Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
NTHawg, Jacobo78, ACFishing, fishandgolf, Randy L Irby
108231 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88884
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76459
John175® 67842
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60883
Derek 🐝 60465
Tritonman 58049
LoneStarSon® 54518
SkeeterRonnie 53417
facebook
Forum Stats
108231 Members
60 Forums
863835 Topics
12306058 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12421575 - 09/10/17 06:57 PM Heading Sensor
Sandblaster Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 389
Loc: Lake Lavon
Where has everyone mounted there heading sensor and why did you pick that spot? I've noticed most people have them mounted up at the bow of the boat or console or on the back deck near the motor. I'm asking because I just don't know why people put them in different places.
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12421642 - 09/10/17 07:30 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
44 Diesel Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 5207
Loc: Burleson,TX
which heading sensor? The fish finder heading sensor in a perfect situation would be best at the transom ,closet place to the transducer for the best accuracy. But not all able to go there due magnetic interference. The trolling heading sensor for a trolling motor can go anywhere there is no interference and it can get a good signal. I have my fish finder heading sensor near the console just cause it was easy to install and no interference. I fish areas(humps , points , ridges so being in a exact spot doesn't concern me. If I were to fish brush piles or precise structure it would be best on the transom. Putting one the bow would be beneficial if you are marking waypoints with the trolling motor transducer. It really comes down to what and how you fish


Edited by 44 Diesel (09/10/17 07:32 PM)

Top
#12421875 - 09/10/17 09:09 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
SteezMacQueen Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 5673
Loc: Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
On my last boat, I mounted my Ultrex sensor on the console. On the new boat, it's on the bow. Both times were decided by convenience. The power source was readily available. Makes no difference as long as the arrow is inline with the direction of the boat.
_________________________
Eat. Sleep. Fish.

Top
#12422520 - 09/11/17 12:42 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: SteezMacQueen]
forkduc Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 03/28/07
Posts: 11861
Loc: Plano,Texas
mine is on the transom

Top
#12422873 - 09/11/17 04:17 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 389
Loc: Lake Lavon
Do you have to have a heading sensor for the unit near the trolling motor and then another one for the console unit or can you have one heading sensor for both units?
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12422970 - 09/11/17 05:24 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
44 Diesel Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 5207
Loc: Burleson,TX
Depends on what brand and models of graphs you have

Top
#12423135 - 09/11/17 07:42 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 389
Loc: Lake Lavon
44 Diseal What if you have Lowrance units with GPS point 1?
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12423137 - 09/11/17 07:43 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 389
Loc: Lake Lavon
Front unit is Lowrance HDS 8 Gen 2 and Console unit is Lowrance HDS 12 Gen 3
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12426153 - 09/14/17 08:27 AM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
dimitri Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/12/09
Posts: 2219
Loc: Arlington TX
no need for 2 heading sensors since the point 1 is on your nmea network it can be used by any unit thats on the network .

Top
#12426828 - 09/14/17 04:35 PM Re: Heading Sensor [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Offline
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 389
Loc: Lake Lavon
Thanks dimitri
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide