Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CWBrown, WxFish, Okie20, MJN22, Nysrx
107071 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87845
hopalong 78878
Pilothawk 76045
JDavis7873ģ 67386
John175ģ 66399
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 59549
Tritonman 57891
LoneStarSonģ 54162
SkeeterRonnie 53236
facebook
Forum Stats
107071 Members
60 Forums
870486 Topics
12372529 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12605612 - 02/01/18 01:50 PM Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
I'm looking into an Ultrex, and I have an HDS8 Gen2 at the bow. Looking at the
US2 cable adapter chart, on the Minn Kota website, and all of the HDS models, except for the 8, show
that there is an adapter cable available for all generations of the model. It shows only the original
HDS 8 as being able to take the MKR-US2-10 adapter cable.
I called MK to verify, and was told that yes, there must be something about the Gen2 and Gen3
that is not compatible with the adapter cable, and thus, the Ultrex.
Please say it isn't so!
Does anyone here run an Ultrex with HDS8 Gen2, or have any information to share?

Top
#12605624 - 02/01/18 02:00 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
Outlaw Outdoors Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/16
Posts: 206
Loc: East Texas
I assume you understand you're only going to be able to utilize the built in sonar transducer on the Ultrex. With that said, the US2 adapter will work for your HDS8.
_________________________


Top
#12605632 - 02/01/18 02:05 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: Outlaw Outdoors]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!

Top
#12605703 - 02/01/18 02:39 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
GIG'EM AGGIES Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 2696
Loc: texas
Shut-Up-And-Fish in Lewisville has the adapter cable you're looking for. 972-822-9285
_________________________
I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I donít have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I donít have a curfew I have a driverís license and my own car. The people I hang around with are not scared of getting pregnant. And I have a bass boat.
Life is great!

Top
#12605722 - 02/01/18 02:48 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
Thank you, Gig'em!

Top
#12605775 - 02/01/18 03:23 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
GIG'EM AGGIES Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 2696
Loc: texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.
_________________________
I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I donít have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I donít have a curfew I have a driverís license and my own car. The people I hang around with are not scared of getting pregnant. And I have a bass boat.
Life is great!

Top
#12605805 - 02/01/18 03:43 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


Turns out he's only a couple miles from where I work. I'll definitely give him a visit.
Who knows... maybe he'll hook me up an Ultrex as well. I'll tell him you sent me.

Top
#12605819 - 02/01/18 03:56 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
Chris B Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/02/03
Posts: 7508
Loc: Prosper, TX
The built in transducer usually are not as good as the factory ones. I'd just mount a Lowrance transducer in a transducer saver mount myself.
_________________________

I hate photobucket.

Top
#12605822 - 02/01/18 04:02 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
GIG'EM AGGIES Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 2696
Loc: texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


Turns out he's only a couple miles from where I work. I'll definitely give him a visit.
Who knows... maybe he'll hook me up an Ultrex as well. I'll tell him you sent me.


He's got'em and will install it for you too. Yeah tell him the guy with the Helix 10 sent you. He set mine up sitting at his desk last Thursday. He's a great teacher of electronics. And the previous poster is correct, the Ultrex transducer is ok but not as good as the Humminbird. David may carry the transducer brackets for the trolling motor, if not you need to order the bracket and shield from Transducer Shield & Saver in Wetumpka Al. They are simply the best.


Edited by GIG'EM AGGIES (02/01/18 04:06 PM)
_________________________
I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I donít have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I donít have a curfew I have a driverís license and my own car. The people I hang around with are not scared of getting pregnant. And I have a bass boat.
Life is great!

Top
#12605823 - 02/01/18 04:02 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Thank you, Gig'em!


You are welcome, David is a good dude and is magic with electronics. He's at 985 bus. 121. Ste. 602. Couple miles east of I-35.


Turns out he's only a couple miles from where I work. I'll definitely give him a visit.
Who knows... maybe he'll hook me up an Ultrex as well. I'll tell him you sent me.


Hmmm... was not aware of that. More food for thought.
Thanks.

Top
#12605829 - 02/01/18 04:05 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
oops.. meant for Chris B

Top
#12606069 - 02/01/18 06:34 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
Outlaw Outdoors Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/18/16
Posts: 206
Loc: East Texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.
_________________________


Top
#12606114 - 02/01/18 06:57 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: Outlaw Outdoors]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: Outlaw Outdoors
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.


That sounds promising. Are you pleased with the quality of the built in US2?
One response above suggested to consider attaching a Lowrance transducer to the Ultrex for better image quality. I actually have new spare one, but not sure I like the idea of having to externally route the cable up the shaft of the Ultrex.

Top
#12606213 - 02/01/18 07:41 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: WhereDayBe?]
GIG'EM AGGIES Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 2696
Loc: texas
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: Outlaw Outdoors
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.


That sounds promising. Are you pleased with the quality of the built in US2?
One response above suggested to consider attaching a Lowrance transducer to the Ultrex for better image quality. I actually have new spare one, but not sure I like the idea of having to externally route the cable up the shaft of the Ultrex.


WDB, I have a Lowrance up front and have the transducer cable run up the shaft over to and through the bow panel and then to the unit. Not a big deal really and I get a good picture. I would consult with David if you're thinking about using the Ultrex transducer for your Helix. JMO.
_________________________
I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I donít have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I donít have a curfew I have a driverís license and my own car. The people I hang around with are not scared of getting pregnant. And I have a bass boat.
Life is great!

Top
#12606359 - 02/01/18 08:46 PM Re: Ultrex / HDS 8 compatibility question [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES]
WhereDayBe? Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/21/13
Posts: 52
Loc: Justin, Tx
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Originally Posted By: Outlaw Outdoors
Originally Posted By: WhereDayBe?
Yes, Sir. I do get that. Are you speaking from experience regarding specifically the Gen2 model?
Not doubting you at all. In fact, you are getting my hopes back up!
Thanks!


Sorta kinda. LOL

I had an HDS8 Gen2 hooked to a Fortrex. I currently have an HDS12 Gen2 hooked to my Ultrex. I know for sure the cable hasnít changed on either of them. So I haven t actually hooked up an HDS8 Gen2 up to an Ultrex, but Iím 99% sure from what I know that itíll work.


That sounds promising. Are you pleased with the quality of the built in US2?
One response above suggested to consider attaching a Lowrance transducer to the Ultrex for better image quality. I actually have new spare one, but not sure I like the idea of having to externally route the cable up the shaft of the Ultrex.


WDB, I have a Lowrance up front and have the transducer cable run up the shaft over to and through the bow panel and then to the unit. Not a big deal really and I get a good picture. I would consult with David if you're thinking about using the Ultrex transducer for your Helix. JMO.


I have an HDS 8 Gen 2 up front. But do plan on talking with David before doing anything. Still baffled with why the Minn Kota tech told me that their adapter cable will only work with the gen1, and not gen2 or 3. Maybe he was a drinking the job. grin
Is the cable for the built in transducer not concealed inside the shaft? Why did you have to run a cable?
Did you opt to attach a Lowrance transducer rather than use the built in?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide