Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ntxduffer, OKBlindHogg, TDog301, Chris N USMC, laserbeak
108021 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88633
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76393
John175® 67582
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60868
Derek 🐝 60273
Tritonman 57993
LoneStarSon® 54402
SkeeterRonnie 53367
facebook
Forum Stats
108021 Members
60 Forums
861236 Topics
12274644 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12572124 - 01/10/18 09:37 AM Can you over structure a Location?
Sirjet Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 1240
Loc: Duncanville
I was wondering can you put to much structure in one location? Whether you are dropping on the bottom or hanging from a slip. I have always thought that to much is just that to much.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#12572132 - 01/10/18 09:41 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
The Crappie Guy Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 03/17/03
Posts: 5176
Loc: Highland Village and Fork
Agree with you
_________________________
"The Crappie Guy"







Top
#12572146 - 01/10/18 09:55 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Duck_Jerky Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/21/02
Posts: 5011
Loc: Kaufman, TX
I think you can put out as much in one place as you want...kinda depends on what your goal is...do you want a few BIG places to fish, or do you want a higher quantity of smaller places.

Can't go wrong either way wink
_________________________
Brian Carter
Sponsors:
www.bnmpoles.com - Quality Rods For Over 60 Years
www.youtube.com/BnMFishingPoles - YouTube Channel
www.beereadys.com - Bee Ready Rod Holders
www.lftlures.com - Innovative, quality fishing lures made in the USA

Top
#12572188 - 01/10/18 10:19 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
fishin'aholic2 Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 11/08/07
Posts: 13684
Loc: Irving, Texas
I believe you can have too much cover in one place. It will spread them out and make them harder to catch.
_________________________

Text Joey at 817-897-1384 for great rod and rod repair rates!

www.youtube.com/KIDKRAPPIE

Top
#12572191 - 01/10/18 10:21 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: fishin'aholic2]
REDGUN Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/01/10
Posts: 842
Loc: DFW Metromess
Originally Posted By: fishin'aholic2
I believe you can have too much cover in one place. It will spread them out and make them harder to catch.


+1

Top
#12572193 - 01/10/18 10:23 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 1240
Loc: Duncanville
+1 That was what I was thinking.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#12572236 - 01/10/18 10:41 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
leanin post Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 08/18/09
Posts: 5908
Loc: TEXAS
want to see what putting out way too much small structure does to a lake, go fish lake Granger. If that lake were ever drained it would look like a pvc pipe and 5 gallon bucket graveyard. Heres how that happened. Because of lots of fishing pressure and lots of very good crappie fisherman fishing it over the years, many people started puttin g out thier own " personal " piles , hoping to get a shot at catching a bunch of fish off one pile. Then, because of that scattering the fish, people started putting small piles, that are very hard to spot on this great sonar we have today, these piles hold a couple of fish, because they arent fished much unless you know where they are. So all of this equates to the fish being very scattered and you as a fisherman having to fish many piles to get a decent mess of fish, and if the lake is putting out 12 undersized fish to one keeper, like Granger does, well you do the math.
My personal opinion is to replinish known good medium sized piles that produce good numbers of fish. stack the brush horizontally. when you put those sticks in a bucket or pvc in a standing bucket, the only place that usually holds as few fish is the bucket itself. Get you some good sized oak, cedar, pecan limbs that have VEES in them, and some smaller branches and just throw them out with weight and let them fall how they may.
also bamboo and river cane is the worst thing you can use, next to pvc. a week after you put the bamboo out, all thats left is skinny, spiny sticks in a bucket. all the leaves fall off in a week, and that lush bamboo forest you envisioned that the crappie are playing tag in just doesnt exist. You may as well just go sink a five gallon bucket with nothing in it .
_________________________
Many living in this generation shall never see the grave, JESUS gave us revelations and the time is very near. Dont be a soul that stands before GOD on judgment day and be told "depart from me, I do not know you".
REPENT, RECIEVE, REJOICE!!!

Top
#12572305 - 01/10/18 11:21 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 1240
Loc: Duncanville
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! Intriguing. Thank s Leanin Post. I didn't know that.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#12572509 - 01/10/18 01:16 PM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
zig-zag Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/28/16
Posts: 97
same with willow 1yr max 0n most of the limbs. hard wood steels your jigs but it also produces fish!!! medium is best, large piles hard to fine sweet spot. angel2 good luck!!!!

Top
#12572638 - 01/10/18 02:43 PM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Crappie Cat Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/24/03
Posts: 909
Loc: Little Elm
There are a lot opinions on this subject, but the FACT is
that fish need the cover to brood there youngins, so any and all
cover that is put in or natural will contribute to the future
of all fish. This is benefit to the fisher person,
now days its easy to find and catch with the current technology.
My answer is No, the bigger and more cover there is a very good thing
for the future and health of the fish/lake eco system..


Edited by Crappie Cat (01/10/18 02:44 PM)
_________________________



Top
#12572656 - 01/10/18 02:51 PM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Sirjet Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/14/09
Posts: 1240
Loc: Duncanville
OK. On my slip We have real and artificial structure. So far the artificial has been producing more and in most cases bigger fish. I am just trying to pick the mind of fellow fishermen. very good knowledge here. Thank You Guys. The biggest problem on my slip is that the other guys that are on it with me get to go a lot more than I do. it makes me a little jealous. LOL Just kidding. We have a good group of guys.
_________________________
Marine 4 Life



"#1 God #2 Family #3 Fishing #4 Fishing #5 Fishing
JET



Top
#12573810 - 01/11/18 11:19 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: leanin post]
SLABXPRESS Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/17/02
Posts: 2004
Loc: Teague/Lewisville, Texas
My opinion:
1) "Medium" sized piles are the way to go.
2) Refresh your productive piles when needed.
3) Really big piles usually produce large numbers of short fish, so you have to cull a lot.
4) Small piles produce small numbers, but occasionally big fish.
5) Good sized hardwood piles seem to produce bigger fish.
6) Rather than the size or type of piles, focus on LOCATION!

Originally Posted By: leanin post

also bamboo and river cane is the worst thing you can use, next to pvc. a week after you put the bamboo out, all thats left is skinny, spiny sticks in a bucket. all the leaves fall off in a week, and that lush bamboo forest you envisioned that the crappie are playing tag in just doesnt exist. You may as well just go sink a five gallon bucket with nothing in it .

Hate to be contradictory on this one, but I can personally attest to bamboo condos I have out from several years ago that still produce to this day. In fact, we caught a 2 man limit off two Boo condos this past summer on Palestine, and they were put out 3 years ago. Yes, the leaves will fall off eventually, but the bamboo last a long time. Those same bamboo sticks are held upright by pvc, so there's another contradiction.
I agree that, if given the option, good solid hardwood limbs (or whole trees) are the way to go. But bamboo WILL work.

To me, the bottom line is put out what you can and be selective about location. Like LeaninPost said about Granger, too many piles in a given area can tend to scatter fish.
_________________________

Top
#12574652 - 01/11/18 07:51 PM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Creamlevel Creek Kennels Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/16/10
Posts: 1363
Loc: Ben Wheeler, Texas
I agree with Slabexpress. I have had great luck with bamboo. I use the big end of the boo. Usually 3" in diameter, and 10' in length. I use 3 pods in each location. I try to make it about 20' pod diameter. But get you a good waypoint mark because after the air is out of the boo ( couple months) it is next to impossible to pick up with side scan. 2-D will pick it up but must drive right across the top of structure.

This is time of year I add to my locations, and build up other locations with cedar, willow, etc. they are location that others have put in, so I'm not worried about these being found since others put them in. I rarely find anyone fishing MY boo piles due to degree of difficulty in finding them.


Edited by Creamlevel Creek Kennels (01/11/18 08:31 PM)
_________________________


Top
#12574733 - 01/11/18 08:35 PM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
CHAMPION FISH Online   happy
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/14/04
Posts: 7373
Loc: SACHSE, TEXAS
Great information.
_________________________

" Success is a ladder you can not climb with your hands in your pockets."

www.pro-cure.com
www.falconrods.com

Top
#12575014 - 01/12/18 07:03 AM Re: Can you over structure a Location? [Re: Sirjet]
Creamlevel Creek Kennels Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/16/10
Posts: 1363
Loc: Ben Wheeler, Texas
When I first started Building boo structures. Now, I have made them in larger diameter of boo.

http://s106.photobucket.com/user/cooter-...sort=3&o=12

Then start crossing poles to the 4 legs. I take the bucket w/4 legs, and a bundle of 3" x 10' pieces and build it in my boat on location, and put it in water.

http://rs106.pbsrc.com/albums/m278/coote...80&fit=clip

Like I said I have gone to bigger diameter of boo, but this is the idea. I also build them with boo to set on reach the ground which keeps the bucket from tipping over and gives hiding locations to crappie right on the bottom. Also when putting the bucket in the water, I take a 2" x 4" or 2" x 6" board the will span the width of my boat. Build structure on the end of board. This allows me to side board off the edge of boat and ease the structure into the water. Will just slide off boat, which keeps stucture from breaking up when it hits side of boat.

http://rs106.pbsrc.com/albums/m278/coote...80&fit=clip

http://rs106.pbsrc.com/albums/m278/coote...80&fit=clip

These are early pics and have upgraded in size. But hopefully this helps with the idea. I build several cement buckets at one time. I also use a full bucket of cement, due to the boo being full of air chambers, which makes the want to float. Smaller boo structure will require less cement.

http://s106.photobucket.com/user/cooter-...sort=3&o=13



_________________________


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide