Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tundah, tom peart, KillrB, Robertson79, Mike Pruitt
108641 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89324
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76746
John175® 68517
JDavis7873® 67391
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Derek 🐝 60866
Tritonman 58177
LoneStarSon® 54672
SkeeterRonnie 53528
facebook
Forum Stats
108641 Members
61 Forums
829930 Topics
12060290 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12537643 - 12/13/17 06:58 PM Coordinates...?
i-Fish Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 976
Having difficulty translating google earth pro coordinates, entering them in my Lowrance HDS Gen 3, and matching the spot. Google has more coordinate numbers than the Lowrance unit allows so while I’m “in the vicinity” with marking waypoints it’s still off by, say a couple hundred yards which defeats the purpose. Anybody have some pointers?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12537659 - 12/13/17 07:11 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
collincountytx Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/08/08
Posts: 15945
Loc: Dallas, TX
_________________________

Top
#12537683 - 12/13/17 07:32 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
Stickchunker Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/08
Posts: 883
Loc: Lake Conroe
You have to convert it to decimals.

30*26'40.53"N

40.53/60 = .675

30*26.675

Hope this helps.
_________________________

Top
#12538069 - 12/14/17 07:42 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: collincountytx]
5X3Phoenix Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/02/07
Posts: 1066
Loc: Porter, TX
Originally Posted By: collincountytx


Great video!

Top
#12538078 - 12/14/17 07:48 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: Stickchunker]
David Burton Online   confused
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/14/11
Posts: 2293
Loc: McKinney, TX
Originally Posted By: Stickchunker
You have to convert it to decimals.

30*26'40.53"N

40.53/60 = .675

30*26.675

Hope this helps.



Cool... Thanks for the formula; I should've thought about that (60 seconds in a minute)! I have used website calculators. Now I can code it in excel and translate myself!
_________________________
David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21

...and down goes PhotoBucket with the new Terms of Service... I predict they will be out of business or begging for forgiveness inside a month. 6/30/2017

Top
#12538113 - 12/14/17 08:22 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
nwest10 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/18/14
Posts: 582
Loc: Lake Conroe / Willis
In Google Earth you can go to file / options and change how the coordinates are displayed with several options to choose. On you HDS you can go in and change how they are displayed and or entered in as well. Match the HDS to GE or match GE to the HDS by changing the options.

Top
#12538135 - 12/14/17 08:33 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: Stickchunker]
bassmanrudy Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/30/15
Posts: 903
Loc: Bossier City, LA
Originally Posted By: Stickchunker
You have to convert it to decimals.

30*26'40.53"N

40.53/60 = .675

30*26.675

Hope this helps.

now that is a great idea I had never thought of either! I was trying to enter TPWD coordinates into my lowrance and was like way off! thanks!

_________________________
"I'd Rather Be Fishing" smile
Rudy

Top
#12538300 - 12/14/17 10:42 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: nwest10]
LittleGazoo Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 907
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
Originally Posted By: nwest10
In Google Earth you can go to file / options and change how the coordinates are displayed with several options to choose. On you HDS you can go in and change how they are displayed and or entered in as well. Match the HDS to GE or match GE to the HDS by changing the options.

+1
Match the coordinate formats. Set Google Earth and your Lowrance units to the same format if manually entering a few waypoints. For a large number of waypoints, save the waypoints from GE in KML or KMZ format, then use GpsBabel, Reefmaster or RideLeader to make a GPX file to import.

Waypoint and track-point coordinates are internally stored in HDS, Humminbird or Garmin units in digital format as that is what computers calculate. The different GPS formats you set are only for entering or displaying of those coordinates. Change the HDS coordinates display format and change the coordinate format back does not change the internal digital representation.

Top
#12539306 - 12/15/17 10:13 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: David Burton]
Stickchunker Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/08
Posts: 883
Loc: Lake Conroe
Originally Posted By: David Burton
Originally Posted By: Stickchunker
You have to convert it to decimals.

30*26'40.53"N

40.53/60 = .675

30*26.675

Hope this helps.



Cool... Thanks for the formula; I should've thought about that (60 seconds in a minute)! I have used website calculators. Now I can code it in excel and translate myself!


That's a great Idea David, i did all of mine by hand, never thought about coding it in Excel. Thanks for the tip!
_________________________

Top
#12542965 - 12/18/17 09:12 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
Kens3313 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/14/05
Posts: 2389
Loc: Conroe, TX
If you get on the computer and go to google maps, not google earth. type in the coordinates u want, on the left in blue it will give the two different styles for you to change it, that's what I did
_________________________

Top
#12543150 - 12/19/17 05:04 AM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
Gamblinman Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3570
Loc: Yantis, TX
Make sure you are making the conversion in the same datum format.

Top
#12544051 - 12/19/17 03:38 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: collincountytx]
TxRanger1 Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/31/15
Posts: 350
Loc: Humble,Tx
There is a setting in google earth to change the coordinates format. Just do that and it will work for you

Top
#12544138 - 12/19/17 05:05 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
Pitch Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/23/16
Posts: 64
Here is an excellent "how to" video from Lowrance pro Jacob Scott:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=333nbmdyYlE

Top
#12544456 - 12/19/17 09:18 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
tejasbass Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/20/05
Posts: 906
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Good info...

Top
#12548427 - 12/22/17 08:26 PM Re: Coordinates...? [Re: i-Fish]
M. Massoletti Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/03/09
Posts: 688
Loc: Gilmer, Tx.
+1

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide