Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Chrishow09, Larry Milford, KK2, marsh, Texas Torpedo
108883 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89604
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76942
John175® 68877
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61282
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58260
LoneStarSon® 54732
SkeeterRonnie 53597
facebook
Forum Stats
108883 Members
60 Forums
832880 Topics
12101845 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12628631 - 02/14/18 08:51 PM Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question
sparkyorc Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/25/10
Posts: 56
Can someone please help - just got two new HDS Gen 3 - screen pop ups to download software updates.

Do I need to insert a SD card to download then take the SD card out or leave it in ?

When I load my new Navionics plus chip do I leave it in the unit or take it out ? And do I then insert SD card to download the Lowrance software updates ?

Tried to call Lowrance twice but keep getting message their office is closed —-also checked utube but cant find this specific questions.

What capacity SD card do I need ?

Thanks for any help !

Top
#12628710 - 02/14/18 09:25 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
dlwfish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 09/21/05
Posts: 317
Loc: North TX
Sent you a PM

Top
#12628789 - 02/14/18 10:02 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 7070
Loc: Boerne, Texas
If your graph has the original update then you will have to manually install the new update via a sd card. After this first update you can download through WiFi.

Top
#12628835 - 02/14/18 10:52 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
21trx Online   embarrased
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/08
Posts: 841
Loc: DC
Just connect your unit to wifi and it will walk you through it

Top
#12629142 - 02/15/18 08:47 AM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
Ferrell Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/08/03
Posts: 184
Loc: Fort Worth, TX
If you are getting a screen popup that new updates are available Im guessing you have your units connected to your wifi? If so you can download and install the update straight from your unit. This does require an SD card to do the update so put a card in with space left to download.
Your Navionics card must be left in the unit.

Top
#12629456 - 02/15/18 11:33 AM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
sparkyorc Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/25/10
Posts: 56
Thanks for advice - going to try it this weekend -

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide