Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
papawppc, jwc23, jfur, dburt2, AMG
108026 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88646
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76395
John175® 67602
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60868
Derek 🐝 60292
Tritonman 57996
LoneStarSon® 54408
SkeeterRonnie 53367
facebook
Forum Stats
108026 Members
60 Forums
811438 Topics
10276945 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12662961 - 03/07/18 05:38 PM ? legit catch if in Tournament ?
lucky55 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/15/17
Posts: 170
Loc: Moody, TEXAS
Hooked into a 4# in some bushes. He was so tangled up by the time i got over to it I couldn't work the line free. I could see the fish but it was out of arms reach. Didn't want to cut my line and leave him hooked. So I grabbed the net, scooped him off the bush, and let my line go backwards through the bush. Saved my rig, landed the fish, released the fish so everything was cool. I was just wondering now, if it would have been in a tournament would that be legit? Is it legal to get that fish that's stuck in a bush with my net?

Top
#12662963 - 03/07/18 05:41 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: lucky55]
UTDmiller Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/01/13
Posts: 2022
2 questions i would always ask 1) did you leave the boat? and 2) were you assisted by anyone other than you fishing partner?... otherwise you would have to look at the specific rules for the trail
_________________________
John Miller

Top
#12662977 - 03/07/18 05:53 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: UTDmiller]
lucky55 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/15/17
Posts: 170
Loc: Moody, TEXAS
Originally Posted By: UTDmiller
2 questions i would always ask 1) did you leave the boat? and 2) were you assisted by anyone other than you fishing partner?... otherwise you would have to look at the specific rules for the trail

1 Definitely not it was cold 2 wife on TM
Most small tournaments I have been in that's the only rule i thought would apply was leaving the boat. Just making sure there was no grey area I'm missing. I guess maybe one could argue that I couldn't get it all the way to the boat on rod and reel? Or I "fished" it out of bush with my net?
I don't know maybe I'm over thinking it but if it was in a tournament I would want to know one way or the other for future reference.

Top
#12663001 - 03/07/18 06:06 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: lucky55]
rj74955 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/29/09
Posts: 788
Loc: Inola, Oklahoma
The only thing wrong with that catch is you were NOT in a tournament. When that happens on tournament day, you know everything is going right.

Top
#12663005 - 03/07/18 06:10 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: rj74955]
H2ODawg67 Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/07/17
Posts: 302
Loc: Kansas
It's legit as long as they don't have a no net rule.
_________________________
Formerly H2ODawg

Top
#12663013 - 03/07/18 06:18 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: rj74955]
lucky55 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/15/17
Posts: 170
Loc: Moody, TEXAS
Originally Posted By: rj74955
The only thing wrong with that catch is you were NOT in a tournament. When that happens on tournament day, you know everything is going right.


Yep That's my luck. If I enter tournament, it's a donation to the pot, won't catch much. If I'm just on the same lake same day didn't know there was tournament, it will be my best fishing of the month! roflmao

Top
#12663039 - 03/07/18 06:43 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: lucky55]
beartrap Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/05/11
Posts: 993
Loc: south georgia
it's a legal fish....your situation is no different than hooking a fish,having him jump beside the boat and hook comes out but your partner has the net under him and fish falls into the net...most of us have had that happen several times over the years...and most of us have had fish jump,throw the bait and us or our partner missed the fish with the net...
key part of this debate is that you hooked the fish and managed to land him without leaving the boat...

Top
#12663077 - 03/07/18 07:08 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: lucky55]
rj74955 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/29/09
Posts: 788
Loc: Inola, Oklahoma
Wait, what? You let your wife on the trolling motor? That's just wrong.

Top
#12663197 - 03/07/18 08:27 PM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: rj74955]
lucky55 Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/15/17
Posts: 170
Loc: Moody, TEXAS
Originally Posted By: rj74955
Wait, what? You let your wife on the trolling motor? That's just wrong.


no choice that was a good fish lol roflmao

Top
#12663443 - 03/08/18 06:36 AM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: lucky55]
Hog Jaw Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/09/08
Posts: 2528
Loc: The Great State of Texas
Good

Top
#12663527 - 03/08/18 07:42 AM Re: ? legit catch if in Tournament ? [Re: lucky55]
Ken A. Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/02/06
Posts: 9592
Loc: Trophy Club, TX
Originally Posted By: lucky55
Originally Posted By: rj74955
Wait, what? You let your wife on the trolling motor? That's just wrong.


no choice that was a good fish lol roflmao


Good for you buddy! If she was really a good wife she would have been int he water with the net!

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide