Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
FinAddictAngler, ATXNoobFisher, Jamesg1211987, whunt, R Ham
105892 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86309
hopalong 78517
Pilothawk 75148
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 65032
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58479
Tritonman 57641
LoneStarSon® 53397
SkeeterRonnie 53007
facebook
Forum Stats
105892 Members
60 Forums
854610 Topics
12171974 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12417328 - 09/06/17 11:10 PM Snaking transducer wire
joho5 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2698
Loc: Abbott, TX
What's y'all's methods of getting the transducer wire from console to back of boat on bass boat that doesn't have good access? Wires are ran in wall on mine but there is a good 4 to 5 foot you can't get to.

Cable snake? Using old wire to tape and pull?

Top
#12417359 - 09/07/17 12:06 AM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
jbobo Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/13
Posts: 2375
Loc: springtown,tx.
Electricians pull tape. 1/4" wide steel on a reel. Fish it through from the console back to where you can reach it, use electrical tape or duct tape after lapping it about 12" or so. Be sure and tape the end if transducer connection and pull tape in case you have to back up some. Don't pull hard. It is best for someone to feed slack from the back while you pull gently.
Sometimes a stiff piece of wire will work but it comes apart easier if it hangs up.


Edited by jbobo (09/07/17 12:07 AM)
_________________________
22 ft. Wellcraft Deep V CC
817-220-2312
Bridgeport/Eagle Mountain/Possum Kingdom/ Lake Texoma
www.bobosguideservice.com
www.bobosthumper.com
www.nekidtackle.com Home of the RonRig!

Top
#12417412 - 09/07/17 06:04 AM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
ring fry Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/02
Posts: 5595
Loc: Fort Scott, Ks.
And pull an extra piece of wire or light rope through and leave it in there. That way the next time you change transducers or want to add something to your battery, it's already there. You can just tape and pull.

SE Kansas grass grower
_________________________
2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS


Top
#12417593 - 09/07/17 08:35 AM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
BAllen91 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 03/28/17
Posts: 13
Just did this on my Skeeter..not fun. Couldn't have done it with out the snake wheel. Look for compartments or storage areas on that side that can be removed to help. I have a little storage box next to my seat we were able to take out with four screws and it helped big time.

Top
#12417725 - 09/07/17 10:30 AM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
Jones Trolling Motor Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/01/11
Posts: 484
Loc: NE Texas/SW Arkansas
Don't use a metal snake. Runs the risk of knocking a connection loose and/or shorting across wires with the metal. go to Harbor Freight and get the 3' fiberglass fish tape rods that screw together (apx $10.00). they're stiff enough to push through the area needed. Tape the transducer to the end of the rod. Make you a "wedge" from hard plastic about the size of the connection you taped to the rod and tape it in front of the transducer connection, put dishwasher liquid on the tape and gently pull.
John
_________________________

www.jonestrollingmotor.com
texarkana, Ark/Tx

Top
#12418659 - 09/07/17 10:53 PM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
Gamblinman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2758
Loc: Yantis, TX
old fiberglass fishing rod.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#12418860 - 09/08/17 07:34 AM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
joebass2 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 3864
Loc: Lewisville, texas
I used a coat hanger. Of course, you work from the transom to the console and pull the connector. What Jbobo said - very important to protect the transducer connector. Tape is cheap.

Top
#12420517 - 09/09/17 06:34 PM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
Slab Killa Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/05/08
Posts: 102
Fish tape

Top
#12421684 - 09/10/17 07:46 PM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
psycho0819 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/05
Posts: 1494
Loc: Kaufman
If there's a single wire in there you can pull out temporarily, unhook one end of it and tape a stout string or wire to it. Pull it out, tape transducer wire to it, leaving the wire taped to it, and pull it all back in, done.
_________________________
If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space!

Top
#12424369 - 09/12/17 06:44 PM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
crankbait745 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/02/12
Posts: 757
Loc: Forney
I run a tape measure through them tape wiring to it.

Top
#12427774 - 09/15/17 02:01 PM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
Canny Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/18/10
Posts: 50
Loc: Lufkin, TX
When I ran my transducer for my humminbird I used a piece of 12ga copper wire that I took out of some 12/3 Romex. Worked pretty well despite only actually needing it for about 3' of run where I couldn't get to.
_________________________
Cross her eyes, and dot her T's

Top
#12427786 - 09/15/17 02:11 PM Re: Snaking transducer wire [Re: joho5]
V-Bottom Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/18/16
Posts: 1513
Loc: Galv. Cnty
Connect a piece of thin rope with E-tape to the old connector end that goes to the unit. Pull old cable thru the hull gently with "2" ropes attached. Once it reaches the area at the transom,, connect the new connector end to one piece of rope..pull back thru....leaving the other rope for future use.
_________________________
Texas Anglers Recognition Program
TPWD Official Weigh Station,77563
Coastal Bend Weigh Team, Cert. Weigh Master
USMC66'- Trout Support.com






Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide