Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Gener849, GEEJR, C_S6225, Nyati, Highball Outfitters
108252 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88914
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76461
John175® 67869
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60885
Derek 🐝 60491
Tritonman 58054
LoneStarSon® 54529
SkeeterRonnie 53420
facebook
Forum Stats
108252 Members
60 Forums
864096 Topics
12309420 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12611886 - 02/05/18 12:03 PM Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed
FMJag64 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/30/15
Posts: 107
Loc: Texas
I have a HDS 12 Gen 2 and have had it for a couple of years now with no issues. Randomly over the weekend when i put it on the boat, it started saying No GPS and the GPS never came back on. The Sonar, depth, water temp etc all work fine but not the GPS.

Has anyone had any issues similar to this and have any recommendations? Called Lowrance but since its older than 2 years, not covered by warranty.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Top
#12612111 - 02/05/18 01:58 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2195
Loc: Plano, TX
If you like the Settings on the unit, I advise to save Settings to a SD card. After any of the following, Settings can be imported and settings will be the same as before, i.e., alarms, alerts, beeps, screen overlays, etc. will be restored. This saves a ton of time.

1st - do a soft reset; test
2nd - save all wpts, routes, trails to a SD card. Perform hard reset; test
3rd - if another unit is available, connect it to the HDS 12's cables or connect to bow if not embedded in console; test (I seriously doubt this will mean anything but I don't rule anything out)
4th - this could be done before a hard reset. Complete the first part of 2nd point (Save...); then physically delete wpts, routes, trails, then Purge (provides more memory); then do a hard reset; test

Have you made any changes since it last worked? Like a nearby magnetic field.

Report back. If successful, end of thread, if not, we'll look at further steps and hopefully others will contribute.

Thinking further before posting this, check to make sure iGPS is turned on. If you tinkered out on the water perhaps it got turned off somehow. SETTINGS, NETWORK, GPS... this may be a little different; just going from memory.

Resets are well documented on the Lowrance site or just Google.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12612465 - 02/05/18 05:24 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 456
Loc: Ft Wth
Is your unit set for internal GPS or are you using an external GPS antenna? I have read of several occurrences of the internal GPS ribbon cable vibrating lose but before you dig into that I would follow UJC's advice on performing the soft/hard resets.

Soft Reset HDS units
(does not delete user data)
--turn unit OFF
--press and hold the PAGES button
--press and release the POWER button
--release all buttons when the HDS logo appears.


Hard Reset HDS units
(deletes stored user data such as settings, waypoints and trails) Back up your files to a SD card first!

--turn unit OFF
--press and hold both the ZIN and ZOUT buttons
--press and release the POWER button
--release all buttons when the HDS logo appears.

Top
#12613441 - 02/06/18 10:37 AM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64]
FMJag64 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/30/15
Posts: 107
Loc: Texas
Thanks for yalls help on this! So my fishing partner also saw online that sometimes its the GPS ribbon inside the unit that comes undone as mentioned above. Since the unit was out of warranty, I opened it up and this was in fact the case. Super easy fix and I am not the computer type at all so anyone should be able to do it. Thanks again and I appreciate yalls willingness to help a fellow fisherman out!

Top
#12613534 - 02/06/18 11:23 AM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2195
Loc: Plano, TX
Thanks for letting us know the result - so many don't. I had forgotten about the ribbon. I've read that too and will burn that into memory (ha!). I'd still do the other things on the water though; just in case for an easy fix.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12614353 - 02/06/18 06:59 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 456
Loc: Ft Wth
Glad you got it worked out. thumb For future reference for anyone looking for a solution to to a similar problem here are a couple of photos of the ribbon cable in question.



Top
#12615453 - 02/07/18 12:28 PM Re: Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 2.... No GPS,,,,Help Needed [Re: FMJag64]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2195
Loc: Plano, TX
Thanks MAK747. Great add.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide