Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TruthSeekerTruthSpeaker, RLMcD, BobF14, Bazzectomy, Muskietime
106119 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86617
hopalong 78748
Pilothawk 75348
JDavis7873® 67383
John175 ® 65411
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58670
Tritonman 57665
LoneStarSon® 53521
SkeeterRonnie 53057
facebook
Forum Stats
106119 Members
60 Forums
857227 Topics
12202498 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12359697 - 07/26/17 03:35 PM NMEA help?
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 387
Correct me if I'm wrong...

I have 2 HDS units on the boat with all of the necessary transducers (no modules are needed), one on the bow and the other on the console. I will be linking them with an ethernet cable. Those units will be fully functional without setting up the NEMA network, correct? As well as my boat being fully functional?

I can set up the network at a later date if I want data from my outboard, or what have you, correct?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12359705 - 07/26/17 03:38 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 855
Loc: Waco, TX
Yes. Ethernet will allow you to share waypoints, transducers, mapping cards etc.

If you decide to add a Point 1 heading sensor, you will need to setup a nmea network or to get engine data

Top
#12359706 - 07/26/17 03:39 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: javelin150]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 387
Originally Posted By: javelin150
Yes. Ethernet will allow you to share waypoints, transducers, mapping cards etc.

If you decide to add a Point 1 heading sensor, you will need to setup a nmea network or to get engine data


Ok, thanks. In regards to the P1, do I need an antenna if both HDS units have internal antennas?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12359772 - 07/26/17 04:23 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
Dayne Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 2982
You won't need a Pt 1 unless you are planning to fish wpts. The Pt 1 helps with that.

Top
#12359775 - 07/26/17 04:25 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: Dayne]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 387
Originally Posted By: Dayne
You won't need a Pt 1 unless you are planning to fish wpts. The Pt 1 helps with that.


Well, of course I'll be fishing waypoints as I accumulate them. The internal antennas aren't accurate enough for that?
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12359955 - 07/26/17 06:01 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
Dayne Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 2982
It isn't accuracy. It is getting and staying on a spot. When you are stopped the gps won't show you drifting away from your wpt. With the Pt 1 you have a heading that makes it a lot easier.

Take a trip to bass boat central web site and look in the Lowrance forum or do a Point 1 search. You will find out what you need to know about it and you can decided for yourself if or not you need one.

Top
#12360209 - 07/26/17 08:42 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: i-Fish]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6277
Loc: Boerne, Texas
I'll help explain it (maybe)... the point 1 is a heading sensor, it tells the graph which direction the boat is pointed. When you are fishing open water, with no reference points, while sitting still your graph screen will start to spin in circles. When the graphs not moving it can't tell where it's going, so the screen gets confused. With a heading sensor hooked to the graph this does not happen because the graph now knows what direction it's pointed to.

That may help or confuse you.

Top
#12360266 - 07/26/17 09:17 PM Re: NMEA help? [Re: grout-scout]
i-Fish Online   content
Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 387
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
I'll help explain it (maybe)... the point 1 is a heading sensor, it tells the graph which direction the boat is pointed. When you are fishing open water, with no reference points, while sitting still your graph screen will start to spin in circles. When the graphs not moving it can't tell where it's going, so the screen gets confused. With a heading sensor hooked to the graph this does not happen because the graph now knows what direction it's pointed to.

That may help or confuse you.


Makes perfect sense. I'll probably add a P1 a bit later. I've spent a small fortune in the last few weeks getting everything else. I'll just work with some marker buoys in the mean time when I'm offshore. Thanks fellas!
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide