Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Charles Foster, LG_Support, Bking48, superlooper, Red River Slayer
108893 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89622
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76953
John175® 68902
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61288
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58268
LoneStarSon® 54733
Mark Perry 53654
facebook
Forum Stats
108893 Members
60 Forums
833047 Topics
12104719 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12457762 - 10/08/17 09:51 AM Problem with hum. 997
D.Brock Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 975
Loc: Flowermound, tx
My 997 started acting up about a week ago. The depth would start reading hundreds of feet and the pixels on side image and down image was all jacked up as well. Do y'all think it's the transducer going out or is it the unit. What are your thoughts?
_________________________
Daniel


Top
#12457772 - 10/08/17 10:02 AM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 10558
Loc: Lewisville Tx.

That is a pretty old unit. Have you tried resetting defaults? Sometimes that can and will correct some glitches along the way. If that does not correct it then possibly the transducer is going out.
_________________________

www.shut-up-and-fish.com
From *Sales to *Installation Services too *On the Water Education & Instructional Trips
We have you covered here @ shut-up-and-fish for all of your Humminbird, Lowrance,
Garmin, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs plus much more - Call Now 972 822 9285

Top
#12458619 - 10/08/17 09:18 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
D.Brock Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 975
Loc: Flowermound, tx
Will I lose my waypoints or trails when I reset to defaults
_________________________
Daniel


Top
#12458646 - 10/08/17 09:44 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 5268
Loc: Burleson,TX
Originally Posted By: D.Brock
Will I lose my waypoints or trails when I reset to defaults



no, but it is always good to back them up to an sd card...its really easy to do

Top
#12458692 - 10/08/17 10:32 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
Hog Jaw Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/09/08
Posts: 2645
Loc: The Great State of Texas
Transducer

Top
#12493716 - 11/05/17 09:26 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
D.Brock Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 975
Loc: Flowermound, tx
So I went out this weekend and did reset to default and it did not fix it. I did notice that whenever I would be sitting still it would work fine when I started moving it would mess up. Please tell me it’s an easy fix. Lol
_________________________
Daniel


Top
#12493778 - 11/05/17 11:32 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
Bobby Milam Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 3580
Loc: Arlington
Not sure exactly what you are seeing but here's some place to start. https://www.humminbird.com/faqDetail.aspx?id=3660

When I had a similar problem with interference from the trolling motor, I added chokes which helped some but most of the trouble came from the power cord on the trolling motor running too close to the fish finder. I finally relocated the FF further away and it cleared up.

Top
#12498213 - 11/09/17 03:03 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
Travis@BorisMarine Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/07/12
Posts: 1238
Loc: Lake Worth
We can test it here, and see if it's the transducer.
_________________________
Semper Fidelis
Boris Marine Electronics
5301 Azle Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76114.
(817) 624-3932
Monday thru Friday
10-6

Top
#12501018 - 11/12/17 09:17 AM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
D.Brock Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 975
Loc: Flowermound, tx
Do you just need the head unit to test it?
_________________________
Daniel


Top
#12503037 - 11/14/17 08:31 AM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: Travis@BorisMarine]
Mike Keenan Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/31/04
Posts: 10961
Loc: San Diego, Ca/ Sanger, Tx
Originally Posted By: Travis@BorisMarine
We can test it here, and see if it's the transducer.


On this same subject, by chance do you have the transducer shield / saver in stock?
_________________________
R.I.P. Mike "pappy" "broken rod" Green born 07-16-62 on to better fishing 06-10-08.


Top
#12511025 - 11/20/17 09:43 PM Re: Problem with hum. 997 [Re: D.Brock]
D.Brock Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/19/08
Posts: 975
Loc: Flowermound, tx
Come to find out my transducer was loose. Tighten it up and works fine now
_________________________
Daniel


Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide