Print Thread
Older motor #12302531 06/20/17 03:38 PM
O
OIF3 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
O
I have a 1967, 18 hp Evinrude Fastwin. Runs OK just can't get the idle adjusted right. Any help or assistance is appreciated.

"If everybody's thinking alike, somebody isn't thinking"
George S. Patton
Re: Older motor [Re: OIF3] #12302812 06/20/17 06:22 PM
F
FalafelSupreme Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
F
I'm by no means an expert, but I did find a post on the iboats forum from a user named Joe Reeves. Sorry if this doesn't help but I just had to do a similar thing to my '93 evinrude. Couldn't find any videos on youtube for that particular year unfortunately.

Quote:
Re: 1967 Evinrude 18 hp carb adjust

(Carburetor Adjustment - Single S/S Adjustable Needle Valve)
(J. Reeves)

Initial setting is: Slow speed = seat gently, then open 1-1/2 turns.

Start engine and set the rpms to where it just stays running. In segments of 1/8 turns, start to turn the S/S needle valve in. Wait a few seconds for the engine to respond. As you turn the valve in, the rpms will increase. Lower the rpms again to where the engine will just stay running.

Eventually you'll hit the point where the engine wants to die out or it will spit back (sounds like a mild backfire). At that point, back out the valve 1/4 turn. Within that 1/4 turn, you'll find the smoothest slow speed setting.

Note 1: As a final double check setting of the slow speed valve(s), if the engine has more than one carburetor, do not attempt to gradually adjust all of the valves/carburetors at the same time. Do one at a time until you hit the above response (die out or spit back), then go on to the next valve/carburetor. It may be necessary to back out "all" of the slow speed adjustable needle valves 1/8 turn before doing this final adjustment due to the fact that one of the valves might be initially set ever so slightly lean.