Print Thread
What's the best minnow rig for crappie? #12290160 06/12/17 06:00 PM
T
Toes-in-tha-water Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
I'm pretty new to crappie fishing. What's the best way to rig a line with a minnow? We have been putting a hook about a foot below 2 split shots (1/8-1/4 oz. each) to catch fish @ ~15' depth. It seems difficult to feel the bite this way, and the 10lb floro I've been using always wraps up on the darn split shots. How do you guys do it?

Re: What's the best minnow rig for crappie? [Re: Toes-in-tha-water] #12290394 06/12/17 08:02 PM
P
phrito Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
P
I'm sure there are as many answers and opinions on this as you can imagine, but always good to hear what others find works for them and learn a thing or two. I'm certainly no expert so I'd be interested to see what is said. I think 10lb is a bit of an overkill, but I'm not a big fan of fluoro anyway. I personally use 6lb mono on a light to ultra light rod, helps with those finicky bites. My absolute favorite crappie rods are some ultralight 5 foot rods and spinning reels with 4-6lb mono. That'll make a good keeper crappie feel like you're doing something! If I'm fishing a pier or dock I'm on or a pile in calm water I like your setup except I'd always go with the lightest weight you can get away with to get the bait to the bottom. In stronger winds or drifting you may need more weight. If I'm feeling froggy then I'll use one of the pre-made double rigs or drifting rig with 2 hooks. But the basic concept is still bait below weight when I'm fishing vertical.

Re: What's the best minnow rig for crappie? [Re: Toes-in-tha-water] #12290416 06/12/17 08:17 PM
K
KidKrappie Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
K