Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
F100, Gix750, jtribbz, FishingwithCav, Charles Foster
108897 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89622
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76954
John175® 68902
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61288
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58268
LoneStarSon® 54733
Mark Perry 53654
facebook
Forum Stats
108897 Members
60 Forums
833064 Topics
12104970 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12529176 - 12/06/17 03:45 PM Multiple Lowrance units?
vtile Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/06/14
Posts: 58
Loc: McKinney, TX
I have two 12" Lowrance HDS Gen3s on my 22 ft. Triton. I am seriously considering replacing them with the new Hook2 12 Series Sonars. I know I am going to take a 'licking' price-wise on selling my existing units. Opinions please - should I keep them and mount multiple units front and/or back, or simply take my beating, sell the two I have and go with with one in each location? Other - I currently have both units flush mounted. Would you go with a stand up mount? If so, which one? I appreciate your thoughts.

Top
#12529181 - 12/06/17 03:50 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
kellisag Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/08/06
Posts: 1822
Loc: SETX
Why are you thinking of downgrading to the hook from the HDS Gen 3?

Top
#12529187 - 12/06/17 03:52 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
vtile Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/06/14
Posts: 58
Loc: McKinney, TX
Yes, for a simple reason - They don't call me Mr. Technology; bout figured out I'm not smart enough to run the HDS Gen3s.

Top
#12529194 - 12/06/17 03:55 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: kellisag]
Fishinfellow Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/12/10
Posts: 3333
Loc: North Richland Hills, TX
Originally Posted By: kellisag
Why are you thinking of downgrading to the hook from the HDS Gen 3?

This.

Say goodbye to the networking feature (no shared waypoints) That by itself is enough reason for me to never downgrade to a Hook.
_________________________
Thats my money fish

Kris Winhold

Top
#12529195 - 12/06/17 03:55 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
kellisag Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/08/06
Posts: 1822
Loc: SETX
I gotcha! Maybe look into taking an electronics class with a guide to learn the units you have.

Top
#12529209 - 12/06/17 04:02 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
GIG'EM AGGIES Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 3771
Loc: texas
Don't give up just yet. Spend a couple hundred and get Slade at Lake Fork to show you and set up your HDS units. I have a Hook on the bow and they ain't that great. One of the Hook models won't take a Navionics card. You've got really good units, keep'em and learn.
_________________________
I am a Senager. (Senior teenager) I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 years later. I don’t have to go to school or work. I get an allowance every month. I don’t have a curfew I have a driver’s license,a car and I have a bass boat.


illegitimi non carborundum

Top
#12529312 - 12/06/17 05:07 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: GIG'EM AGGIES]
Gamblinman Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3636
Loc: Yantis, TX
Originally Posted By: GIG'EM AGGIES
Don't give up just yet. Spend a couple hundred and get Slade at Lake Fork to show you and set up your HDS units. I have a Hook on the bow and they ain't that great. One of the Hook models won't take a Navionics card. You've got really good units, keep'em and learn.


I agree. You have some very good units. Call Slade Daugherty and have him show you how to set-up and use your units. Best money you'll spend.

Top
#12529327 - 12/06/17 05:26 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
CowboyVet Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/26/14
Posts: 86
Loc: Drippin Springs
Jump on YouTube and watch some videos on your particular units. There are a lot of good instructional videos.

Top
#12529621 - 12/06/17 08:38 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
scruboak Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/11/03
Posts: 1292
Loc: Cisco,tx
hook2 In my opinion is just a sales tactic after the first hook units ..And a try to get back at garmin. Leave the poles at the house and just work on 1 unit until you have it figured out or get a trip with someone on your boat to show you how to dial it in.

Top
#12529643 - 12/06/17 08:58 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
K.D. Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 05/04/02
Posts: 14470
Loc: Hurst, TX
So let's say you're gonna lose $300 by selling those units. And when it's all said and done you'll have inferior units without as many features.

Take that same $300 you're gonna lose and hire James Biggs or Slade at Lake Fork and spend a day on the water with them learning how to use the HDS units. When it's done you'll still be out $300 but you'll have HDS units....AND know how to use them

Top
#12529735 - 12/06/17 10:28 PM Re: Multiple Lowrance units? [Re: vtile]
David Burton Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/14/11
Posts: 2320
Loc: McKinney, TX
Don't sell... I sent you a PM, Vtile.
_________________________
David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21

...and down goes PhotoBucket with the new Terms of Service... I predict they will be out of business or begging for forgiveness inside a month. 6/30/2017

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide