Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cooperguy, GT411TX, Cobra_Man_73, bigriver, Earvin
106368 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86925
hopalong 78792
Pilothawk 75577
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65731
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58863
Tritonman 57721
LoneStarSon® 53708
SkeeterRonnie 53103
facebook
Forum Stats
106368 Members
61 Forums
812004 Topics
10251682 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12418340 - 09/07/17 07:10 PM Lowrance Gurus
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/28/17
Posts: 26
Loc: Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
Can any of you Lowrance Gen 3 or later experts tell me if individual lat/long or a string of lat/longs be entered into the unit? Specifically can I enter a string of them as a trail or boat lane for lack of a better descriptor?

Top
#12418381 - 09/07/17 08:00 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
K.D. Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 05/04/02
Posts: 13825
Loc: Hurst, TX
http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=722310

I bookmarked this post when I had the same question

Top
#12419129 - 09/08/17 11:07 AM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
SKEETER_MAN_225 Online   happy
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/25/07
Posts: 3176
Loc: TEXAS
Yes,
you can enter them manually.
there is a feature that allows you save a trail while running and it will not be deleted.
but I have yet to explore that option.


Edited by SKEETER_MAN_225 (09/08/17 11:08 AM)
_________________________
Pete B. Hernandez
Matthew 4:19

www.tackledepot.com

Top
#12420304 - 09/09/17 03:08 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/28/17
Posts: 26
Loc: Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
I'm going to answer my own post. Yes you can mark up trails and polygons and roads and such in Google Earth and then import these items into a Lowrance unit. I am interested in this in particular because of seeing Lake Palestine at a low level in the 2011 Google Earth image. I marked creek beds and trails up the Neches, a lane across the lake along the highlands and then into Kickapoo. And, the creek bed up Kickapoo. By the way, anybody is reckless or insane if they try to run in these areas or into Flat Creek in that lake. To make a long story short, you have to:
a. mark up an object like a path or trail
b. select it and save it as a KMZ (zipped file)
c. with an unzip utility, unzip it (changes to a KLM file)
d. with a utility (I used GPSBabel) transform it into a USR (Lowrance File).
e. save it to a microSD card
f. load it into the Lowrance unit.
g. rename and color appropriately

It does work

Top
#12422617 - 09/11/17 01:53 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
B.Hollingshead Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/11/09
Posts: 1910
Loc: ft.worth
You have to change the shade relief on your graph to show up on the imaging
_________________________
Branden Hollingshead

30-DD's and counting

Top
#12423390 - 09/11/17 10:21 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/28/17
Posts: 26
Loc: Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
I haven't tried to bring in an actual satellite image. But it would be cool if that works.

Top
#12424702 - 09/12/17 10:26 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
LittleGazoo Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 856
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
Originally Posted By: LakeTylerMan
I haven't tried to bring in an actual satellite image. But it would be cool if that works.

Yes you can to that, but probably better not.

Normally I will begin a new daily trail. Later, if I desire to save a track-segment, I will take the trail through Google Earth and create the track-segment of interest, then I will take it through Reefmaster and merge it into trails of a like-kind.

Long time ago, I had over 45 road-bed tracks, but I merged them with Reefmaster into just one track. Same for boat-runs, boat-paths, creeks and structure...


Edited by LittleGazoo (09/12/17 11:03 PM)

Top
#12424727 - 09/12/17 11:36 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
Chris Coufal Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1435
Loc: Austin, Tx
You can make a path/boat lane off GE and then transfer it to your unit. You can either mark out a path using WP's or you can actually make a trail. I have done both and both serve their purpose. The only bad part about creating a route/trail and then uploading it, is that it will default to a random color once uploaded.

[img]http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/pics..._37875253308123[/img]
_________________________
-Chris-



Top
#12424728 - 09/12/17 11:38 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
Chris Coufal Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1435
Loc: Austin, Tx
You can make a path/boat lane off GE and then transfer it to your unit. You can either mark out a path using WP's or you can actually make a trail. I have done both and both serve their purpose. The only bad part about creating a route/trail and then uploading it, is that it will default to a random color once uploaded.

[img]http://www.texasfishingforum.com/forums/..._37875253308123[/img]
_________________________
-Chris-



Top
#12424763 - 09/13/17 05:24 AM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
JG ZX250 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/11/08
Posts: 902
Loc: Texas
Good info guys.
_________________________
Taking 5 to the weigh-in occurs when opportunity meets successful execution of one's preparation.

Top
#12424773 - 09/13/17 06:12 AM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/28/17
Posts: 26
Loc: Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
Gazoo, From I can tell, ReefMaster does not work on a Mac.

Top
#12425035 - 09/13/17 10:13 AM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: Chris Coufal]
LittleGazoo Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/22/10
Posts: 856
Loc: Big Sandy, TX
Originally Posted By: Chris Coufal
The only bad part about creating a route/trail and then uploading it, is that it will default to a random color once uploaded.

Use USRv4 or USRv5. Both those formats will retain track color thru export/import. Both also support 20,000 maximum track-points per track. USRv3 and earlier do not.

Top
#12425054 - 09/13/17 10:21 AM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
Joefishin Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 09/29/03
Posts: 12762
Loc: Plano, Tx
Originally Posted By: LakeTylerMan
I'm going to answer my own post. Yes you can mark up trails and polygons and roads and such in Google Earth and then import these items into a Lowrance unit. I am interested in this in particular because of seeing Lake Palestine at a low level in the 2011 Google Earth image. I marked creek beds and trails up the Neches, a lane across the lake along the highlands and then into Kickapoo. And, the creek bed up Kickapoo. By the way, anybody is reckless or insane if they try to run in these areas or into Flat Creek in that lake. To make a long story short, you have to:
a. mark up an object like a path or trail
b. select it and save it as a KMZ (zipped file)
c. with an unzip utility, unzip it (changes to a KLM file)
d. with a utility (I used GPSBabel) transform it into a USR (Lowrance File).
e. save it to a microSD card
f. load it into the Lowrance unit.
g. rename and color appropriately

It does work


Under Translation options, you have Waypoints, Routes and Tracks. Which ones do you select? I 'think' I have had problems with Tracks in the past because they are different than Trails.

Thanks
_________________________
http://www.denalirods.com
“Some men fish all their lives without knowing it is not really the fish they are after.” -Henry David Thoreau

Top
#12425317 - 09/13/17 02:18 PM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LakeTylerMan]
LakeTylerMan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/28/17
Posts: 26
Loc: Arp, Texas Lake Tyler
I have not spent much time considering how my pins generated in GE are stored in the unit. By nature, I'm not that organized. In GE a long line like a creek or river bed imports with the look of a trail though may be defined as something else in the unit. Areas ( a GE polygon) such as the saddle between a point an an adjacent hump is just a shape. Again, I'm not sure what it is stored as in the unit. I've also marked public and private ramps and areas of rocks around a bulkhead because I commonly fish around them They are lines or shapes. Also on low water images, I've marked individual laydowns as line segments. Take a look at the imagery of Brandy Branch Reservoir (in East Texas) with the 2012 imagery and note the abundance of laydowns along the shore. I marked and imported these as small line segments. These will show up on my Navionics map but will not be visible on the water and will be areas of focus when I fish there.

I'll look into Routes and Tracks in more detail and determine if I need to assign a particular feature I've captured into these categories.

Top
#12428652 - 09/16/17 10:47 AM Re: Lowrance Gurus [Re: LittleGazoo]
Chris Coufal Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1435
Loc: Austin, Tx
Originally Posted By: LittleGazoo
Originally Posted By: Chris Coufal
The only bad part about creating a route/trail and then uploading it, is that it will default to a random color once uploaded.

Use USRv4 or USRv5. Both those formats will retain track color thru export/import. Both also support 20,000 maximum track-points per track. USRv3 and earlier do not.


Unless that's been corrected within the past few updates, that is not correct. I make a lot of predefined trails using GE around grass lines, channels, drains (not visible on Nav card) and upload them. Usually upload 40 to 50 at a time. When I import them (using any version), they randomly import as every color pattern. I like to use the color to show what it is....green = grass line, white = rock, ect ect. When they end up on my unit they NEVER go in the same color. I have to manually change them on my unit once uploaded (which is why I name them accordingly to know what they are).
_________________________
-Chris-



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide