneStarSonģ 54731
SkeeterRonnie 53594
facebook
Forum Stats
108875 Members
61 Forums
832705 Topics
12099037 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12737271 - 04/30/18 07:25 PM loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix
goodman1389 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/01/14
Posts: 408
Loc: Mansfield,TX
I downloaded the boat lane and copied the file onto my SD card. I have a Mac so I do not have the option to "unzip" the file. The .gpx file is loaded onto my SD but my Helix doesn't recognize it. I believe I have to convert it to a .hmr file. Does anyone know how to load from Mac to the unit?

Top
#12737281 - 04/30/18 07:31 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
franchi Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/01/08
Posts: 200
Loc: magnolia tx
Are you getting a pop up that says not recognized. Or your not seeing the boat lanes on the lake

Top
#12737294 - 04/30/18 07:45 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
goodman1389 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/01/14
Posts: 408
Loc: Mansfield,TX
It asks me to confirm that I want to load new nav data. I click yes then it says ďno new nav data foundĒ

Top
#12737340 - 04/30/18 08:09 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
Alex Finch Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/22/13
Posts: 1207
Loc: Fate, Texas
Check your trails. It may be in there and set to where it doesn't show. I think I had to change the trail to visible and then change the color of the trail. Hope this works for you. It would be the easiest fix.
_________________________

Online Orders: www.finchnastybaitco.com
E-mail Orders: finchnastybaitco@gmail.com

Top
#12737394 - 04/30/18 08:52 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
C130 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/26/16
Posts: 588
Loc: Magnolia, TX
What size card are you using? I have them loaded on to my Helix units and have Macís, only issue Iíve had was when the SD capacity was too large.


Edited by C130 (04/30/18 08:54 PM)
_________________________
Bass Cat Eyra

Top
#12737401 - 04/30/18 08:58 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: C130]
goodman1389 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/01/14
Posts: 408
Loc: Mansfield,TX
Itís a 32gb sd card

Top
#12737404 - 04/30/18 08:59 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: Alex Finch]
goodman1389 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/01/14
Posts: 408
Loc: Mansfield,TX
Originally Posted By: Alex Finch
Check your trails. It may be in there and set to where it doesn't show. I think I had to change the trail to visible and then change the color of the trail. Hope this works for you. It would be the easiest fix.


Trails are set to visible with bold black line. Still not loading

Top
#12737506 - 04/30/18 10:16 PM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
H2ODawg67 Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/07/17
Posts: 341
Loc: Kansas
Originally Posted By: goodman1389
It asks me to confirm that I want to load new nav data. I click yes then it says ďno new nav data foundĒ

I finally got mine to load and every time I power up it says no new nav data found. I think what I did wrong was loaded it before changing trail to visible. Try taking out the chip and power up your unit then put the chip in and see if it shows up. I also thought I exported my waypoints to an sd card and was going to clear everything back to factory but finally got it working. Couldn't figure out how to import the waypoint back on the bird but got home and all my waypoints are still on the bird. hmmm Shows you how technically challenged I am.
_________________________
Formerly H2ODawg

Top
#12737571 - 05/01/18 01:18 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
franchi Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/01/08
Posts: 200
Loc: magnolia tx
I had the same problem on my 898. The memory was full with the current way points already saved trying to load the boat lanes. Had to wipe out a lot of waypoints to make room

Top
#12737821 - 05/01/18 09:12 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
C130 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/26/16
Posts: 588
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: goodman1389
Itís a 32gb sd card


Do you have a 16G or smaller, try that.


Edited by C130 (05/01/18 09:12 AM)
_________________________
Bass Cat Eyra

Top
#12737869 - 05/01/18 09:38 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
LittleGazoo Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 911
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
Here's the deal on Helix and the other legacy HB units.

1) MATRIX folder needs to be unzipped and copied to the SD-card.

2) Unit must be fully powered up and SAVED TRACK DEFAULTS should be changed to default color and solid bold line.

3) SD-card can be inserted.

4) Prompt should appear for options to load Nav Data.

The Other Info:

HB made the default track characteristics a very light color and a mostly invisible thin dashed line.
Go figure. . .

Saved Track Defaults ONLY applies to a track while it is being imported. After a track is imported, it has to be individually edited. Hint: if you Sort by Icon, tracks will display at beginning of list.

"No New Nav Data" message: ONLY NEW Nav Data is imported. This message will appear if waypoints or tracks are not new(ie already exist on the unit) or MATRIX folder not found or corrupt.

FYI: You have and import 100 new waypoints. Then you use HumminbirdPC to make 1 new waypoint and now have 101 waypoints in the new MATRIX folder. When you import, message will state you loaded 1 waypoint.

Hope this gets you going.

PM me or let me know if your still have problems.

Final FYI: When you Restore Defaults, Saved Track Defaults and existing tracks will revert again to invisible characteristics.


Edited by LittleGazoo (05/01/18 09:45 AM)

Top
#12737911 - 05/01/18 09:58 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
Mark Perry Online   content


Registered: 01/09/04
Posts: 53560
Loc: Highway 1
I am beyond frustrated with mine as well. Thought I had an "old version" so I recently bought a new one. I am convinced its 100% my fault . No matter how closely I follow installation instructions I dont get the most trails. I just get the little waypoint markers. I knows its me that is goofing it up somehow. Wish I could figure it out.

Top
#12738000 - 05/01/18 10:48 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
C130 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/26/16
Posts: 588
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I know I had to use a smaller SD card, canít remember if the 32G was the one that caused the issue. I have a bunch of 8 and 16G and have no issues loading updates, boat lanes info, saved tracks, etc. I have the Lance Vick boat lanes for Tolrdo Bend, Rayburn, and Fork. Try an 8G or 16G card.

I do have to go in and delete stuff to add. Iíve learnrd to try and manage it all through Humminbird PC. I have to go and transfer specific lakes to an SD card and then put them on Hummingbird PC. Iíve bought cards for each lake or put several lakes info on one card.


Edited by C130 (05/01/18 10:53 AM)
_________________________
Bass Cat Eyra

Top
#12738081 - 05/01/18 11:28 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: C130]
goodman1389 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/01/14
Posts: 408
Loc: Mansfield,TX
Originally Posted By: C130
I do have to go in and delete stuff to add. Iíve learnrd to try and manage it all through Humminbird PC. I have to go and transfer specific lakes to an SD card and then put them on Hummingbird PC. Iíve bought cards for each lake or put several lakes info on one card.


Humminbird PC doesn't have a version for Mac. I'm trying to do it without having Humminbird PC.

Top
#12738138 - 05/01/18 11:56 AM Re: loading Lance Vick's boat lane onto my Helix [Re: goodman1389]
C130 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/26/16
Posts: 588
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: goodman1389
Originally Posted By: C130
I do have to go in and delete stuff to add. Iíve learnrd to try and manage it all through Humminbird PC. I have to go and transfer specific lakes to an SD card and then put them on Hummingbird PC. Iíve bought cards for each lake or put several lakes info on one card.


Humminbird PC doesn't have a version for Mac. I'm trying to do it without having Humminbird PC.


I run it through bootcamp on my Mac. You just have to buy Windows. You definitely donít need Humingbird PC for the boat lanes.


Edited by C130 (05/01/18 11:58 AM)
_________________________
Bass Cat Eyra

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide