Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
cmercertx, Texoma Striper Fishing, Paw17, RTYWER, shanester
105898 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86318
hopalong 78529
Pilothawk 75150
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 65046
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58485
Tritonman 57642
LoneStarSon® 53399
SkeeterRonnie 53007
facebook
Forum Stats
105898 Members
60 Forums
854662 Topics
12169160 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12382854 - 08/11/17 09:45 PM humminbird Helix series question
joho5 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/03/08
Posts: 2702
Loc: Abbott, TX
Say I have a Helix 5 SI at the console of my boat. Can I buy a Helix 7 DI to save some money and put the Helix 5 at the trolling motor with the 2d/DI transducer and use the existing SI transducer for the bigger screen unit...the Helix 7?

Reason I ask is I may buy a boat that has a Helix 5 at the console. I would want that on the trolling motor but just DI is fine...I want a bigger screen for SI. So I would just want to buy Helix 7 DI and switch the transducers.

Top
#12383079 - 08/12/17 06:01 AM Re: humminbird Helix series question [Re: joho5]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3741
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
No.
Adding a transducer does not add technology/features.
The units have the circuits and software to support their standard transducer.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
#12385244 - 08/14/17 07:32 AM Re: humminbird Helix series question [Re: joho5]
Ian f Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/05/15
Posts: 199
You would need to buy a si unit

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide