Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Crappiewannabe, Ejones, petersj056, bbenson, HK FISHING
107750 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88383
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76322
JDavis7873® 67390
John175® 67219
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 60040
Tritonman 57953
LoneStarSon® 54316
SkeeterRonnie 53336
facebook
Forum Stats
107750 Members
60 Forums
807858 Topics
10232558 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12680022 - 03/19/18 02:50 PM Lowrance Bow and Console not working?
Dadsthatlove2fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/10/15
Posts: 138
I was going to go through and rewire everything checked the fuse, still good. I think I need to just rewire everything make everything snug because they both arent working right now. I wanted to know what kind of wires do people use to wire from the unit to the battery. I'm going to get some new fuses as well are the glass fuses better or the Lowrance fuse box they come with good as well. If someone could let me know what wires they use so I can wire this thing up tonight again.
_________________________
God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:28

Top
#12680169 - 03/19/18 04:01 PM Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish]
Dayne Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 3043
A 16 ga wire will be good enough for no more power than they draw.

Top
#12680207 - 03/19/18 04:25 PM Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish]
Dadsthatlove2fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/10/15
Posts: 138
what fuses to you use to connect to the trolling motor? the standard ones they come with or something different.
_________________________
God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:28

Top
#12680274 - 03/19/18 05:18 PM Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish]
Dayne Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 3043
I have had units for a very long time and have never had a fuse to blow. It should not matter as long as you go with the same low amp that is in them.

Top
#12683370 - 03/21/18 05:16 PM Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish]
Dadsthatlove2fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/10/15
Posts: 138
I think i figured it out I had a 10amp glass fuse it would stay on for like an hour then blow out, I put a 5 in and it blew out right away. so I went and got some 25 amp glass fuses and am good now I think it was just a low amp fuse so 25s are holding up, is that about the right amp or do you think it will end up hurting the units I have the front and console unit connected together then running to the battery.
_________________________
God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth and subdue it and have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” Genesis 1:28

Top
#12683407 - 03/21/18 06:01 PM Re: Lowrance Bow and Console not working? [Re: Dadsthatlove2fish]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 929
Loc: Waco, TX
You need to rewire that setup.

Each graph needs to have its own power cable run to thr battery. Do not tie the graphs together and run one power cable to the battery. Use independent leads for both. You need to be using 12 gauge wire.

Get away from those glass fuses. Depending on which sonar you have, each one needs its own 3 to 5 amp ATC style fuse and fuse holder.

If you wire it this way, you wont have any problems going forward.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide