Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Coffee Creek Landing, Beard111, sprice, TimothyB, SCA1951
107803 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88415
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76329
JDavis7873® 67390
John175® 67262
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 60070
Tritonman 57958
LoneStarSon® 54330
SkeeterRonnie 53341
facebook
Forum Stats
107803 Members
60 Forums
858298 Topics
12238113 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12596174 - 01/26/18 07:56 AM Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option
1Cast 1Fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/20/17
Posts: 60
One of the biggest problems I had when I bought my kayak was where and how to mount a fish finder and transducer in a way that it would not get damaged, would not effect my kayaks handling (over the side), and be easy to remove and reinstall if I wanted. Here is the result...mounting the transducer inside the kayak hull...just like a in hull mount on my boat. I have had fantastic results and could not be happier with the installation.


Top
#12596624 - 01/26/18 01:03 PM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
DNA Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/19/11
Posts: 114
I tried this way which doesn't work for downscan function.

Top
#12596996 - 01/26/18 05:39 PM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: DNA]
1Cast 1Fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/20/17
Posts: 60
Originally Posted By: DNA
I tried this way which doesn't work for downscan function.


That is correct, side scan will not work with this type of install either.

Top
#12599496 - 01/28/18 07:38 PM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: DNA]
PlanoTom Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/06/12
Posts: 576
Has anyone had success with sidescan with the transducer attached to an arm hanging over the side?

Top
#12599805 - 01/29/18 01:50 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: PlanoTom]
DrewTX Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 03/31/16
Posts: 9
Originally Posted By: PlanoTom
Has anyone had success with sidescan with the transducer attached to an arm hanging over the side?


Curious about this too. Looking at maybe adding a depth finder with sidescan to my kayak soon.

Top
#12600002 - 01/29/18 08:55 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
stretch Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/20/06
Posts: 1428
Loc: TEXAS
My lowrance totalscan hangs over the side and works great. Just pop it in place once on the water, if it were to hit something it just pops loose and no damage to the transducer.






Edited by stretch (01/29/18 09:03 AM)

Top
#12600036 - 01/29/18 09:17 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
Jimbo Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 01/18/03
Posts: 16022
Loc: South Texas
Been using the duck seal on my sonar for a couple years now, and got rid of all my hanging over the side transducer mounts.
Quick and easy, and easy to store away and set up.
It's just a shoot through the hull type of mounting, and I don't think it would work for a side scan.
_________________________
Just one more cast!


Top
#12600075 - 01/29/18 09:52 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
Dan90210 ☮ Online   content
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017

Registered: 11/18/09
Posts: 27483
Loc: Denton County
I run mine through a scupper. Works fine and is up out of the way.

The clown at Mariner Sails told me they dont sale the brackets I used bcs they break and are cheap and no one likes to do it that way and blah blah and tried to sell me an arm that goes over the side...for like $125. Funk that.

Been using it through the scupper for 2.5 years no problems.

That said, about mounting, I am running a RayMarine on a Jackson Big Rig. IDK that the transducer for my Lowrance that I use on my bass buster would fit up in there like the RayMarine one does. Its wider and might not fit into that groove like the RM one does... In that case, I would have gone over the side since the DI will not shoot thru the hull.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: junbengreat
Pulled a gun on his dryer and they caught a bunch of fish.

Top
#12600078 - 01/29/18 09:54 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
Dan90210 ☮ Online   content
Nonbinary Gender of the Year 2017

Registered: 11/18/09
Posts: 27483
Loc: Denton County
Stretch, I like what you did there with the PVC.

If ever comes a time, I might do something like that. But for now I like that its not in my way paddling and cant hit anything as its tucked up into the hull.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: junbengreat
Pulled a gun on his dryer and they caught a bunch of fish.

Top
#12600783 - 01/29/18 03:55 PM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: Dan90210 ☮]
stretch Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/20/06
Posts: 1428
Loc: TEXAS
Originally Posted By: Dan90210 ☮
Stretch, I like what you did there with the PVC.

If ever comes a time, I might do something like that. But for now I like that its not in my way paddling and cant hit anything as its tucked up into the hull.


Thanks, I have an older hobie outback 2008 model so it doesn't have the fancy scupper lowrance ready system like the newer ones. This was the best idea I could come up with that was cheap and sturdy. Its ugly but works like a champ, the fish don't seem to mind, lol.

Top
#12602166 - 01/30/18 11:26 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
1Cast 1Fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/20/17
Posts: 60
Do you find that with it mounted over the side it effects the kayak tracking at all?

Top
#12603131 - 01/30/18 08:45 PM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
stretch Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/20/06
Posts: 1428
Loc: TEXAS
Originally Posted By: 1Cast 1Fish
Do you find that with it mounted over the side it effects the kayak tracking at all?
Nah, I have a stringer full of crappie hanging over the other side to equal it out, lol. Seriously though, I have the upgraded sailing rudder on my hobie so I can't tell a difference.

Top
#12603889 - 01/31/18 11:48 AM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
RealBigReel Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/31/06
Posts: 1263
Loc: Stephenville, TX
I have a custom built kayak with Hobie pedals. And I have a Helix 5 with side imaging.
The transducer is installed in a well behind the seat on a swing arm. I have it so that it swings down into position when on the water.
This is what it looks like on top.






This is what it looks like underneath, hanging down with the leading block to prevent damage. Painted the block black later of course removed the protective wrap.

_________________________
RealBigReel
My kayak STRIPER2. I don't go too fast but I go pretty far.

Top
#12605649 - 02/01/18 02:14 PM Re: Easy Kayak Transducer Mounting Option [Re: 1Cast 1Fish]
1Cast 1Fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/20/17
Posts: 60
That is one nice looking custom job.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide