Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Big Cook, Coveinlet, tylerwhofishes, Best Kayak Labs, mpavlas
106522 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87132
hopalong 78821
Pilothawk 75799
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65904
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59028
Tritonman 57764
LoneStarSon® 53818
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106522 Members
61 Forums
864040 Topics
12278929 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12384892 - 08/13/17 07:52 PM Lowrance GPS Point 1
Sandblaster Online   content
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 321
Loc: Lake Lavon
How many people on here have the Lowrance GPS Point 1? What is your opinion of it? Please tell me the pros and cons. I am think about eventually getting one, I have only spoke to one person that has one and he had good things to say about it.
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12384922 - 08/13/17 08:10 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
SLABXPRESS Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/17/02
Posts: 1973
Loc: Teague/Lewisville, Texas
Worth the investment!
It speeds up the rate of your location input. As a result your position shown on your unit updates much quicker. As a result you become much more accurate locating your waypoints.
I added one on my old HDS8 Gen2, and it made a huge difference. Probably 5 times faster.
Plus you get to choose the location of the puck, which can help as well.
_________________________

Top
#12384928 - 08/13/17 08:17 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Online   content
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 321
Loc: Lake Lavon
Slabexpress does it work on both units or just one? I mean I have a unit up front near my trolling motor and one on the console, so do I need two pucks or just one?


Edited by Sandblaster (08/13/17 08:17 PM)
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12384968 - 08/13/17 08:47 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
Slewfoot Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/27/02
Posts: 2698
Loc: E Texas
Dang it. Been considering one.

Top
#12385104 - 08/13/17 10:55 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
Turismon Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/20/09
Posts: 91
You have 2 HDS unit? You can use on both, but I prefer to use it in the middle for the directional compass it has built in, that's the thing that helps the most. The GPS updating isn't much faster after they released a firmware to speed it up, but the compass is god send for updating direction of boat in real time.

I use the front HDS unit GPS for positioning over points and the xi5 just goes to the cords you tell it to using it's own gps.

So to answer question you can use it for both units.

Top
#12385113 - 08/13/17 11:05 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Online   content
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 321
Loc: Lake Lavon
What all is needed? The starter kit and the antenna(puck)?
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12385133 - 08/13/17 11:38 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
SLABXPRESS Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/17/02
Posts: 1973
Loc: Teague/Lewisville, Texas
Originally Posted By: Sandblaster
Slabexpress does it work on both units or just one? I mean I have a unit up front near my trolling motor and one on the console, so do I need two pucks or just one?

Yes, you can use the one puck for both unit. I don't like that setup, but you can do it. My tourney partner has his setup that way with the puck just in from of the driver's console. I don't like it because the puck is not located near either transducer. So when he looks at his console graph, his waypoint on the screen is in front of him. When he's at the TM and sees structure on the graph, the waypoint on the screen is behind him.
I could set mine up that way, but I chose not to. I want my puck located as close to that rear transducer as possible. That way, my waypoint matches up exactly with the location of the structure. Once I'm on top of the structure, I can either drop a buoy or just use my TM graph. I use the built in antenna on it and mark all the waypoints separately when I'm directly over them. You don't need the faster updating on the TM unit because you're moving so slow.

The directional compass updating Turismon mentioned is definitely one of the big keys. So if you can picture it... the symbol representing your boat on the screen will turn much faster, which really helps as you approach waypoints. You can hit a BP right on the money with your first pass, instead of circling like a dog chasing his tail. smile

Assuming you already have the backbone for your units, you'll probably just need another "T" and maybe an extension(depending on where you locate the puck, although I didn't need one)
Hope that helps!
_________________________

Top
#12385162 - 08/14/17 01:44 AM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
Sandblaster Online   content
Angler

Registered: 09/06/11
Posts: 321
Loc: Lake Lavon
Slabxpress would you recommend just having the GPS Point 1 hooked up to the console unit and not also the TM unit? I guess I don't need it on my TM unit?
_________________________
"It has been said that the Lord does not count the days spent fishing against your total allotment."

Top
#12385191 - 08/14/17 05:55 AM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
Gamblinman Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3048
Loc: Yantis, TX
If both units have internal GPS receivers, you can set the Point One to use the GPS data off either unit and use the directional compass from the other unit.

No need for 2 Point One antennas on the same boat.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#12385371 - 08/14/17 09:24 AM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 404
Loc: Ft Wth
I have my Point-1 installed on the back of the boat directly over the transducer. It is connected to both the console and bow HDS's via NMEA. The console unit is setup to use the GPS antenna and the compass/heading sensor from the Point-1. The bow unit is setup to use its internal antenna for GPS and the Point-1 for it heading sensor. Make sure that you check the Point-1 mounting location with a compass prior to permanently mounting it to make sure there is no EMI to interfere with the heading sensor. I mounted mine with double sided tape and it has been that way for several years.

Top
#12385427 - 08/14/17 10:22 AM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4972
Loc: Lewisville
I have my Point 1 mounted at the bow and both my FF use the Point 1. I do this so when I mark a brushpile off either unit, it uses the coordinates at the Point 1 which is right next to the TM and is more accurate than the FF.



I also have the 'Go To' function (Gateway tied into both FFs and the Xi5) so if I mark a brushpile it is within a foot of the TM and when I tell the Xi5 to 'Go To' the mark, it is within a foot or so. Just an example, I took a friend crappie fishing on Saturday and we would find a pile on side image around 40 feet out and would mark it on the FF at the console (transducer is a LSS-2 mounted on the Jack plate) then drop the TM and send it over to the pile and would end up right on top of it on Anchor Mode or only have to move a foot or so to dial in the BP. No having to throw a buoy marker or trying to figure out how far the mark is off because I marked it at the back of the boat. And keep in mind, it may be 2X off if you come at it from the opposite direction.

It also helps tremendously with the heading sensor as mentioned above but more importantly the icon doesn't spin all around when honing in on your waypoints.

Top
#12385467 - 08/14/17 10:56 AM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
mayor (crappiepete) Online   happy
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/06/10
Posts: 1043
Loc: Berryville, Tx
I have the Point 1 mounted on the console with the Lowrance Touch 7. Lowrance tech confirmed that the target is defined by the location of the point 1. So with My point 1 mounted on the console I can toss the marker over the side by the point 1. Also it marked a straight line thus faster and closer to the target. Yes it does help!!!
_________________________
Using the site for a while...this is really great to share fishing ideas and success with others.

Top
#12385609 - 08/14/17 12:45 PM Re: Lowrance GPS Point 1 [Re: Sandblaster]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2007
Loc: Plano, TX
Just do a search on 'point-1'; less than one year. You will get a lot of good info.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Jimmy

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide