Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jamie Dubroc, TX1984, horns1984, gcman, WP2018
106781 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87548
hopalong 78853
Pilothawk 75985
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 � 66177
FattyMcButterpants 60834
Derek 🐝 59289
Tritonman 57847
LoneStarSon® 54008
SkeeterRonnie 53180
facebook
Forum Stats
106781 Members
61 Forums
867339 Topics
12325058 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12567537 - 01/07/18 12:13 PM Help!! With my terrova
fishseeker65 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/29/11
Posts: 182
I just put a 2017 minn Kota 36v trolling motor on my boat. I’m trying to install transducer for my hb788
To it but can’t figure out how to run the cable. I seen lots of videos of how they silicone them down the shaft but this one has a smaller valley and the extra little white box on it doesn’t have any gap space to run the cap through? Do you guys have any ideas?
_________________________
Carlos. BLUE WAVE 22FT CC
PB Hybrid 8.5# on Tawakoni
PB Channel Cat 19.8# on Tawakoni
PB Striper 14.0 # on Lake Texoma

Top
#12567782 - 01/07/18 03:12 PM Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65]
ToadThrower Offline
Angler

Registered: 06/29/07
Posts: 379
Loc: Arlington, TX
http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/10494141/Re:_Mounting_a_transducer_on_a#Post10494141

terrova transducer install external

Take a look at this post....I used this on mine and it has worked great..hardest part is buying the coiled air hose and splitting it down the middle...once you get it around the transducer cable it is easy . ,I attach it at the top of the motor with a carabiner or d ring but you could use a zip tie or anything that lets the cable slide.Another tip I attached my transducer to the trolling motor with large zip ties..if you are using humminbird, this allows the transducer to slip up to either side or move if you hit something with it... you can cinch them down tight enough with the zip ties so it doesnt move....so far so good with using that after breaking two off using the metal screw clamp that comes with the transducer.I can send some more pictures if you need them...


Edited by ToadThrower (01/07/18 03:24 PM)

Top
#12570208 - 01/09/18 05:19 AM Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65]
mwacosta Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/09/02
Posts: 1801
Loc: Granbury, Texas, USA
I stopped messing with my lowrance cable/transducer on the trolling motor. I tore up cables twice and had to get replacement transducers. I bought a down rod mount that works for me (http://fishingspecialties.com/). If you mount it strategically, it is out of the way and you will never have an issue with the trolling motor. The only issue is that when you deploy your trolling motor, you have to put your transducer down as well and vice versa on putting the trolling motor back up. If you would like to see my install (its better than the pics on the website), let me know and I will send a pic.

Good luck,
_________________________
Michael Acosta
Unfair Advantage Charters
817-578-0023
michael.acosta@att.net
www.unfairadvantagecharters.com

Top
#12570384 - 01/09/18 08:40 AM Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65]
CHAMPION FISH Online   happy
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/14/04
Posts: 7165
Loc: SACHSE, TEXAS
I seen brackets installed on the shaft that allows the cable to slide up and down with the shaft and it also keeps the cable tight and out of the prop. You might want to contact David Goodson at Shut up and fish.
_________________________

" Success is a ladder you can not climb with your hands in your pockets."

www.pro-cure.com
www.falconrods.com

Top
#12570461 - 01/09/18 09:33 AM Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: fishseeker65]
captain steve barnes Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/25/02
Posts: 1583
Loc: pottsboro,texas u.s.
What am I missing here? Transducer is built into the motor housing Right?
_________________________
Captain Steve Barnes Guide Service
http://www.txfishingguide.com
http://www.facebook.com/CaptSteveBarnes

Top
#12570522 - 01/09/18 10:02 AM Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: captain steve barnes]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 4972
Loc: Burleson,TX
Originally Posted By: captain steve barnes
What am I missing here? Transducer is built into the motor housing Right?


There is us2 transducer for 2d, I am guessing he is wanting to add a di transducer. The newer terrovas have the coiled spring lift assist near the top of the shaft.


Scroll down this page till you find cable guard. Click on video.

https://precisionsonar.com/products/


Edited by 44 Diesel (01/09/18 10:14 AM)

Top
#12570649 - 01/09/18 11:05 AM Re: Help!! With my terrova [Re: 44 Diesel]
mwacosta Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/09/02
Posts: 1801
Loc: Granbury, Texas, USA
I guess I don't have the Terrova. I have the Rip Tide ST112 GPS model which does not have the transducer built in. Trying to get the bigger lowrance cable in the slit down to the motor is tough. You can route around the control head, but that is a mess. I've tried several methods.

With the GPS remote control, I may not even need a front fishfinder any longer. I use it when catching bait and it gets inundated with water/[censored] when you pull the net in.

My two cents
_________________________
Michael Acosta
Unfair Advantage Charters
817-578-0023
michael.acosta@att.net
www.unfairadvantagecharters.com

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide