Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
robbiehoover, texasggm, bassjerker112, EHC, lateraline164
108877 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89583
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76921
John175® 68849
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61234
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58254
LoneStarSon® 54731
SkeeterRonnie 53594
facebook
Forum Stats
108877 Members
61 Forums
832724 Topics
12099229 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12737014 - 04/30/18 03:50 PM Keeping shad alive on the yak
JailFisherman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/29/09
Posts: 1773
Loc: Lubbock
So, Im going to be moving to Glendale AZ this upcoming summer. So my love for blue cats is going to need to get replaced with something new... So Im planning on trying to start catching striper because lake Pleasant is supposedly full of em. I know live shad trumps just about everything when it comes to striper, which brings the question of keeping them alive in the yak.

So who has some ideas for a bait tank to keep some shad alive for a couple of hours in the yak?


Edited by JailFisherman (04/30/18 03:51 PM)
_________________________
Don't Run before you know your walk
AKA Teenfisherman
You can't fix stupid, but you can cuff it

Top
#12738278 - 05/01/18 01:07 PM Re: Keeping shad alive on the yak [Re: JailFisherman]
Searsay Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/26/12
Posts: 282
Loc: Lewisville TX
So i have yet to do a full test of it on my kayak w/ bait (but did baitless run w/ it) - but i did test it from my porta-bote with bait and it worked like a charm. I picked up a Lindy Bait Tamer from amazon - basically a stiff mesh bag w/ weights on the bottom and floats on the top. I throw it over the side attached to the anchor trolley when i have to move (since that lets me throw it to the back of the kayak to be more in line and not pull the kayak to one side). It does add a bit of drag but not a huge ammount. FYI i don't trust the velcro - tied paracord to the sew'n on attachments and use that instead of the velcro handle.

The nice thing is that the 5gallon one will fit w/ about 1/2 inch to spare all around in a 5 gallon bucket - when i used it in my porta-bote i had my 5 gallon bucket w/ a re-circulating pump and would drop it in there when i moved around... and then put it back overboard when i did drifts/drops. shad WILL gunk up the mesh w/ scales but it can just be rinsed out when you empty it.

I have though of converting a 5 gallon bucket to a full circulation setup using a small bilge pump that can be suctioned on the side of the kayak... but have tried to stay away from that due to the weight it adds.


Edited by Searsay (05/01/18 01:10 PM)

Top
#12738718 - 05/01/18 06:13 PM Re: Keeping shad alive on the yak [Re: JailFisherman]
JailFisherman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/29/09
Posts: 1773
Loc: Lubbock
Appreciate it! Good tips and ideas right there. I'll probably end up doing some sort of rig up with a 5 gallon bucket because I know shad will kill themselves in the corners of box coolers
_________________________
Don't Run before you know your walk
AKA Teenfisherman
You can't fix stupid, but you can cuff it

Top
#12739116 - 05/01/18 09:36 PM Re: Keeping shad alive on the yak [Re: JailFisherman]
Searsay Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/26/12
Posts: 282
Loc: Lewisville TX
i wonder if a flat-back 5 gallon bucket might work better in a kayak - no sharp corners but you have at least one flat side to mount it against your crate or chair a little more solidly. biggest issue i can see is a lid - but a quick google shows they do have them...

might have to pick one up once my current bucket dies - just because it would work better in the porta-bote.

Top
#12739441 - 05/02/18 07:52 AM Re: Keeping shad alive on the yak [Re: JailFisherman]
RealBigReel Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 1271
Loc: Stephenville, TX
My current kayaks are custom built but I did something similar in my Cobra Navigator. Put the fresh water pump down the scupper behind the seat in the Navigator.
Currently I have a 5 gallon bait tank (6 gallon bucket) behind the seat in my kayak HYBRID and the fresh water intake is between the seat and the tank, just in front of the FF transducer. I use a 12 volt 500 GPM pump running at 6 volts so it actually pumps something less than 500 GPM. I don't use any chemicals. Fresh water intake only. Seems to work fairly well. I have fished some rather long days with decent sized live shad.

_________________________
RealBigReel
My kayak STRIPER2. I don't go too fast but I go pretty far.

Top
#12743504 - 05/04/18 03:41 PM Re: Keeping shad alive on the yak [Re: JailFisherman]
swalker9513 Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/04/02
Posts: 9409
Originally Posted By: JailFisherman
So, Im going to be moving to Glendale AZ this upcoming summer. So my love for blue cats is going to need to get replaced with something new... So Im planning on trying to start catching striper because lake Pleasant is supposedly full of em. I know live shad trumps just about everything when it comes to striper, which brings the question of keeping them alive in the yak.

So who has some ideas for a bait tank to keep some shad alive for a couple of hours in the yak?


santa cruz has a bait tank for your kayak.
_________________________


www.wildcranks.com or find them at Fun-N-Sun in Hurst.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide