Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
radiomangrant, PureTech, Justin kim, Eduardo palomo, Live4real
105923 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86354
hopalong 78594
Pilothawk 75174
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 65072
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58502
Tritonman 57647
LoneStarSon® 53413
SkeeterRonnie 53014
facebook
Forum Stats
105923 Members
60 Forums
854932 Topics
12172944 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12323312 - 07/04/17 08:37 AM Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue?
Dbonz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/26/10
Posts: 53
Loc: Azle, TX
I am having trouble with my HDS Gen 3 not booting up when I select the power button. I remove and replace the power cable connection at the unit a few times and it starts working so I suspect a connector issue with the cable or with the unit itself (possibly corrosion). Has anyone had a similar issue with their unit not starting? Is there a simple fix?

Or could it be something else?


Edited by Dbonz (07/04/17 08:40 AM)

Top
#12323437 - 07/04/17 10:16 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: Dbonz]
jfdawson Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 885
Loc: Frisco, Texas
when you connected the Power lead, what did you do with the YELLOW wire? You should have seen a Red ( power ) and Black ( ground ) , but there was also a YELLOW wire. I would assume your GROUND ( Black ) is also connected tight?
_________________________

Top
#12323514 - 07/04/17 11:15 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: jfdawson]
gapple Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/25/17
Posts: 4
Loc: 75067
I had to replace the power cable.

Top
#12330690 - 07/09/17 07:28 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: Dbonz]
Pintail711 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/11/15
Posts: 1227
Loc: Longview, Tx
put some dielectric grease on your plugs. it helps with corrosion.

Top
#12330946 - 07/09/17 11:47 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: jfdawson]
Dbonz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/26/10
Posts: 53
Loc: Azle, TX
The yellow wire is not used so is not connected. I have dedicated power and ground wires and they are tight. I have used the unit for about a year with no issues until about a month ago.

Top
#12332283 - 07/10/17 11:36 AM Re: Lowrance HDS Gen 3 Connector Issue? [Re: Dbonz]
Pintail711 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/11/15
Posts: 1227
Loc: Longview, Tx
Could be a software issue.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide