Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Jbrown18, Travisly4, Russline, Rev.,Dr.Thaddious, Robere
107989 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88591
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76386
John175® 67548
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60868
Derek 🐝 60239
Tritonman 57988
LoneStarSon® 54394
SkeeterRonnie 53365
facebook
Forum Stats
107989 Members
60 Forums
810845 Topics
10269598 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12295691 - 06/15/17 12:02 PM Do you have to back BRAID with MONO
Isaiah Bock Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/13/17
Posts: 98
I hear some people say a piece of electrical tape will work fine. Thoughts?
_________________________
Ibock

Top
#12295693 - 06/15/17 12:04 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
RedRanger Offline
burro desagradable

Registered: 08/20/03
Posts: 23722
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Seems like a pain and a lot of work with electrical tape.

No you don't have to back it at all, it just waste money if you don't.

I use the cheapest 20 lb mono I can find.

Top
#12295694 - 06/15/17 12:05 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
i-Fish Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/07/16
Posts: 853
Never tried electrical tape but that leaves you with having to fill a spool with braid. The purposes of backing are two-fold: one gives you the grip on your spool that your braid needs and secondly it requires less braid to be put on the spool thus saving you money.

Then, when you would otherwise replace the braided line after good use you can actually just unspool the braid and re-spool in reverse order. Ta-da! New braided line.
_________________________
If you can't find em wind em.

Top
#12295700 - 06/15/17 12:07 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
bigbass94 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/27/12
Posts: 4339
Loc: San Antonio, Texas
Not necessary to do it but I do it because it gives the braid grip.
_________________________
"If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles." - Doug Larson

Top
#12295733 - 06/15/17 12:27 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
Slide_R Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 05/31/03
Posts: 5287
Loc: Richardson
You can tie braid directly to some spools and yes the electrical tape does work but I did not care for the glue residue it leaves on a spool.
_________________________
Robert Oleson
aka Slide_R


Top
#12295742 - 06/15/17 12:32 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
musiclife_7 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/07/14
Posts: 1298
Loc: Wylie, TX
I use 3" of electrical tape...works like a charm.

Top
#12295743 - 06/15/17 12:33 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
Isaiah Bock Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/13/17
Posts: 98
Okay that makes sense. My spool only holds 100 yards thats why I was asking if I could just tie directly too the spool, but I don't want it to slip.
_________________________
Ibock

Top
#12295822 - 06/15/17 01:18 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: RedRanger]
Bulletman99 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/16
Posts: 513
Loc: South Texas
Originally Posted By: RedRanger
Seems like a pain and a lot of work with electrical tape.

No you don't have to back it at all, it just waste money if you don't.

I use the cheapest 20 lb mono I can find.


+1
_________________________
Bullet 20XD
JSRE Modified Merc Promax

Top
#12295988 - 06/15/17 02:57 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
Danny L. Weems Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/19/14
Posts: 1434
Loc: Como, Texas
Straight braid will ONLY slip when you go to set the hook on a dd that eats your frog in a FLW tournament. splat
_________________________
Phil 4:13 "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me"

Top
#12296024 - 06/15/17 03:16 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: i-Fish]
Barn Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/17/02
Posts: 2239
Loc: McKinney, TX
Originally Posted By: HookinToads
Never tried electrical tape but that leaves you with having to fill a spool with braid. The purposes of backing are two-fold: one gives you the grip on your spool that your braid needs and secondly it requires less braid to be put on the spool thus saving you money.

Then, when you would otherwise replace the braided line after good use you can actually just unspool the braid and re-spool in reverse order. Ta-da! New braided line.


This ^^

Top
#12296033 - 06/15/17 03:19 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
lipjerk Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/04/09
Posts: 2320
Loc: Lantana,Tx
I back braid with...






























braid nuts

Top
#12296060 - 06/15/17 03:41 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
TEXASJIGSTER Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/11
Posts: 203
Loc: CADDO LAKE
With a 100 yard spool one wrap with electrical tape that's all you need

Top
#12296089 - 06/15/17 04:01 PM Re: Do you have to back BRAID with MONO [Re: Isaiah Bock]
Shallow Waters Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/03/17
Posts: 501
I tie a slip knot, similar to an inverse fisherman's knot (there is probably a real name for it), and I have been tying it for nearly 20 years without a slip yet. Granted, I still havent hooked that DD yet, but it holds just fine on the 7 & 8 lb'ers.

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide