Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Njsowden, Angler.Dangler, Jmantey, Cankor, Andrew's Fly Fishing
108460 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89127
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76605
John175® 68185
JDavis7873® 67391
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Derek 🐝 60701
Tritonman 58119
LoneStarSon® 54603
SkeeterRonnie 53487
facebook
Forum Stats
108460 Members
61 Forums
777678 Topics
10031189 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12371433 - 08/03/17 05:12 PM Replacing switchbox
Hittmanfish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 05/28/14
Posts: 375
Loc: Arlington
I have to replace one of the switch boxes on my outboard. It seems relatively simple to replace. Any advice that you can offer on replacing them?

It looks like amazon has multiple aftermarket ones, but no OEM. My mechanic suggested sticking with OEM, especially since it's electrical. Would you agree with his statement? $50 aftermarket vs $200 OEM, but I don't want to cheap out on something that could cause more damage to my outborad. The part # is 332-7778A12.

Thanks for your help.

Top
#12371690 - 08/03/17 08:17 PM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Hittmanfish]
TLW Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/16/06
Posts: 2333
Loc: ft worth
been several "discussions 'bout this over on S&F and oher performance sites.. most seem ta have pretty good results with tha cdi stuff... but this mostly on sub 8000 rpm motors.. all tha rest, myself included when i was inta tha stuff, was oem for tha expensive hot rod motors..... jmo

bad box won't usually do any damage, jus make it run like a turd....


Edited by TLW (08/03/17 08:18 PM)

Top
#12371988 - 08/04/17 12:54 AM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Hittmanfish]
CraZyNOTRT Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/04/13
Posts: 83
Loc: McKinney, Tx
I'm running cheap 50$ switch boxes on my old 84 Merc blackmax 150( same part number as you). I bought mine from brelectrical on Ebay. They have been working with out any issues for the past 6 months.
But if money isn't an issue go CDI.


Edited by CraZyNOTRT (08/04/17 01:03 AM)

Top
#12375816 - 08/07/17 09:11 AM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Hittmanfish]
Hittmanfish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 05/28/14
Posts: 375
Loc: Arlington
Thanks for the replies... I found CDI brand on Amazon for $50... and Walmart has Mercury/Quicksilver OEM for $200. Has anyone else used the aftermarket with success?

I've read a few threads saying that both switch boxes should be replaced at the same time. Any truth to this?

Top
#12376095 - 08/07/17 12:20 PM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Hittmanfish]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 8058
Loc: Rockwall
Originally Posted By: Hittmanfish
Thanks for the replies... I found CDI brand on Amazon for $50... and Walmart has Mercury/Quicksilver OEM for $200. Has anyone else used the aftermarket with success?

I've read a few threads saying that both switch boxes should be replaced at the same time. Any truth to this?
I would only replace the one that is bad. That is what I did. I believe that people think if one failed then the other is close. I do not believe this is true with electronics. The one I replaced was 20 years old. The other one was going on 31 when the motor blew.
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12376186 - 08/07/17 01:32 PM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Stump jumper]
Hittmanfish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 05/28/14
Posts: 375
Loc: Arlington
Originally Posted By: Stump jumper
Originally Posted By: Hittmanfish
Thanks for the replies... I found CDI brand on Amazon for $50... and Walmart has Mercury/Quicksilver OEM for $200. Has anyone else used the aftermarket with success?

I've read a few threads saying that both switch boxes should be replaced at the same time. Any truth to this?
I would only replace the one that is bad. That is what I did. I believe that people think if one failed then the other is close. I do not believe this is true with electronics. The one I replaced was 20 years old. The other one was going on 31 when the motor blew.


Thank you! What brand did you go with if you don't mind me asking?

Top
#12376341 - 08/07/17 03:50 PM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Stump jumper]
TLW Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/16/06
Posts: 2333
Loc: ft worth
Originally Posted By: Stump jumper
I would only replace the one that is bad. That is what I did. I believe that people think if one failed then the other is close. I do not believe this is true with electronics. The one I replaced was 20 years old. The other one was going on 31 when the motor blew.


that is not tha reason for replacing both.. in some cases, not all, tha bad box can actually "cloak" itself making it it act and test like its actually good and tha good box look bad.. it does this thru tha bias circuit that is jumper-ed between tha two boxes..


Edited by TLW (08/07/17 04:46 PM)

Top
#12376400 - 08/07/17 04:44 PM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Hittmanfish]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 8058
Loc: Rockwall
Originally Posted By: Hittmanfish
Originally Posted By: Stump jumper
Originally Posted By: Hittmanfish
Thanks for the replies... I found CDI brand on Amazon for $50... and Walmart has Mercury/Quicksilver OEM for $200. Has anyone else used the aftermarket with success?

I've read a few threads saying that both switch boxes should be replaced at the same time. Any truth to this?
I would only replace the one that is bad. That is what I did. I believe that people think if one failed then the other is close. I do not believe this is true with electronics. The one I replaced was 20 years old. The other one was going on 31 when the motor blew.


Thank you! What brand did you go with if you don't mind me asking?
oem
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12376425 - 08/07/17 05:02 PM Re: Replacing switchbox [Re: Hittmanfish]
bronco71 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/05/06
Posts: 1482
Loc: Farmers Branch/Sulphur Bluff
I replaced one of mine on my 1980 Black Max 150 16 years ago with an OEM box and they have worked fine, was told to do both at once but could not afford it back then as they cost way more than now. But if I was to do it now I would put 2 of the CDI $50 boxes on there....

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide