Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Mark Stanton, MJT, Bremondhighschoolfishingteam, ShawnV, Keepfishingweird
107737 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88367
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76320
JDavis7873® 67390
John175® 67195
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 60033
Tritonman 57951
LoneStarSon® 54314
SkeeterRonnie 53336
facebook
Forum Stats
107737 Members
60 Forums
857709 Topics
12230815 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12593742 - 01/24/18 12:50 PM When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel?
BassAttack1225 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 06/25/11
Posts: 2
I have notoriously put too much line on my reels... whats the best way for me to fix that?

Top
#12593759 - 01/24/18 01:03 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
squib Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 1249
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Get some oldish line you have in a similar pound test. Fill the reel to where you like it. Then walk off 75 yards of that line. Cut that much off. Tie the new line to the old. Spool on 75 yards of the new.

Going forward you now always know how much to add on. Just strip your line off until you get to the splice.

Top
#12593805 - 01/24/18 01:43 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
SteezMacQueen Online   sleepy
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 5301
Loc: Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
Spool it to within 1/16" from the spool edge.
_________________________
Eat. Sleep. Fish.

Top
#12593883 - 01/24/18 02:42 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: SteezMacQueen]
forkduc Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 03/28/07
Posts: 11610
Loc: Plano,Texas
I do 1/8

Top
#12593985 - 01/24/18 04:22 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: forkduc]
bigbass94 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/27/12
Posts: 4296
Loc: San Antonio, Texas
Originally Posted By: forkduc
I do 1/8


That's what I usually do too.
_________________________
"If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles." - Doug Larson

Top
#12593995 - 01/24/18 04:26 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
TEXASJIGSTER Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/11
Posts: 203
Loc: CADDO LAKE
1/8

Top
#12594042 - 01/24/18 04:57 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
Fishspanker Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 7294
Loc: Island of Jeff (Humble)
Quit doing it.
_________________________
A Nation of Sheep will soon have a government of Wolves.

Top
#12594048 - 01/24/18 05:00 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
361V Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/21/08
Posts: 4867
Loc: somervell county
I always hear a lighter spool will cast better but my my reels have always cast best when full of line(seems backwards due the extra weight thing). I fill mine to around 1/8” from full.
_________________________

Top
#12594062 - 01/24/18 05:13 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: squib]
airforcefishin Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/16/13
Posts: 1292
Loc: Houston, tx
Originally Posted By: squib
Get some oldish line you have in a similar pound test. Fill the reel to where you like it. Then walk off 75 yards of that line. Cut that much off. Tie the new line to the old. Spool on 75 yards of the new.

Going forward you now always know how much to add on. Just strip your line off until you get to the splice.
Good idea here, about to respool all my reels for the start of the season. 75 is plenty, right? I do not see being able to cast any where close to that? That is a good number for buying 150 spools and maximizing them if this method works well...
_________________________


Top
#12594093 - 01/24/18 05:41 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
CHAMPION FISH Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/14/04
Posts: 7345
Loc: SACHSE, TEXAS
I do 1/16 to spoil lip.
_________________________

" Success is a ladder you can not climb with your hands in your pockets."

www.pro-cure.com
www.falconrods.com

Top
#12594175 - 01/24/18 06:31 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
Ken A. Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/02/06
Posts: 9335
Loc: Trophy Club, TX
Fill em up to within 1/16” of the lip on baitcasters. A full reel always casts better. Just remember to set an extra brake when you fill it full. After you have cut & retied several times use one less brake.


Edited by Ken A. (01/24/18 06:32 PM)

Top
#12594713 - 01/25/18 07:01 AM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
Scoundrel Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/05/13
Posts: 909
Loc: Bedrock.
I generally ask my brother when he thinks it looks about full. Then I crank down about 25 more turns cause I can cast further than most people.
_________________________

Top
#12594849 - 01/25/18 08:22 AM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: squib]
1Cast 1Fish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/20/17
Posts: 56
Originally Posted By: squib
Get some oldish line you have in a similar pound test. Fill the reel to where you like it. Then walk off 75 yards of that line. Cut that much off. Tie the new line to the old. Spool on 75 yards of the new.

Going forward you now always know how much to add on. Just strip your line off until you get to the splice.


Great tip...I used to fill my whole spool with expensive fluro lines...until I realized I never used over half of it. Started doing the same thing, reel on some cheapo line...and tie about 75 yard of fluro to it...I do the same with braid.

Top
#12596754 - 01/26/18 03:00 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: BassAttack1225]
Bassalong Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/08/05
Posts: 829
Loc: Iowa
You can have too much line on your reel. If you have a 1/16 gap or 1/8 gap and can't get your centrifugal or whatever brake adjustments to keep you from backlashing try reducing the amount of line on your spool and readjusting your brake weights, etc to get better results. In some cases you may have to go to a longer and softer rod as well. Getting distance or speed with lighter baits can test your limits especially if you have to make quick short flat casts into overhanging cover.

Top
#12596761 - 01/26/18 03:08 PM Re: When spooling line... whats the best way to know I have enough line on my reel? [Re: Bassalong]
senko9S Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/15/03
Posts: 22874
Loc: Bedford, TX
easy, 1/8th.
_________________________
David Short




Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide