Print Thread
Taneycomo Fishing #12310214 06/25/17 02:28 AM
J
JCG57 Online Content OP
TFF Celebrity
OP Online Content
TFF Celebrity
J
I'll be making several trips to Tulsa and Springfield later this year to visit relatives and want to try the trout fishing on Taneycomo. Any advice for this location (flies, spots)? From what I have read, scuds under a strike indicator seem to be a popular choice pretty much throughout the year.

Re: Taneycomo Fishing [Re: JCG57] #12311232 06/26/17 03:28 AM
F
formula462 Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
F
Robert?

Re: Taneycomo Fishing [Re: JCG57] #12312232 06/26/17 08:22 PM
Riverdog Offline
Angler
Angler
I am not an expert on Taneycomo, but I have fished it multiple days several times over the past 15 years. Here is some general stuff.
The flow when they not generating at Table Rock Dam is nil and the river acts like a lake.
The river fishes very differently based on flow.
There are several wade in access points at the state park/Shepard of the Hills.
The water coming off Table Rock say down to Falls Creek is cold even in the summer. My guess is it is 45 to 48 now.
From the dam to Falls Creek is good fishing- no barbs and catch and release only.
Best guess right now for not being there is for bobber/strike indicator is #18 to #24 Midges.
The water is usually very clear 9 to 12 ft 6x tippet would probably be a good starting point.
The bows usually bite softly.
For specifics check with the folks at River Run Outfitter they are good folks and will be willing to help. They fish the upper section from the dam on a daily basis in drift boats.
The will have any fly tying material or pre-tied flies you will need.
River Run posts regular reports on the fishing above Falls Creek and has a number of fly patterns/recipes they fish online.
http://www.riverrunoutfitters.com/
Middle to the lower part of the river the folks at Lillys Landing will be a good source of current information. They have a well-stocked shop.