Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
0700, Gary Bowman ( Catfish), Msing48, mrdeath, Huizarr
106532 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87148
hopalong 78833
Pilothawk 75799
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65912
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59029
Tritonman 57767
LoneStarSon® 53826
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106532 Members
61 Forums
814167 Topics
10280502 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12379588 - 08/09/17 06:12 PM point 1 on gen 1
heybaylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/24/05
Posts: 1781
Loc: Lake Fork
put a point 1 on two gen 1 Hds 5
surprised to find out that the refresh rate (set on one second) went from updating, every one second to 3-4 seconds with the point 1 hooked up
wow thought it would be better ..
someone tell me why ?
_________________________
heybaylor

Top
#12379599 - 08/09/17 06:17 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6412
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Go back in and change the refresh rate (update time) to every second.

Top
#12380482 - 08/10/17 11:09 AM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
heybaylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/24/05
Posts: 1781
Loc: Lake Fork
I did using trails/menu/settings/time/1 second....?
doing a circle , the screen moves (refresh's) every one second using internal hd5 antenna.
hook up point 1, unit sees it, now doing circle refresh's every 3-4 seconds


Edited by heybaylor (08/10/17 11:13 AM)
_________________________
heybaylor

Top
#12380558 - 08/10/17 12:18 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
Rob Jasper Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 561
Loc: Arlington, TX
Don't think you will get all the benefits of the Point-1 with Gen-1 product.
_________________________
Rob Jasper

Top
#12380929 - 08/10/17 04:30 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: Rob Jasper]
heybaylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/24/05
Posts: 1781
Loc: Lake Fork
Originally Posted By: Rob Jasper
Don't think you will get all the benefits of the Point-1 with Gen-1 product.



I think you are correct...so far =none
_________________________
heybaylor

Top
#12381227 - 08/10/17 08:29 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6412
Loc: Boerne, Texas
It's supposed to refresh at 5mhz, the gen2 is 10mhz. I don't see why it wouldn't update a 1 time per second, but I have never hooked my gen1 up to my point1 so maybe it's too old for the software????

Does the heading sensor part still work like its supposed to? If yes, the just make the graph use its gps and use the point1 for heading only.

Top
#12381650 - 08/11/17 08:02 AM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: grout-scout]
heybaylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/24/05
Posts: 1781
Loc: Lake Fork
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
It's supposed to refresh at 5mhz, the gen2 is 10mhz. I don't see why it wouldn't update a 1 time per second, but I have never hooked my gen1 up to my point1 so maybe it's too old for the software????

Does the heading sensor part still work like its supposed to? If yes, the just make the graph use its gps and use the point1 for heading only.


thanks for the reply, yes the heading sensor works, think maybe its time for a upgrade
_________________________
heybaylor

Top
#12381738 - 08/11/17 08:46 AM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 404
Loc: Ft Wth
I used my Point-1 with HDS Gen-1 units for several years and never observed the lag that you seem to be experiencing. The refresh rate seemed to be the same whether using the internal antenna or the Point-1. Now as for the heading sensor, well that was a game changer and worth every penny.

Top
#12381759 - 08/11/17 09:02 AM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6412
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Yes sir, if a person ever fishes offshore then the heading sensor is awesome. If any of you fellas have ever had your graph start spinning in circles, you'd benefit from a point 1.

Top
#12383471 - 08/12/17 02:54 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2007
Loc: Plano, TX
I switched to gen 2 and 3 this year. Prior years, I ran gen 1 and installed a Point-1 about 2 years or so ago. The refresh rate drastically improved as I was told by Lowrance it would. Gen 1 refreshes from internal gps 1 time per second, with Point-1, 5 times a second (but no heading). With gen 2, it refreshes internally every 5 times/second. With Point-1, it refreshes 10 times a second with heading. Gen 3 internal refreshes 10 times a second so no improvement as 10 times/sec is supposed to be the latest technology available (at least for civilian) but no faster with a Point-1 but the Point-1 as with G2 provides heading. I have a G2 and G3 connected via NEMA 2k to the Point-1.

Your refresh should be faster than 3-4 times/seconds connected to Point-1 with Gen 1. My Point-1 is located on the stern away from any interference. Location of Point-1, cloud cover, magnetic proximity, number and angle of satellites recognized, etc., can impact true performance.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Jimmy

Top
#12383833 - 08/12/17 08:12 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 404
Loc: Ft Wth
UJC,

Not sure what you mean by "but no heading" on the Gen-1 units. The Point-1 heading sensor worked fine with my Gen-1 units.

Top
#12385604 - 08/14/17 12:42 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2007
Loc: Plano, TX
Mak747, the Gen 1 does not have the internal software for heading up. The faster refresh (from 1 to 5 times/sec) vastly improves it but your map with the boat will not necessarily always be pointing in the direction of the bow. Just as I saw an immediate improvement in heading towards a wpt with the faster refresh, I also saw the same improvement in the directional when I went to Gen 2 and 3 and the faster refresh updates Gen 2/3 provides, Gen 3 not so much. I'm probably not referring to heading up with the correct term.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Jimmy

Top
#12387277 - 08/15/17 04:39 PM Re: point 1 on gen 1 [Re: heybaylor]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 404
Loc: Ft Wth
UJC,

That was not my experience when using the Gen1 units with the Point-1. I kept my HDS units set to "Heading up" and the boat icon always pointed in the proper direction. Without the Point-1 the icon would point in whichever direction the boat was moving which if drifting sideways or backwards would be the wrong direction. Below is the information which Lowrance provided regarding the limitations of running the Point-1 with the Gen1 HDS units.

Will Point-1 work with my HDS Gen1?
The Point-1 antenna/heading sensor is a standard NMEA2000® device. Therefore, it will connect to any NMEA2000® backbone and communicate with any NMEA device on that same network. The HDS Gen2 models, both keypad and touch, with software version 2.0 or higher will have GPS damping and filtering features, as well as the ability to initiate heading calibration from the HDS, that will not be present in any HDS Gen1.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide