Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Ragnar Benson, Fishingforlife123, gui, BigBoy219, Jmk1911
106794 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 87564
hopalong 78854
Pilothawk 75989
JDavis7873® 67386
John175 � 66193
FattyMcButterpants 60834
Derek 🐝 59306
Tritonman 57847
LoneStarSon® 54031
SkeeterRonnie 53183
facebook
Forum Stats
106794 Members
61 Forums
817596 Topics
10328929 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12323312 - 07/04/17 08:37 AM Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue?
Dbonz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/26/10
Posts: 54
Loc: Azle, TX
I am having trouble with my HDS Gen 3 not booting up when I select the power button. I remove and replace the power cable connection at the unit a few times and it starts working so I suspect a connector issue with the cable or with the unit itself (possibly corrosion). Has anyone had a similar issue with their unit not starting? Is there a simple fix?

Or could it be something else?


Edited by Dbonz (07/04/17 08:40 AM)

Top
#12323437 - 07/04/17 10:16 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: Dbonz]
jfdawson Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 911
Loc: Frisco, Texas
when you connected the Power lead, what did you do with the YELLOW wire? You should have seen a Red ( power ) and Black ( ground ) , but there was also a YELLOW wire. I would assume your GROUND ( Black ) is also connected tight?

Top
#12323514 - 07/04/17 11:15 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: jfdawson]
gapple Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/25/17
Posts: 7
Loc: 76078
I had to replace the power cable.

Top
#12330690 - 07/09/17 07:28 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: Dbonz]
Pintail711 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/11/15
Posts: 1671
Loc: Longview, Tx
put some dielectric grease on your plugs. it helps with corrosion.

Top
#12330946 - 07/09/17 11:47 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: jfdawson]
Dbonz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/26/10
Posts: 54
Loc: Azle, TX
The yellow wire is not used so is not connected. I have dedicated power and ground wires and they are tight. I have used the unit for about a year with no issues until about a month ago.

Top
#12332283 - 07/10/17 11:36 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: Dbonz]
Pintail711 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/11/15
Posts: 1671
Loc: Longview, Tx
Could be a software issue.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide