Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
jlcotten50, Heath Grant, GolferMan, dyollpster, Sirjr
105130 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 85206
hopalong 77654
Pilothawk 74789
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 63708
FattyMcButterpants 60667
Derek 🐝 57776
Tritonman 57476
SkeeterRonnie 52916
LoneStarSon® 52894
facebook
Forum Stats
105130 Members
60 Forums
844672 Topics
12044824 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12298585 - 06/17/17 02:12 PM Gen3 HDS Problems
jbcarroll3000 Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/12/12
Posts: 777
Loc: Denton, TX
Bought the 12/9 boat in a box from Tackle Warehouse this past December and just got around to having North Texas Marine attempt install. Both units, the 9 and the 12 will recognize both the trolling motor transducer and the Totalscan transducer mounted to the transom. However, neither unit is receiving information (sonar, side scan, nor down scan) from the totalscan transducer. They will both pick up the info from the trolling motor transducer.

We thought maybe the totalscan transducer was broke, so they brought 2 different totalscan transducers out, hooked them up to both units, and still nothing.

Any idea what might be going on here? North Texas Marine service department is now suggesting that we just go back to a separate sonar transducer, structure transducer, and the box (whatever it's called), but it doesn't seem like we should have to go backward in technology to make this work. Also, both units have the most recent software updates.

Top
#12298657 - 06/17/17 03:53 PM Re: Gen3 HDS Problems [Re: jbcarroll3000]
CHAMPION FISH Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/14/04
Posts: 6735
Loc: SACHSE, TEXAS
I bought the same units. Basspro was installing them for free when you bought the package. I have had no problems at all.
_________________________

" Success is a ladder you can not climb with your hands in your pockets."

www.moestackleshop.com
www.pro-cure.com
www.falconrods.com

Top
#12299050 - 06/17/17 10:44 PM Re: Gen3 HDS Problems [Re: jbcarroll3000]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5941
Loc: Boerne, Texas
You have to turn the "network sonar" option to off. Simple answer and fix.

Top
#12302665 - 06/20/17 12:00 PM Re: Gen3 HDS Problems [Re: jbcarroll3000]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 363
Loc: Ft Wth
The Totalscan transducer should work with your Gen-3 units with no problem. Even though the Totalscan is an XID transducer and should be automatically recognized, I would go into the sonar installation menu and manually select it. Make sure that the the StructureScan feature is also enabled and when viewing a StructureScan page that you select "This Unit" as the source on the menu on the right.

Many people are finding that the two transducer option is actuality a better setup than the Totalscan because it allows you to mount the LSS transducer on the jackplate or under the step for more protection. You can then mount the 2D transducer in the bilge or on the transom for high speed readings. With the Totalscan, in order to have 2D sonar at high speed, you would need to mount it low on the transom so that it remains in the water which makes it more susceptible to damage.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide