Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
gwt11, Kocher007, 903 Angler, Bobby Meager, sheepdog
108666 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89360
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76797
John175® 68549
JDavis7873® 67391
Derek 🐝 60904
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58184
LoneStarSon® 54682
SkeeterRonnie 53537
facebook
Forum Stats
108666 Members
61 Forums
830346 Topics
12066112 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12422560 - 09/11/17 01:13 PM The cost of wiring up my shop.
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
I was quoted $2850 for the following:

100 amp service from my main panel to shop

2 x 240v plugs for compressor and welder

3 x quad boxes on ceiling for lights and exhaust fan

6 x quad boxes on side of th shop

2 x light switches.

Seems a little high to me. What do you guys think?


Edited by Moto-Moto (09/11/17 01:13 PM)

Top
#12422593 - 09/11/17 01:40 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Well this sucks.

Very few people visit DIY compared to the OT.

Top
#12422599 - 09/11/17 01:46 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Buddy E Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 07/30/01
Posts: 584
Loc: Mesquite, Texas, USA
does seem high to me as well, had a bid for some wiring not long ago. Outlet in soffit and another to be pigged of an inside plug to the patio. and to tie this in to the fuse box - where there was open breakers already available. Quote was 1300 for material and labor. a friend and I bought the stuff completed it in 4 hours for a cost of 175 if I remember correctly.
_________________________


Top
#12422635 - 09/11/17 01:58 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Roller22 Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 03/30/04
Posts: 6263
Loc: Justin, TX
Are they running conduit for everything? If so, probably about the norm.
_________________________
I Thes. 5:16-18

Top
#12422715 - 09/11/17 02:34 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Roller22]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Originally Posted By: Roller22
Are they running conduit for everything? If so, probably about the norm.


Yes sir. They are. I went ahead and went with it because they know metal buildings better than the other two companies that quoted.

Top
#12422772 - 09/11/17 03:11 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Hancock Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/06/12
Posts: 16357
Loc: Estonia
Depending on what it takes to get from the main panel to the shop that may be normal $$.

Top
#12423456 - 09/12/17 03:30 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
hopalong Offline
Pumpkin Head

Registered: 09/06/08
Posts: 78895
Loc: drake river ranch telephone T...
how many feet from the main to the shop panel location?

trenching, conduit, pulling appropriate wire then the hook up you described that could be a good price.

wire is not cheap anymore.
_________________________
lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479

Top
#12423650 - 09/12/17 09:16 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
COFF Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 08/22/06
Posts: 12170
Loc: Carrollton
Probably an upcharge for having to go to Krum.
_________________________

Top
#12423759 - 09/12/17 10:16 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: hopalong]
bronco71 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/05/06
Posts: 1542
Loc: Farmers Branch/Sulphur Bluff
Originally Posted By: hopalong
how many feet from the main to the shop panel location?

trenching, conduit, pulling appropriate wire then the hook up you described that could be a good price.

wire is not cheap anymore.

True, if it is any distance at all the wire is pricey. I need to do the same thing and the price of the wire for a 200 amp service is holding be back.

Top
#12424079 - 09/12/17 02:46 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
tx_basser Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/02/02
Posts: 3975
Loc: Sachse
Does not sound bad.. licensed electricians are expensive. Conduit, Sub Panel, Wire, Trenching if needed, etc. It can add up quick.

Top
#12424258 - 09/12/17 05:12 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
SoonerDG Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/15/02
Posts: 1598
Loc: Joshua, TX
I recently put similar service in my shop. Did the work myself. The materials cost me about $600 retail. Most of that ($450ish) for the wiring between the main panel and the shop.
_________________________
"Life is a matter of luck and the odds of success are in no way enhanced by extreme caution." - Erich Topp, German U-boat Commander, 1943.

When in doubt, set the hook.

Top
#12424491 - 09/12/17 08:05 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: hopalong]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Originally Posted By: hopalong
how many feet from the main to the shop panel location?

trenching, conduit, pulling appropriate wire then the hook up you described that could be a good price.

wire is not cheap anymore.


Actually, it's going up through the attic, then down, then trenched 12' to the shop.

Top
#12425709 - 09/13/17 08:05 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 7025
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Seems like a much more reasonable cost than $150 a barrel oil. peep

Top
#12430832 - 09/17/17 10:57 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Hog Jaw Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/09/08
Posts: 2615
Loc: The Great State of Texas
Bout right

Top
#12432296 - 09/19/17 01:04 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Devil Horse Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/24/11
Posts: 2568
Loc: East Texas
too high

Top
#12434303 - 09/20/17 12:53 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
butch sanders Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 03/17/05
Posts: 27212
Loc: Arlington, Texas
looks fair
you get what you pay for
& everybody that is quality has more work than they can handle

what do you want to save a couple of $100?

Top
#12449562 - 10/02/17 12:11 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
grandpa75672 Offline
Super Freak

Registered: 05/14/05
Posts: 51420
Loc: Elev 482 ft 33.03 �N, 96.14 ...
Are you worried about the building inspector?
You are multi talented and able bodied, why not do your own wiring?
_________________________
It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.... W.C.Fields

I know a little about a lot of things but not a whole lot about anything....CGD

Top
#12470791 - 10/18/17 09:57 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: grout-scout]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Seems like a much more reasonable cost than $150 a barrel oil. peep
roflmao cheers

Top
#12470793 - 10/18/17 09:58 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: butch sanders]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Originally Posted By: butch sanders
looks fair
you get what you pay for
& everybody that is quality has more work than they can handle

what do you want to save a couple of $100?


Agreed sir. They did grest work. And got it done in about 6 hours.

Top
#12470795 - 10/18/17 09:59 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: grandpa75672]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Originally Posted By: grandpa75672
Are you worried about the building inspector?
You are multi talented and able bodied, why not do your own wiring?


Gotta admit gpa....electrical isn't my thing. Especially after the house fire.

Also, an electrician had to pull the permit with the city

Top
#12475185 - 10/22/17 07:25 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
txshotgun Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 03/27/11
Posts: 3721
Loc: Argyle, TX
Originally Posted By: Moto-Moto
Originally Posted By: grandpa75672
Are you worried about the building inspector?
You are multi talented and able bodied, why not do your own wiring?


Gotta admit gpa....electrical isn't my thing. Especially after the house fire.

Also, an electrician had to pull the permit with the city


What city? I thought you lived in Krum?
_________________________
Recycle! Become an organ donor!


Top
#12475457 - 10/23/17 06:17 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
patriot07 Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/20/10
Posts: 19406
Loc: chateau d'if
It's a little high for sure, but that's contractors now-a-days.

Conduit is really expensive. But 6 years ago, it probably would have cost half that.
_________________________
Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.
- Soren Kierkegaard

Top
#12475585 - 10/23/17 08:54 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
redchevy Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/25/05
Posts: 7138
Loc: texas
Had my shop wired a little over a year ago. 100 amp service, all cooper wire, 6 sets of 8-foot t8 fluorescent lights, 6 sets of quad plugs all in metal conduit. I paid $900 for labor for my neighbor across the street (licensed electrician) to put it in and was given all materials free. Also had 2 240 plugs for welder.

I think your price sounds very reasonable materials and installation included. I trenched and buried the conduit from utility pole to garage about 150 feet and helped do the initial pull of wire into the shop.


Edited by redchevy (10/23/17 08:55 AM)

Top
#12486708 - 10/31/17 08:40 PM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: txshotgun]
Moto-Moto Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/25/09
Posts: 27264
Loc: Krum, TX
Originally Posted By: txshotgun
Originally Posted By: Moto-Moto
Originally Posted By: grandpa75672
Are you worried about the building inspector?
You are multi talented and able bodied, why not do your own wiring?


Gotta admit gpa....electrical isn't my thing. Especially after the house fire.

Also, an electrician had to pull the permit with the city


What city? I thought you lived in Krum?


Yes sir. Krum America

Top
#12487470 - 11/01/17 09:43 AM Re: The cost of wiring up my shop. [Re: Moto-Moto]
Freeman Clark Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/18/05
Posts: 1375
Loc: Temple, Texas
If it was me. I would do it myself.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide