Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
wjbellner, 7265, Brad Edwards, 0700, Gary Bowman ( Catfish)
106535 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87151
hopalong 78833
Pilothawk 75800
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 ® 65918
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 59030
Tritonman 57768
LoneStarSon® 53827
SkeeterRonnie 53123
facebook
Forum Stats
106535 Members
61 Forums
814226 Topics
10281075 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12359697 - 07/26/17 03:35 PM NMEA help?
i-Fish Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 546
Correct me if I'm wrong...

I have 2 HDS units on the boat with all of the necessary transducers (no modules are needed), one on the bow and the other on the console. I will be linking them with an ethernet cable. Those units will be fully functional without setting up the NEMA network, correct? As well as my boat being fully functional?

I can set up the network at a later date if I want data from my outboard, or what have you, correct?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12359705 - 07/26/17 03:38 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 872
Loc: Waco, TX
Yes. Ethernet will allow you to share waypoints, transducers, mapping cards etc.

If you decide to add a Point 1 heading sensor, you will need to setup a nmea network or to get engine data

Top
#12359706 - 07/26/17 03:39 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: javelin150]
i-Fish Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 546
Originally Posted By: javelin150
Yes. Ethernet will allow you to share waypoints, transducers, mapping cards etc.

If you decide to add a Point 1 heading sensor, you will need to setup a nmea network or to get engine data


Ok, thanks. In regards to the P1, do I need an antenna if both HDS units have internal antennas?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12359772 - 07/26/17 04:23 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
Dayne Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 2999
You won't need a Pt 1 unless you are planning to fish wpts. The Pt 1 helps with that.

Top
#12359775 - 07/26/17 04:25 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: Dayne]
i-Fish Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 546
Originally Posted By: Dayne
You won't need a Pt 1 unless you are planning to fish wpts. The Pt 1 helps with that.


Well, of course I'll be fishing waypoints as I accumulate them. The internal antennas aren't accurate enough for that?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12359955 - 07/26/17 06:01 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
Dayne Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 2999
It isn't accuracy. It is getting and staying on a spot. When you are stopped the gps won't show you drifting away from your wpt. With the Pt 1 you have a heading that makes it a lot easier.

Take a trip to bass boat central web site and look in the Lowrance forum or do a Point 1 search. You will find out what you need to know about it and you can decided for yourself if or not you need one.

Top
#12360209 - 07/26/17 08:42 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6413
Loc: Boerne, Texas
I'll help explain it (maybe)... the point 1 is a heading sensor, it tells the graph which direction the boat is pointed. When you are fishing open water, with no reference points, while sitting still your graph screen will start to spin in circles. When the graphs not moving it can't tell where it's going, so the screen gets confused. With a heading sensor hooked to the graph this does not happen because the graph now knows what direction it's pointed to.

That may help or confuse you.

Top
#12360266 - 07/26/17 09:17 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: grout-scout]
i-Fish Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 546
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
I'll help explain it (maybe)... the point 1 is a heading sensor, it tells the graph which direction the boat is pointed. When you are fishing open water, with no reference points, while sitting still your graph screen will start to spin in circles. When the graphs not moving it can't tell where it's going, so the screen gets confused. With a heading sensor hooked to the graph this does not happen because the graph now knows what direction it's pointed to.

That may help or confuse you.


Makes perfect sense. I'll probably add a P1 a bit later. I've spent a small fortune in the last few weeks getting everything else. I'll just work with some marker buoys in the mean time when I'm offshore. Thanks fellas!
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide