Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
WithoutaPaddle, Kevitt1018, WHATYOUSAY99, kbarnes027, Fxrspud 12
106346 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86903
hopalong 78788
Pilothawk 75544
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65716
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58852
Tritonman 57703
LoneStarSon® 53688
SkeeterRonnie 53098
facebook
Forum Stats
106346 Members
61 Forums
861739 Topics
12248261 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#12256124 - 05/21/17 06:45 PM Newbie question about livewell operation
wtf242 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/26/16
Posts: 122
Loc: Austin, TX
Hey everyone. I realize this is probably a super dumb question. I've owned a couple of boats but I've never used a live well in my life. Today I tried to use the one in my new 2017 Legend V20 and I'm not sure I'm using it correctly.

It's 47 gallons with a divider. There's a drain plug in the back of the live well. So I plugged that drain and turned on both the livewell and the oxygenator. 5 minutes later the livewell was overflowing and flooding the back of the boat.

So I unplugged the plug and turned everything off and it eventually drained.

So do I plug it and fill it up to a specific level and then turn off the livewell and keep the Oxygenator?
Do I keep the plug unplugged and keep the livewell on 100% of the time? Wouldn't it empty out when on Plane? Maybe only plug it when on plane?
Should the Oxygenator always be on?

New boats should really come with thick instruction manuals for clueless people like me!

Thanks!


Edited by wtf242 (05/21/17 07:07 PM)

Top
#12256154 - 05/21/17 07:05 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
bush hog Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/12/13
Posts: 2322
Loc: Beckville, TX
There are no dumb questions. We all have to learn. I'm not familiar with the Legend set-up but It sounds like you plug the well and fill to the desired level and then run your Oxygenator which should be set up on a timer. If your live well was overflowing then it evidently doesn't have an overflow (or it's stopped up). I'm sure a Legend owner will jump in here and help you out.

Top
#12256322 - 05/21/17 08:54 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
djones03 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 09/11/13
Posts: 165
I don't own a legend, so I could be completely wrong, but I can't imagine a 2017 boat that requires a plug for the livewell. I believe what you are plugging is the overflow hole hence it overflowing in your boat. You should a valve close to your console that says either empty or auto or manual or something to that nature. That is how you allow to the livewell to fill and gravity drain. I never plug the overflow hole. Only reason I would is if I had a long run across 3 to 4 ft swells and didn't want to lose water. I have not experience with an oxygenator but I seems you would run that once you have filled your livewell to your desired capacity. I'm sure YouTube search for legend livewell operation would answer a lot of your questions.

Top
#12256336 - 05/21/17 09:04 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
21xs Elite Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/23/12
Posts: 3424
My new triton has a plug in the bottom and if it's not in it will drain while on pad. Keep mine plugged all the time unless I want to drain completely and wash them out. I've had it overflow one time because a cull ball went in the over flow and clogged it up.

Top
#12256342 - 05/21/17 09:07 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
squib Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 1203
Loc: Lubbock, TX
You shouldn't need a plug. There is a dial somewhere by your driver's console. Use that dial to hold water in your livewell. You probably plugged the overflow line. Don't do that. And also, don't worry about the Oxygenator; don't waste your battery. They serve no purpose.

Top
#12256353 - 05/21/17 09:14 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
wtf242 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/26/16
Posts: 122
Loc: Austin, TX
UPDATE: Here's what the dash looks like. There's only 1 button for the Livewell so it looks like you can only turn it off or on? There's no Auto or Manual.


Top
#12256356 - 05/21/17 09:16 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
squib Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 1203
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Look over by the throttle yoke. Or look down by where your right foot would be. There is a dial I bet

Top
#12256358 - 05/21/17 09:17 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
21xs Elite Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/23/12
Posts: 3424
You did right by plugging it up, I don't believe that boat has the switch the other guys are talking about. Something is clogging the overflow and that's why it's overflowing more than likely. Is the plu you plugged down low in the livewell?


Edited by 21xs Elite (05/21/17 09:18 PM)

Top
#12256359 - 05/21/17 09:18 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
squib Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 1203
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Here is what you should be looking for.

https://flow-rite.com/products/marine/actuators-cables

Top
#12256363 - 05/21/17 09:21 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
squib Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 1203
Loc: Lubbock, TX

Top
#12256367 - 05/21/17 09:22 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
squib Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 1203
Loc: Lubbock, TX
In the livewell, push the red nozzle all the way in.

Top
#12256374 - 05/21/17 09:24 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: 21xs Elite]
wtf242 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/26/16
Posts: 122
Loc: Austin, TX
Originally Posted By: 21xs Elite
You did right by plugging it up, I don't believe that boat has the switch the other guys are talking about. Something is clogging the overflow and that's why it's overflowing more than likely. Is the plu you plugged down low in the livewell?


yes it's very low in the back on the bottom. I don't think it can be the overflow. thanks for all your help

Top
#12256378 - 05/21/17 09:26 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
21xs Elite Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/23/12
Posts: 3424
Originally Posted By: wtf242
Originally Posted By: 21xs Elite
You did right by plugging it up, I don't believe that boat has the switch the other guys are talking about. Something is clogging the overflow and that's why it's overflowing more than likely. Is the plu you plugged down low in the livewell?


yes it's very low in the back on the bottom. I don't think it can be the overflow. thanks for all your help

It's is the drain, you did it right. I sent you a pm i


Edited by 21xs Elite (05/21/17 09:27 PM)

Top
#12256410 - 05/21/17 10:00 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
wtf242 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/26/16
Posts: 122
Loc: Austin, TX
I figured it out! thanks everyone. I didn't realize there was an entirely different button for Livewell Aerator. I only saw the Livewell Fill button. I also did't know there was an overflow plug at the top on the port side as well. That overflow was plugged. So I was filling up the live well with the aerator off with the overflow plugged.

I correctly plugged the drain on the bottom, but I didn't even see the overflow drain at the top. You really have to stick your head down in there to see it.

I feel like an idiot!


Edited by wtf242 (05/21/17 10:02 PM)

Top
#12256427 - 05/21/17 10:08 PM Re: Newbie question about livewell operation [Re: wtf242]
21xs Elite Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/23/12
Posts: 3424
No need to feel like an idiot,at least you weren't looking for a switch that wasn't there!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide