Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Big Cook, Coveinlet, tylerwhofishes, Best Kayak Labs, mpavlas
106522 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87131
hopalong 78821
Pilothawk 75799
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65901
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59028
Tritonman 57763
LoneStarSon® 53818
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106522 Members
61 Forums
864028 Topics
12278765 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12463207 - 10/12/17 12:45 PM Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed
Creekhead Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/18/14
Posts: 91
I currently have two Lowrance units set up on my Triton, an HDS 12 Gen 3 at the Console and HDS 9 Gen 2 at the bow. I recently purchased the structure scan 3D transducer and 3D Structure Scan Box. After I had the marine service center install the new transducer and box, I don't get any structure or down scan images. I figured out after talking to Lowrance tech support, that the technician didn't even have the 3D Structure Scan box powered up correctly.

I have since solved that problem of power to the box and get the green lights, but now when I have both graphs turned on at the same time, the one on the console looses voltage and resets itself. If I disconnect one of the two NEMA cables from the box both units will work, but only in 2D sonar.

Does anyone have any suggestions on this or has anyone experienced this voltage issue. If so how did you solve this. Could it be the 3D structure scan box?

Thanks in advance

Top
#12463270 - 10/12/17 02:01 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Muzzlebrake Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/26/14
Posts: 1630
Loc: Euless
Don't know who put it in and wired it up but I can tell you that the ground is the most overlooked important wire in the 12v DC system. Especially anything that pulls a high amp current. If I had a choice between 16ga for hot and 14ga for ground then the ground gets the bigger wire.
I have run double ground wires on Engine starters for high compression engines to help a stock starter along so as not to have to buy a higher KW starter.
I know this is a different kind of current draw but the principle is still the same. Once the voltage goes thru the hot wire and then thru the apparatus and hits a weak ground the voltage drop becomes exponential.
I would not use anything smaller than 16ga for any electronics wiring even though the pigtail connection wires from an apparatus may only be 18ga or 20ga. If I had some 14ga then that would be my ground wire.


Edited by Muzzlebrake (10/12/17 02:03 PM)
_________________________
From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then He made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!


Top
#12463286 - 10/12/17 02:10 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Muzzlebrake Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/26/14
Posts: 1630
Loc: Euless
Oh, and if you think battery voltage is low now, drop the Sonic Hub into the system, plug in your Ipod and turn on some ZZ Top music thru 4 speakers and a sub woofer and watch that voltage drop like a rock smile
In about one song the voltage is at 10.5
_________________________
From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then He made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!


Top
#12463293 - 10/12/17 02:13 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Creekhead Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/18/14
Posts: 91
Ha. I love ZZ Top. Thanks for the suggestion, but both of my graphs read 11.7 and 11.3 (console and bow) when the NMEA is unplugged from the Sonar Hub. The ground (coming from the Structure Scan Box) is the stock ground from the box. Everything from the batteries to the console was factory rigged by Triton.

Top
#12463496 - 10/12/17 05:05 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Gamblinman Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3048
Loc: Yantis, TX
Have your battery checked for load. Might be time for a new and/or bigger battery.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#12464181 - 10/13/17 10:06 AM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Muzzlebrake Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/26/14
Posts: 1630
Loc: Euless
Originally Posted By: Creekhead
Ha. I love ZZ Top. Thanks for the suggestion, but both of my graphs read 11.7 and 11.3 (console and bow) when the NMEA is unplugged from the Sonar Hub. The ground (coming from the Structure Scan Box) is the stock ground from the box. Everything from the batteries to the console was factory rigged by Triton.


Easy to add a parallel ground wire. Won't hurt a thing.
Many times the ground connections can be the culprit even on a new boat. Even the tiniest bit of corrosion will compromise the circuitry.
_________________________
From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then He made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!


Top
#12464314 - 10/13/17 11:42 AM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Creekhead Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/18/14
Posts: 91
Thanks for the suggestions. Will give it a shot

Top
#12464384 - 10/13/17 12:51 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
LakeForkBoatAccessories Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/15/16
Posts: 192
For a clean electrical install we prefer to go straight to the battery. Sometimes just upgrading the head units can tax a boats internal wiring.
_________________________
Lake Fork Boat Accessories
Bill 205-441-5399

Top
#12467415 - 10/16/17 10:28 AM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Jones Trolling Motor Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 05/01/11
Posts: 503
Loc: NE Texas/SW Arkansas
Originally Posted By: Creekhead

I have since solved that problem of power to the box and get the green lights, but now when I have both graphs turned on at the same time, the one on the console looses voltage and resets itself. If I disconnect one of the two NEMA cables from the box both units will work, but only in 2D sonar.

Does anyone have any suggestions on this or has anyone experienced this voltage issue. If so how did you solve this. Could it be the 3D structure scan box?

Thanks in advance

If it is OK when you disconnect the NMEA, it means the addition of the "box" is pulling more than the current wiring will handle. Since the NMEA is powered and suppling power to all the accessories, my guess is the NMEA is also getting it's power from the same source as the Depth finders, which is usually a junction strip. Use a 10ga wire harness (black and red)from the battery to a dedicated junction strip and connect the depthfinders and periphals to that junction strip.
John
_________________________

www.jonestrollingmotor.com
texarkana, Ark/Tx

Top
#12469695 - 10/18/17 04:47 AM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Hook setter Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/21/13
Posts: 107
Loc: Overton
If I turn off the autopilot feature mine will turn off and on like a voltage issue if I leave autopilot feature on it has no problem.

Top
#12484341 - 10/30/17 10:27 AM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Creekhead Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/18/14
Posts: 91
I would like to say a quick thank you to Lake Fork Boat Accessories. These guys met me at the ramp, and then fixed me up next day to solve my power issue with the graphs. They also set up the units to see crystal clear images. In fact it help us catch a giant fish in our tournament there Saturday. Thanks and I recommend them if you are in the area.

Top
#12484458 - 10/30/17 11:59 AM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
Muzzlebrake Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/26/14
Posts: 1630
Loc: Euless
Originally Posted By: Creekhead
I would like to say a quick thank you to Lake Fork Boat Accessories. These guys met me at the ramp, and then fixed me up next day to solve my power issue with the graphs. They also set up the units to see crystal clear images. In fact it help us catch a giant fish in our tournament there Saturday. Thanks and I recommend them if you are in the area.


Please tell us what they did to fix your voltage problem.
_________________________
From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then He made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!


Top
#12484958 - 10/30/17 06:54 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
LakeForkBoatAccessories Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/15/16
Posts: 192
The problem with the units was not a voltage issue. The installer left a cable connecting the units together. I'm pretty sure that was the problem. When I disconnected it on both ends the units worked properly.
_________________________
Lake Fork Boat Accessories
Bill 205-441-5399

Top
#12485023 - 10/30/17 07:49 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: LakeForkBoatAccessories]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6401
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: LakeForkBoatAccessories
The problem with the units was not a voltage issue. The installer left a cable connecting the units together. I'm pretty sure that was the problem. When I disconnected it on both ends the units worked properly.


The only cables that can connect both graphs are a nmea cable and the Ethernet cable. Either way you are going to lose some features or functions. Maybe the cable was bad, but most likely you need it.

Top
#12485058 - 10/30/17 08:15 PM Re: Lowrance Voltage Issues -- Advice Needed [Re: Creekhead]
LakeForkBoatAccessories Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/15/16
Posts: 192
With 3dss you don't need Ethernet from unit to unit. Ethernet goes from the module to each unit. You can connect up to 3 units.
_________________________
Lake Fork Boat Accessories
Bill 205-441-5399

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide