Page 1 of 2 1 2
Anyone heard of this? #12230707 05/04/17 05:27 PM
E
eyeball Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
E
Last week on a national fishing weekly program and somewhere about a year ago I heard it said that when fishing for gills, perch, bream or red ears, fishermen should throw back the huge males we catch.

It was explained that the size of the fish in the schools is genetically dependent on the size of the males.

On the show last week he discussed why genetically it does not apply to crappie.

Any ideas on this?

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day.

Teach a man to fish, he will sit in a boat all day and drink beer.
Re: Anyone heard of this? [Re: eyeball] #12230744 05/04/17 05:43 PM
M
Meadowlark Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
M
I have raised trophy bluegills for many years and I absolutely agree with the genetics comments. I can't give you any scientific basis. Mine is based on common sense.

As a cattle producer, I try to get the best bull I can afford for those genetics and only a stupid rancher would make hamburger out of his genetic provider.

In my 40 some years of raising bluegills, I have never once intentionally killed a specimen male and never intend to do so...this is one important factor that separates private water from public water, IMO.

Re: Anyone heard of this? [Re: eyeball] #12230753 05/04/17 05:48 PM
B
Brad R Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
B
Fish size is determined by space and other variables. A small generic goldfish will stay small if it is inside in a goldfish bowl; it'll grow much larger in a larger goldfish pond. So, we all know this about space and food and weather.