Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
SBTNZFishing, Tucker Nickells, KFGraham, Jex, Benjamin Richardson
109038 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89788
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 77193
John175® 69297
JDavis7873® 67392
Derek 🐝 61475
FattyMcButterpants 60906
Tritonman 58321
LoneStarSon® 54754
Mark Perry 53965
facebook
Forum Stats
109038 Members
60 Forums
781099 Topics
10101639 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12264584 - 05/26/17 02:58 PM Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3
lmbr Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/18/16
Posts: 97
Loc: Lindale, Texas
I recently got a MG Xi5 TM and am thinking about getting a Lowrance unit. For those of you who use them I am looking at a HDS 9 Gen 2 or a HDS 7 Gen 3. Any suggestions or comments. Price is about the same. Is 7" screen OK or would 9" be better? Both are touch screen.


hooked
_________________________
Love the thump.

Top
#12264632 - 05/26/17 03:37 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Gamblinman Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3674
Loc: Yantis, TX
ALWAYS the bigger screen.

Top
#12264867 - 05/26/17 05:50 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: Gamblinman]
MilesHunter Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/17/13
Posts: 839
Loc: Burleson, TX
Originally Posted By: Gamblinman
ALWAYS the bigger screen.


+100 thumb
_________________________
Miles

Top
#12264873 - 05/26/17 05:54 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
DFW-fisherman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/01/11
Posts: 1378
Loc: DFW
Go for Gen3!

The Gen2 units is the older model; can't update them using wifi. Also, the chart update rate is just too slow compared to the Gen3; drives me batty when trying to find the structure - after locating with my sidescan on the Gen3 console unit.

I've got both a Gen2 (bow/TM, sonar only) and Gen3 (console with sidescan) networked with my Xi5, and I am constantly frustrated with the update rate on my Gen2 - which is the bow unit connected to the Xi5. When I connect the Gen3 to the Xi5 - all issues disappear! Lots of talking with Lowrance, while on the water, to try and resolve, but they can't help! Says it is cause of the older unit.

Hope my 2cents helps.

Top
#12265347 - 05/27/17 06:59 AM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Gamblinman Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 3674
Loc: Yantis, TX
Sorry to hear of your trouble with chart update speed. Something is wrong, whether its the unit, missing an update or a setting. I can run 80 mph and the chart on my HDS9 stays updated.

Top
#12265378 - 05/27/17 07:43 AM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Muzzlebrake Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/26/14
Posts: 1664
Loc: Euless
Touch screen with the xi5
_________________________
From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then He made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!


Top
#12265533 - 05/27/17 10:15 AM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Woj Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/12/08
Posts: 145
I have a HDS 7 Touch Gen 2, The screen goes blank with absolutely no info when my boat is on plane. Very frustrating.

Top
#12265837 - 05/27/17 04:05 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
ACAMS Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/10/12
Posts: 1230
Loc: Palestine
I read every word as I hope to soon have the same dilemma!
_________________________
><\\\(º>___><\\\(º> http://myfolderz.com/Jigs.php_<º)///><___<º)///><


Free image uploader for TFF members: http://myfolderz.com/TFF/pics.php

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide