Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jerad, Bassrunner65, JamesLoch, osgoodsr, Gener849
108256 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88919
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76461
John175® 67870
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60885
Derek 🐝 60491
Tritonman 58054
LoneStarSon® 54529
SkeeterRonnie 53423
facebook
Forum Stats
108256 Members
60 Forums
814182 Topics
10310156 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12341234 - 07/15/17 02:38 PM Structure scan error message?
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7975
Loc: Rockwall
I am getting a "no source" error message. Worked fine for previous owner. When I got boat I returned to default settings. Not sure what the problem is.
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12341789 - 07/15/17 09:28 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6946
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Most likely a bad enet port or cable. Swap the cable to another port. Also make sure that the lss module isn't on a switch (assuming this is a new boat to you).

If it's a new install to you, then make sure the yellow wire is hooked up.

Several things to check and your post is kind of vague.

Top
#12343239 - 07/16/17 07:55 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7975
Loc: Rockwall
Looked at it closer today. Red wire is hooked to a switch and yellow to bus bar. I thought that yellow was supposed to go to switch. Worked for previous owner as wired so maybe it does not matter. I checked for power at terminal and red has constant power but yellow only has power when switch is on. Power light lights up red momentarily then goes out. From what I have read this means that unit is going back to Lowrance.
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12343467 - 07/16/17 09:38 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6946
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Lowrance does not fix them, you will have to throw it in the trash can (I am not kidding). Before you do that though, try a different Ethernet cable.

And yeah, red to battery positive and yellow to the switch. Odd the way he has it.

Top
#12343652 - 07/17/17 05:26 AM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: grout-scout]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7975
Loc: Rockwall
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Lowrance does not fix them, you will have to throw it in the trash can (I am not kidding). Before you do that though, try a different Ethernet cable.

And yeah, red to battery positive and yellow to the switch. Odd the way he has it.
I am going to call Lowrance today a see what they say about the power light not staying on.
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12344174 - 07/17/17 12:09 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7975
Loc: Rockwall
Lowrance confirmed that when the power light does not stay lit the box is toast. Their out of warranty replacement program is to sell you one for $300 plus shipping both ways and possibly sales tax. The heck with that. I sat at my desk this morning and ordered one for $300 delivered and with no sales tax.
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12344840 - 07/17/17 07:28 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6946
Loc: Boerne, Texas
At least hook it up properly and try it before throwing it away, with the fuse in the right place.

What models of graphs do you have?

Top
#12344857 - 07/17/17 07:43 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7975
Loc: Rockwall
HDS7, Lowrance tech said wiring method was fine and i saw pic of it working. Will probably change wires on new unit. Yellow on switch, power to battery with inline fuse (already have one) and ground to negative terminal on battery.


Edited by Stump jumper (07/17/17 07:47 PM)
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top
#12347446 - 07/19/17 07:32 AM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
DFW-fisherman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/01/11
Posts: 1346
Loc: DFW
I think the yellow wire is the "wake-up" wire for the LSS module. If Lowrance said it is defective, then you are in a bad place.

I assume you have a Gen1 unit; you might consider upgrading HDS to a later Gen version, i.e., Gen2 or Gen3 . Neither one use the separate module.

Top
#12348355 - 07/19/17 03:03 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2195
Loc: Plano, TX
I get the 'no source' message often enough to get aggravated but I'm able to get it to work by either jiggling the Ethernet plug that goes into the back of the unit, or by unscrewing it and replacing it back on the unit. By unit, I'm referring to the HDS, not LSS. Sometimes this message may appear several times on an outing, other times nada.

The Ethernet wiring is very thinly gauged so keep that in mind. Just a slight nick internally on one of its wiring could be causing the problem. I know of others who have the same problem and we fix it by jiggling the cord plug. I've used another Ethernet cable and it worked fine - for a while then the 'no source' came back. It could be a pin also. If cleaning pins, male/female, be sure to let it dry thoroughly.

If you're referring to the power light on the LSS, it is very faint as well as the ports. So look very closely to determine if it is not 'on'. I'd also switch ports as GS suggested. Good luck.
_________________________
LIVE PURPLE LOVE GOLD
Geaux Tigers!
Jimmy

Top
#12355739 - 07/24/17 12:31 PM Re: Structure scan error message? [Re: Stump jumper]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7975
Loc: Rockwall
Bought a new unit because I did not see the green light on the old one and still do not. Ethernet cable was bad. I still need to lake test but I do not get the no source message. If all goes well on the lake I guess I will try to sell the new unit. I hate having stuff just sit around the house not serving any purpose.
_________________________
2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide