Print Thread
Austin Urban Fishing Spots? #12265484 05/27/17 02:33 PM
F
fishr3 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
F
I searched the forum and Google. but could not find any Austin urban fishing reports. I've seen sunfish, bass, and carp in upper Bull Creek behind County Line BarBQ on 2222. I have also seen fish in upper Barton Creek, but so far haven't seen any fishermen. Anybody out there willing to share info on where to go. I'm new to the Austin area and just want to find a convenient place to go after work. I'm working on the northwest side near Bull Creek at TX Hwy 360. I may wander north to the San Gabriel river someday, but hope I can get a fly fishing fix locally.

Re: Austin Urban Fishing Spots? [Re: fishr3] #12265621 05/27/17 05:00 PM
M
MassAction Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
M
Die Fische is a great resource for Austin and Hill Country fly fishing in general as is the book Fly Fishing the Texas Hill Country by Kevin Hutchinson.

The fishing is incredible in Austin, there is an abundance of public land and great access to water. If there is meaningful water, there will be fish there. You'd be shocked at some of the places in the middle of town where you can catch amazing fish. Barton Creek is incredible fishing throughout although there is a steep learning curve since the water is so clear. I was out by Lost Creek last Thursday and managed to trick this chunky Guadalupe Bass into taking my fly last Thursday.