Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tom_Doe, VnJ, Tony Funes, outdoorlife1984, jimtutt
106384 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86942
hopalong 78792
Pilothawk 75582
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65743
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58883
Tritonman 57723
LoneStarSon® 53716
SkeeterRonnie 53104
facebook
Forum Stats
106384 Members
61 Forums
812137 Topics
10253457 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12307473 - 06/22/17 09:31 PM Which Lowrance for GPS Only???
5Redman8 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/15/07
Posts: 2912
Loc: Forney
Looking for a cheap Lowrance strictly for GPS...really wanting fast update rates.

I like how the HDS Gen 3s update speeds seems to match the boat's movement without much delay

Is there a cheap one that has good GPS???
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Dubee
People wanting to learn, watching idiots that don't know what they are doing doesn't help anyone.

Top
#12307554 - 06/22/17 10:21 PM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6364
Loc: Boerne, Texas
All lowrance hds graphs will update as fast as your boat moves. Problem is that most don't read the directions and know to change the update time to once per every second.

Top
#12307735 - 06/23/17 06:43 AM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
javelin150 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 870
Loc: Waco, TX
An HDS Gen 3 with a Point-1 antenna would be great. It will give you a faster refresh rate than the internal antenna in the Gen 3 and adds the heading sensor.

Top
#12307835 - 06/23/17 08:25 AM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: grout-scout]
5Redman8 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/15/07
Posts: 2912
Loc: Forney
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
All lowrance hds graphs will update as fast as your boat moves. Problem is that most don't read the directions and know to change the update time to once per every second.


Grout, I set it to update every second and it is definitely slower than the Gen 3s

I was hoping to find something cheaper than the Gen 3s in a different series that has good GPS but not down imaging.....side imaging....etc

May be better off buying a tablet and running Navionics on it
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Dubee
People wanting to learn, watching idiots that don't know what they are doing doesn't help anyone.

Top
#12307942 - 06/23/17 09:24 AM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
Sinkey Offline
Tidy Scoop

Registered: 08/04/06
Posts: 4584
Loc: Lewisville, TX. and Lake Fork...
On my Skeeter I just sold, I was running dual graphs at the dash. 12 hds gen 3 for for all graphing and a 9 hds gen 3 strictly for mapping next to it. Loved how that was set up. You can find some good deals on 3's right now.
_________________________

LAKE FORK MAFIA
www.grandebass.com
www.powertackle.com



Top
#12308044 - 06/23/17 10:32 AM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6364
Loc: Boerne, Texas
They used to make a "M" series that was gps/chart plotter only. I don't know if they still make that model though.


What are you doing that requires the faster refresh rate of the gen3? I think it's 10mhz and the gen 2 was 5mhz maybe... hmmm I don't pay that much attention to all that because I've never had an issue with update speed.

I know gen 1 was 1mhz.

But the gen3 is 10mhz and the point 1 is 10mhz, you gain a heading sensor. I'm not sure if the point1 would give you 10mhz on a gen2 or 5mhz. I'll ask on another forum and post the answer.


Edited by grout-scout (06/23/17 10:39 AM)

Top
#12308153 - 06/23/17 11:50 AM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
5Redman8 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/15/07
Posts: 2912
Loc: Forney
Mine are Gen 1s .... trying not to pay the price of Gen 3s. Was hoping there was a different series without all the imagingbells and whistles that would be cheaper....looks like there may not be.

Trucking down the lake with a 1 sec delay allows me veer off line. Getting a good line on brush piles is a pain as well because of the lag.


Edited by 5Redman8 (06/23/17 11:51 AM)
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Dubee
People wanting to learn, watching idiots that don't know what they are doing doesn't help anyone.

Top
#12308590 - 06/23/17 04:10 PM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6364
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Ok I asked someone if the gen2's would process the point1's 10mhz or 5mhz of the graph. They said when connected to a point1, the graph will use the point1's speed.

Stupid me though, I didn't ask if a gen1 will also run at 10mhz. You can buy gen2's fairly cheap (cheap being relative).


Edited by grout-scout (06/23/17 04:10 PM)

Top
#12308804 - 06/23/17 06:25 PM Re: Which Lowrance for GPS Only??? [Re: 5Redman8]
WAWI Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 05/18/07
Posts: 19104
Loc: Aledo
Get a gen 1 or 2 with point one.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide