Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Dardar, Craigc1, Wreched75, MinMirny, lakefork15
106376 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86935
hopalong 78792
Pilothawk 75581
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65741
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58872
Tritonman 57723
LoneStarSon® 53711
SkeeterRonnie 53103
facebook
Forum Stats
106376 Members
61 Forums
862077 Topics
12252641 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#12264584 - 05/26/17 02:58 PM Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3
lmbr Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/18/16
Posts: 90
Loc: Lindale, Texas
I recently got a MG Xi5 TM and am thinking about getting a Lowrance unit. For those of you who use them I am looking at a HDS 9 Gen 2 or a HDS 7 Gen 3. Any suggestions or comments. Price is about the same. Is 7" screen OK or would 9" be better? Both are touch screen.


hooked
_________________________
Love the thump.

Top
#12264632 - 05/26/17 03:37 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2947
Loc: Yantis, TX
ALWAYS the bigger screen.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#12264867 - 05/26/17 05:50 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: Gamblinman]
MilesHunter Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/17/13
Posts: 819
Loc: Mansfield, TX
Originally Posted By: Gamblinman
ALWAYS the bigger screen.


+100 thumb
_________________________
Miles

Top
#12264873 - 05/26/17 05:54 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
DFW-fisherman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/01/11
Posts: 1337
Loc: DFW
Go for Gen3!

The Gen2 units is the older model; can't update them using wifi. Also, the chart update rate is just too slow compared to the Gen3; drives me batty when trying to find the structure - after locating with my sidescan on the Gen3 console unit.

I've got both a Gen2 (bow/TM, sonar only) and Gen3 (console with sidescan) networked with my Xi5, and I am constantly frustrated with the update rate on my Gen2 - which is the bow unit connected to the Xi5. When I connect the Gen3 to the Xi5 - all issues disappear! Lots of talking with Lowrance, while on the water, to try and resolve, but they can't help! Says it is cause of the older unit.

Hope my 2cents helps.

Top
#12265347 - 05/27/17 06:59 AM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2947
Loc: Yantis, TX
Sorry to hear of your trouble with chart update speed. Something is wrong, whether its the unit, missing an update or a setting. I can run 80 mph and the chart on my HDS9 stays updated.
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#12265378 - 05/27/17 07:43 AM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Muzzlebrake Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/26/14
Posts: 1614
Loc: Euless
Touch screen with the xi5
_________________________
From Genesis: "And God promised men that good and obedient wives would be found in all corners of the earth."

Then He made the earth round...and He laughed and laughed and laughed!


Top
#12265533 - 05/27/17 10:15 AM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
Woj Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/12/08
Posts: 136
I have a HDS 7 Touch Gen 2, The screen goes blank with absolutely no info when my boat is on plane. Very frustrating.

Top
#12265837 - 05/27/17 04:05 PM Re: Lowrance HDS-9 Gen 2 or HDS-7 Gen 3 [Re: lmbr]
ACAMS Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/10/12
Posts: 1091
Loc: Palestine
I read every word as I hope to soon have the same dilemma!
_________________________
><\\\º>___><\\\º> http://myfolderz.com/Jigs/pics.php_<º///><___<º///><


Free image uploader for TFF members: http://myfolderz.com/TFF/pics.php

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide