Print Thread
Page 4 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: Which type of PFD do you use? [Re: gut hooked] #12569373 01/08/18 10:48 PM
B
Big Ned Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
B
If you do not wear full vest style you are at risk. I fish tournaments all over East Texas and did kind of a survey today. This is not something that is scientific but asked a lot of the well known tournament guys their thought. I was really surprised that the seasoned veterans I will not name did not think the inflatables were reliable. I fish several circuits in Texas and have worn inflatables till I did the research today. Like I said I am no engineer or scientist but it really surprised me how many seasoned tournament veterans have went back to the vest type. I have sent an email to all that are my team partners in 2018 and told them that inflatables will not be allowed in my boat if you want to fish with me. Granted I am not the best there is in Texas but have cashed checks in TTT and Bass Champs. I really looked at this because I was also wearing an inflatable one. NO more starting with TTT on Toledo this weekend it will be full vest and to my surprise all my partners through all 2018 agreed. We all have family and that is the most important. I pray for what's going on Okeechobee it is a tragedy for the family of the co and for the Pro that will have deal with this. I usually run the boat in team events and this would be any bodies worst nightmare.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Which type of PFD do you use? [Re: Ynot] #12569378 01/08/18 10:51 PM
F
Fishspanker Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
F
Originally Posted By: Ynot
Type V inflatables are approved only when worn. If marked this way, they are required to be worn to be counted as a regulation PFD. Otherwise you have to have a full vest on board type 1,2,3.
Type V PFD is only a substitute if you wear it.