Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
wvu_tim, TurnbowKnows, Scotmcm, Dukboy, donbo
107080 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87852
hopalong 78878
Pilothawk 76049
JDavis7873® 67386
John175® 66415
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 59553
Tritonman 57891
LoneStarSon® 54164
SkeeterRonnie 53238
facebook
Forum Stats
107080 Members
60 Forums
870646 Topics
12374748 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12628631 - 02/14/18 08:51 PM Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question
sparkyorc Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/25/10
Posts: 56
Can someone please help - just got two new HDS Gen 3 - screen pop ups to download software updates.

Do I need to insert a SD card to download then take the SD card out or leave it in ?

When I load my new Navionics plus chip do I leave it in the unit or take it out ? And do I then insert SD card to download the Lowrance software updates ?

Tried to call Lowrance twice but keep getting message their office is closed —-also checked utube but cant find this specific questions.

What capacity SD card do I need ?

Thanks for any help !

Top
#12628710 - 02/14/18 09:25 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
dlwfish Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/21/05
Posts: 272
Loc: North TX
Sent you a PM

Top
#12628789 - 02/14/18 10:02 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6642
Loc: Boerne, Texas
If your graph has the original update then you will have to manually install the new update via a sd card. After this first update you can download through WiFi.

Top
#12628835 - 02/14/18 10:52 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
21XS Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/08
Posts: 809
Loc: . DC
Just connect your unit to wifi and it will walk you through it

Top
#12629142 - 02/15/18 08:47 AM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
Ferrell Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/08/03
Posts: 184
Loc: Fort Worth, TX
If you are getting a screen popup that new updates are available Im guessing you have your units connected to your wifi? If so you can download and install the update straight from your unit. This does require an SD card to do the update so put a card in with space left to download.
Your Navionics card must be left in the unit.

Top
#12629456 - 02/15/18 11:33 AM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3 Question [Re: sparkyorc]
sparkyorc Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/25/10
Posts: 56
Thanks for advice - going to try it this weekend -

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide