Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
FredFishingTX, Chris Davis 25, jmsilhy, TPFT, AnglerMom72
105885 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86283
hopalong 78491
Pilothawk 75127
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 65023
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58457
Tritonman 57634
LoneStarSon® 53386
SkeeterRonnie 53007
facebook
Forum Stats
105885 Members
60 Forums
854458 Topics
12169638 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12365570 - 07/31/17 07:00 AM Graph issues...
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 312
1) Why would my console unit display my bow unit's sonar? It has it's own transducer in the hull. Both units are HDS, using ethernet cable. Is that a simple fix? Seemed to default to the bow unit.

2) My bow unit won't show down scan. I'm using an HDI ducer on the TM.
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12365634 - 07/31/17 07:57 AM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6171
Loc: Boerne, Texas
You have the "network sonar" option turned on. Turn it off, they still share info (wypts, etc) with it off. Then after you have it off, go into the sonar installation menu and make sure you have the hdi transducer selected.


Edited by grout-scout (07/31/17 06:24 PM)
Edit Reason: iPhones suck

Top
#12365981 - 07/31/17 11:44 AM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 312
What about the down scan not working on the bow graph?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12366258 - 07/31/17 02:35 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 392
Loc: Ft Wth
As long as the bow unit is an HDS touch, then it should be able to display the downscan. Make sure that you have the HDI transducer selected in the sonar installation menu, it is listed as HDI 83/200 455/800kHz. When viewing the Structure Scan page check the menu option on the right and make sure the source is set to "This unit".



Edited by MAK747 (07/31/17 02:43 PM)

Top
#12366597 - 07/31/17 05:36 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: MAK747]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 312
Originally Posted By: MAK747
As long as the bow unit is an HDS touch, then it should be able to display the downscan. Make sure that you have the HDI transducer selected in the sonar installation menu, it is listed as HDI 83/200 455/800kHz. When viewing the Structure Scan page check the menu option on the right and make sure the source is set to "This unit".



Thanks very much! As for the console HDS Gen3 with structurescan skimmer mounted on transom as well as a sonar transducer in hull, which transducer do I select for that unit?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12366599 - 07/31/17 05:36 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: grout-scout]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 312
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
You have the "network sonar" option turned on. Turn it off, they still share info (wypts, etc) with it off. Then after you have it off, go into the sonar installation menu and make sure you have the bid transducer selected.


Thank you!
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12366668 - 07/31/17 06:23 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6171
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: HookinToads
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
You have the "network sonar" option turned on. Turn it off, they still share info (wypts, etc) with it off. Then after you have it off, go into the sonar installation menu and make sure you have the bid transducer selected.


Thank you!



Sorry, that was supposed to say HDI transducer. Dang phone changed the word and I didn't proof read.

Top
#12366884 - 07/31/17 08:38 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 392
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: HookinToads
Originally Posted By: MAK747
As long as the bow unit is an HDS touch, then it should be able to display the downscan. Make sure that you have the HDI transducer selected in the sonar installation menu, it is listed as HDI 83/200 455/800kHz. When viewing the Structure Scan page check the menu option on the right and make sure the source is set to "This unit".



Thanks very much! As for the console HDS Gen3 with structurescan skimmer mounted on transom as well as a sonar transducer in hull, which transducer do I select for that unit?


There should be a small silver tag on the 2D transducer cable by the head unit. It will have the transducer model number on it that you you should select in the sonar installation menu.

Top
#12366968 - 07/31/17 09:32 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: grout-scout]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1822
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
You have the "network sonar" option turned on. Turn it off, they still share info (wypts, etc) with it off. Then after you have it off, go into the sonar installation menu and make sure you have the hdi transducer selected.


He is giving you correct information. Put your blinders on and follow this. As he points out, after you turn off "network sonar" you still won't get the downscan until you also use each unit's menu to select the correct transducer. In your case, if you select the HDI transducer at each HDS display, you'll see downscan from the transom at the console, and downscan from the TM mounted HDI transducer on the bow HDS unit. I do this with my boat's set-up now, so it does work.

The HDI transducer is an all-in-one. Any post suggesting you look at and select any 2D transducer is incorrect.

