Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 9 10
Lake Fork Combo Tournament #12673030 03/15/18 01:02 AM
F
filmsguy Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
F
Ive been fishing tournaments at Fork since 1993. Honey Hole, Anglers Choice, Media Bass, Irving Bass Club, Platinum Series, along with probably too many of the big-bass/lottery offerings. I love to fish, and the added element of competition just takes it to another level. With 3 kids and a lot less free time (AKA pre-fishing opportunities), Ive grown pretty selective about my tournament ventures.

This past weekend, my partner and I fished the JC Outdoors Team Tournament. We had a decent bag, but noticed a longer line than usual when we got to weigh-in. This was the first indication that something was different than usual. Long story short, JC Outdoors and Media Bass were using the same scales and weigh-in area. No big deal. The line moved fairly quickly, with very few casualties. It was then that we noticed something else. As some of the teams were announced at the scales, 2 boat numbers were called one for JC Outdoors and one for Media Bass. The same 5 fish were being counted for both tournaments.

The bottom payout weights were announced, and most of the anglers left before checks were distributed. We stuck around to hear the weights, and noticed that at least some of the teams that won money in the JC Outdoors tournament also earned a check in the Media tournament. I guess that would be expected, if a team is allowed to enter the same 5 fish in multiple tournaments. What we didnt realize at the time, was that 12 of the top 13 weights in the JC Outdoors tournament were the same bag of fish that finished in the top 13 of the Media tournament.

Here are some interesting numbers:

* Of the 142 paid entrees (76 JC, 66 Media) there were 113 unique teams
(actual bags weighed, including zeros).

* At the 1-in-5 payout ratio (with 113 teams), 22 teams/bags should have cashed.