Top
#12367281 - 08/01/17 07:26 AM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 312
Great! Thank you, guys.
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12367333 - 08/01/17 08:02 AM Re: Graph issues... [Re: Flippin-Out]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 392
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Flippin-Out
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
You have the "network sonar" option turned on. Turn it off, they still share info (wypts, etc) with it off. Then after you have it off, go into the sonar installation menu and make sure you have the hdi transducer selected.


He is giving you correct information. Put your blinders on and follow this. As he points out, after you turn off "network sonar" you still won't get the downscan until you also use each unit's menu to select the correct transducer. In your case, if you select the HDI transducer at each HDS display, you'll see downscan from the transom at the console, and downscan from the TM mounted HDI transducer on the bow HDS unit. I do this with my boat's set-up now, so it does work.

The HDI transducer is an all-in-one. Any post suggesting you look at and select any 2D transducer is incorrect.


Actually this is an incorrect statement.

"The HDI transducer is an all-in-one. Any post suggesting you look at and select any 2D transducer is incorrect."

The HDI transducer is a 2D and down scan only transducer (TotalScan is the all-in-one) and the type must be selected in your bow units sonar installation menu. You stated that you have an LSS transducer on the transom and a bilge mounted 2D transducer. You should find the model number from the silver tag on the transducer cable coming from the bilge mounted transducer and select it in the sonar installation menu of the console HDS.


Edited by MAK747 (08/01/17 08:11 AM)

Top
#12367551 - 08/01/17 09:50 AM Re: Graph issues... [Re: MAK747]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6171
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: MAK747
Originally Posted By: Flippin-Out
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
You have the "network sonar" option turned on. Turn it off, they still share info (wypts, etc) with it off. Then after you have it off, go into the sonar installation menu and make sure you have the hdi transducer selected.


He is giving you correct information. Put your blinders on and follow this. As he points out, after you turn off "network sonar" you still won't get the downscan until you also use each unit's menu to select the correct transducer. In your case, if you select the HDI transducer at each HDS display, you'll see downscan from the transom at the console, and downscan from the TM mounted HDI transducer on the bow HDS unit. I do this with my boat's set-up now, so it does work.

The HDI transducer is an all-in-one. Any post suggesting you look at and select any 2D transducer is incorrect.


Actually this is an incorrect statement.

"The HDI transducer is an all-in-one. Any post suggesting you look at and select any 2D transducer is incorrect."

The HDI transducer is a 2D and down scan only transducer (TotalScan is the all-in-one) and the type must be selected in your bow units sonar installation menu. You stated that you have an LSS transducer on the transom and a bilge mounted 2D transducer. You should find the model number from the silver tag on the transducer cable coming from the bilge mounted transducer and select it in the sonar installation menu of the console HDS.


Flipster and I were just referring to the first question/post.

Top
#12367648 - 08/01/17 10:46 AM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1822
Loc: Magnolia, TX
I went overboard is using the all-in-one term. This is because I don't do 3D!...and forgot about it, LOL....so to me, 2D and Downscan is "my" both-in-one (all-in-one for me) at the TM. I thought he said he had an HDI skimmer on the TM.....too lazy to go back and read all of it again at this point!

Top
#12367778 - 08/01/17 12:07 PM Re: Graph issues... [Re: i-Fish]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 392
Loc: Ft Wth
Flippin-out,

I hear ya on the various transducers available. There are;

2D such as HST-WSBL which provides traditional 2D sonar.

HDI which provides 2D sonar and Downscan. There are two styles of this transducer. One connects to the Sonar port on the back of the HDS Touch and the other connects to the Structurescan port on the back of the HDS Touch units. I have the one which connects to the Sonar port and if you don't select it in the Sonar installation menu it will not display Downscan. I'm not sure if that is a requirement on the one which connects to the Structurescan port.

LSS which provides Downscan and Sidescan. Connects to the Structurescan port on the back of the HDS Touch units. Requires an external module on HDS non-touch units.

Totalscan combines 2D and LSS into one transducer. Connects to Structurescan port. Only works on HDS Gen3/Carbon and TI units.

3D which provides Downscan, Sidescan and 3D perspective. This only works on GEN3/Carbon units and requires an external module.

2D Chirp which provides 2D sonar but is tuned to transmit/recieve a range of frequencies. The Airmar TM150M is an example of this type of transducer.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide